We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awful.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Capt. Dave

Capt. Dave
Municipal Pier, Atlantic Highlands, NJ 08872
732.613.8307
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just awful.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I can't imagine how this company has 11 "positive" reviews. Maybe Captain Dave has 11 friends who happen to like seamen? This guy's whole operation was shoddy from the start, and his attitude was BEYOND rude. I've been on about a dozen chartered fishing trips all along the East coast, and they've all gone out of their way to make sure everyone has a good time... whether the fish are biting or not. Such is not the case with this guy. He makes all the promises beforehand, but once he has your money in hand, he seems to just go through the motions. No effort is made to be polite, or even pleasant. Repeat business must not be important to him, and TRUST ME, we will not be coming back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sayreville, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fishing with Capt. Dave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have made several trips on the Capt. Dave and never failed to have a great time. His prices are fair and his boat is clean and most importantly safe. The poles and reels that he provided were in excellent shape and he never failed to provide a reasonable answer to any question that someone had. Experience is very important in the charter business and you can see that he loves boating and being out on the water. Very happy with our trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great fishing trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went out with Captain Dave for a birthday fishing trip with a group of friends. Captain Dave and his crew were experienced and professional. They were patient and courteous and provided great advice to both the beginner and experienced fishermen in our group. Boat is clean and well stocked with plenty of equipment all in good working order. We all had a great time, caught plenty of fish, and I would highly recommend Captain Dave to anyone looking for a great fishing trip from the Jersey shore.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Captain Dave was a class act - we had such a great time on the boat! We had little luck catching fish - a few keepers, but Captain Dave and his crew member Al made the trip a blast. Captain Dave is a very professional person, and very fun and easy to talk to. We are planning a trip again because it was such a great time. I highly recommend Captain Dave!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fishing trip on the Capt. Dave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Booked a charter fishing trip for my best friends bachellor party on the Capt. Dave. Very professional captain and crew right from boarding the boat. Mates helped everyone get their gear on board and were very friendly and courtious. Captain was great and we had a bunch of laughs with everyone and it was a joyful day. Captain put us on the fish and made several moves to put us in the right spot. Mates were top notch and worked hard with helping everyone out the entire time with great positive attitudes. Captain had no issue with my crew having a few beers on board. Whoever complained about that much have been a bunch of drunks and not fisherman so don't blame the captain or the boat. Most guys caught fish and some limited out. Would def recommend Captain Dave for a great fishing trip. All of my guys were happy and had a great experience, especially the groom because the trip was for him. Def plan on future trips with this great captain and the finest mates!! Tight lines!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capt. Dave also viewed

 

Been to Capt. Dave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capt. Dave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.