We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great baked goods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flaky Tart

The Flaky Tart
145 1st Ave, Atlantic Highlands, NJ
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakeries
Restaurant details
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great baked goods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A good stop for a quick cup of coffee and delicious pastry on the way to NYC ferry. Pastries are terrific. Every bit as good that one could find in France. The cakes also look good but I never sampled one, but the quiches are outstanding

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Everything is soooo good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Have never been disappointed. Only highly satisfied. Particularly memorable are the macaroon kisses, coconut cake, cookies, scones, Mac n cheese, and frittata. And of course the house special coffee blend. And it's quick in and out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Might have to move back to Jersey...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Finally got a chance to visit this bakery after hearing my brother talk about it for a few years. He and his GF live in the neighborhood adjacent to the bakery and on my first visit to their place, we scurried on over after church. The locals swarm there like ants to sugar so one might have to circle the block for a parking spot! The pastries are exquisite works of art. We chose a lovely pastry with glazed pecans, berry muffins and the brioche...outstanding! I decided to try their coffee as an afterthought and was glad I did...some of the best coffee I'd had in a long time. Why'd I wait so long to visit my brother? Planning my next trip....I will def be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Oh so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away on the way into town you will find this hidden gem of a bakery. Everything thing is delicious. Their coffee if from a great local roaster. It's hard to choose and the more choices you want the earlier you need to go. The flaky tart is well known among the locals. Their lunches are a perfectly packed treat with a different menu each day. The sandwiches come with a perfect side salad and small cookie. The focaccia bread is sooooo good. Pecan cinnamon rolls are insane! And the Mac n cheese is a favorite. I honestly haven't had something I didn't like. So weather you want to buy a treat to compliment your own meal or grab something special for yourself..just go!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

A must if you are in Atlantic Highlands. Delicious desserts as well as tasty fritatas made fresh daily.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flaky Tart also viewed

Atlantic Highlands, NJ
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
 
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
 

Been to The Flaky Tart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flaky Tart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.