We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wish I had known about this place before” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Bay Inn to your Saves list
Blue Bay Inn
51 First Avenue, near Sandy Hook, Atlantic Highlands, NJ 07716   |  
Hotel amenities
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“wish I had known about this place before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have family that live in New Jersey (Toms River, Freehold and Red Bank) and have been visiting there for years. Let me say at the outset, it is not one of my favorite places. The traffic and density of population seemed to diminish my travel experiences there. However, on a recent trip my wife and I stayed at the Blue Bay Inn in the Atlantic Highlands. It was great. You take a turn off of one of New Jersey's "jug handles" and find yourself on First Avenue, a neat "downtown" street, kind of a throwback to the pre-mall past. The Blue Bay is located a short distance from the turn. Parking is in the municipal lot just behind the Inn and is free. The Inn is visually appealing and our room was huge and very tastefully decorated.
The location provides a great way to visit New York City--by ferry. Turn left after leaving the lobby and walk about 5 minutes to the ferry terminal. A modern ferry takes you to just south of the South Street Seaport. We explored lower Manhattan for the day and took the afternoon ferry back. Also at the ferry is a bar and restaurant looking out over the water. Beautiful view. A second restaurant, located on the bottom floor, serves breakfast and lunch inside or on an outdoor patio. From the ferry/marina area, you can take a walk along the ocean from the Atlantic Highlands to the Highlands on a nice wide path. A round trip walk is easy for anyone in average physical condition.
There are nice restaurants very near the Inn and one, the Copper Canyon, is located in the same building as the Inn. It is an upscale Mexican restaurant and it was very good. If venturing out by car, the Jersey Shore is right there and the neat town of Red Bank is also very close. The staff at the Blue Bay Inn was very helpful and housekeeping was very prompt in making up our room. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    24
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
43
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

The service is amazing! People are so nice and the rooms are spectacular. We were in town for a little getaway and took advantage of their Spring Package, where we got a $75 gift card to copper canyon and a late checkout along with champagne. The staff took care of us like we were really special. They made the reservation for us on a Saturday night which they never take at the restaurant which was a great perk. They brought in our luggage, had a very refreshing complimentary drink in the lobby and the staff all knew our names. The room was spotless and the sheets were top notch. Sure, atlantic highlands doesn't have a TON to do, but we made a great two nights out of it. Dinner and a movie one night and walked the trails and took the ferry into the city the next day. Such a great local spot that feels like a real vacation! Highly recommended!!! We travel to the city all of the time, but this hotel and this restaurant belong in the city! Both spectacular!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radnor, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

When the staff found out we were staying there to attend our son's wedding on the Jersey shore they put a complimentary bottle of champagne on ice and two champagne flutes in our room. When we were sitting outside on the patio with friends a server from the restaurant came out with ice water for everyone even though the restaurant wasn't open at the time. The staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating, with excellent recommendations for everything from restaurants to hair salons. The Inn does not serve breakfast but it offers complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby every morning, and there are many good breakfast places literally steps from the Inn. Our room was pleasantly spacious, clean and comfortable, and included a dry sink, mini fridge, a desk and two easy chairs. A charming place--highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenner, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

On the weekend of May 11, 2012. we stayed at the inn for a wedding. Flo helped make it a special experience. She was very helpful and nice. She pointed our all the points of interest around the area, which we enjoyed visiting very much.
Gail J

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I spent three comfortable nights at this hotel recently while on a business trip. I regret that I didn't visit their restaurant because I would arrive too late every night from the office. However, the rooms were large with new, modern furnishings and fixtures, and felt like a 4-star hotel. The staff was beyond friendly and were always helpful. The wifi was free and easily accessible including from the very fun sports bar across the street. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You should definitely check out the bar across the street and the one down the street by the ferry l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My profession takes myself all over the U.S., and the World, and i frequently stay in all sorts of hotels but never had the pleasure of staying in one such as the Blue Bay Inn. " Beautiful". I've stayed at this establishment more then one time. The hotel is not really set up for a person that requires a business center (fax,copy machine,) as such. But there is a employee that makes everything happen in a positive matter to make sure that you are taken care of with all your needs while i was away from home. This individual name is Flo. I had the pleasure of meeting Flo approximately 3yrs., and i found her to be a, "Professional as what she does as a representative of this establishment." There is more then one time i came into the Blue Bay Inn so tired, Flo would be working, and greets you with a smile. She goes out of her way to make sure my needs are handled. Flo is a, "TOUCH OF CLASS!!" Keep it up the good work Flo .She Is a great asset to this hotel, and i thank you.

Room Tip: If Flo is working tell her what you want, and she will meet your needs. She is very knowledgeable of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roebling
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Since we were attending a birthday party in the area, we opted to stay at the Blue Bay Inn. The desk clerk was very helpful in terms of getting us checked in. We opted for a room in the rear of the building to avoid any noise from First street. This worked out well. Our room was clean and comfortable with a nice view of Sandy Hook Bay from our balcony. Since our last trip to Atlantic Highlands, the town has upscaled several of the shops and the stroll along main street.

Room Tip: If you stay at the Blue Bay Inn, take a short stroll to the marina when the fishing boats return. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Inn

Address: 51 First Avenue, near Sandy Hook, Atlantic Highlands, NJ 07716
Location: United States > New Jersey > Atlantic Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atlantic Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of downtown Atlantic Highlands, the Blue Bay Inn is the perfect place to indulge yours desires. Within two blocks, there are 12 restaurants, a movie theatre, a playhouse, upscale boutiques, spas, hair salons, artisan shops, a coffee house and the Seastreak ferry which luxuriously shuttles back and forth to Manhattan in 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Atlantic Highlands
Blue Bay Atlantic Highlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.