We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great community fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre

First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre
123 First Avenue, Atlantic Highlands, NJ 07716
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Bringing Broadway Plays to the Jersey Shore. The Number One Dessert Theatre in Atlantic Highlands NJ. For Twenty Five Years! We present Comedies, Dramas, Mysteries,Musicals. The price includes Cake,Coffee or Tea and Soda. A new production is presented each month.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great community fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

great kid schedules, lots of family friendly restaurants etc on main street, everything walkable, one of the few remaining old-style main streets around

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Glad to hear you had a good time and enjoyed the show thanks for supporting our theatre.
I hope you got to see this month's smash hit. An American farce by By Michael Parker
Directed by Barry Prag , Sex Please We're Sixty.
This was good clean fun that our audiences loved.
Our next performance October 5 – 27, 2012 is our spooky ghost story, The Uninvited
by Tim Kelly, from the novel by Dorothy Macardle.
Our shows change each month, check our web sight for current information.
We have a seat and a piece of cake waiting for you at First Avenue Playhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“why go to ny stay local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

awesome live preformance. Excellant actors and actresses , great fun without having to travel all the way to nyc. Added bonus cake and coffee/ tea.
Looking forward to going again.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thanks for your support. Our audience is important to us. We’re happy you had a good time and enjoyed our talented actors and actresses too. We enjoyed having you as our guests. Our show changes every month and we have a lot more cake waiting for you! See you soon.
TR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
1 review
“This is an intimate way to spend a cozy New Years Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My family and I had an enjoyable evening at The First Avenue Playhouse viewing a well - acted humorous play.The setting was an intimate way to bring the New Year in as well as meet some new acquaintances.The value was well worth it.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
It’s always good to start the New Year off with a good laugh. Glad we could help you with that : ) It was a pleasure speaking to you and your family. Thanks for supporting our cast and crew. Don’t be a stranger, come see another play soon. There’ a new one every month. We have a piece of cake with your name on it waiting for you!
TR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Local theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is a good night out. The plays are nicely done and the pies and cakes are very good. Give this a try the next time that a movie just won't do!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
You are so right. We think “The Plays the Thing”. It’s so much fun to see a live performance. You might see pie, but only if any actor is throwing it on stage in a slap stick pie fight. Cake is our thing. We’re here every month with a new show and delicious cake just waiting for your encore visit! Thanks for your support. We hope to see again soon.
TR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Have your Cake and See a Play Too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This is what I call and entertaining evening. Cake AND a play, I am so there. Nestled on First Avenue a few blocks from the water among the store fronts you will find this little gem of local entertainment.
A new play is performed every month with a mix of standard known plays and original material. The play we saw was The Ghost in the Meadow. We went on a Friday this month and saw this spooky and entertaining ghost story. It was especially exciting when we were there as this was a new play by a local playwright, Joe Simonelli who was there mingling with the patrons. We had high expectations and were not disappointed. As the story unfolded we were drawn in believing that the actors were indeed these characters working through the situation. Bravo to the actors and the director for making me leave my fork on the table as I got caught up in the story.
Now, let’s talk cake, yum. As you can see from the picture there was a wide variety of restaurant quality cake offered. Upon arrival and seating we were served our choice of beverage: coffee, decaf, tea, of decaf tea. You need to get there a half hour early to be served before the show starts. We were also told that at intermission soda would be available at the counter for us to get for ourselves. My personal tip, as you're escorted to your seats TAKE YOUR CAKE with you.
As for the best place to sit? The venue is small and intimate and oblong tables as set up in such a way there seems to be no bad seats. We sat at one of the side tables. It had been set for four and we enjoyed meeting our table mates. We noticed other people were turning their chairs to get a comfortable angle when the show started and we did the same. At our visit there were about 50 people and all the tables seemed full some of the tables seating 6 people.
At Some performances discounts are available, check the web site or call for details. This is a non-profit theatre and as such in this economy runs a very tight budget. That maybe why you might get proofed if you say you’re a senior and you do have to pay a surcharge for using a credit card. Once you get passed paying at the entrance you can enjoy what you came for…the show and the cake!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your detailed and delightful review! Come on back, Spring is blooming and so our plays with a new one each month. …and did I mention? Lots of cake to choose from.
TR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre also viewed

 

Been to First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added First Avenue Playhouse Dessert Theatre to your Saves list