We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump Taj Mahal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Trump Taj Mahal to your Saves list
Trump Taj Mahal
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Boardwalk at Virginia Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
York, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Normally the casino hotels in Atlantic City are out of our price range, but I found a good deal for the Taj Mahal for the weekend that we had planned to be in town so I booked the room. We arrived on Friday Feb 27, 2015 and found free parking in the hotel self park garage. There was a short line to check in but it moved quickly. We had some trouble finding the room at first and asked security for help. He was very polite and helpful. Got to the room in the Chairman Tower and it looked basically like the photos. A rather large room with a king bed. The bathroom was huge too with a large shower. We had plenty of towels and the other normal toiletries typically provided by a hotel. The soap dispenser was in the shower and there was also a bar of soap provided. Everything was clean and pleasant and the bed was comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. Overall we had limited interaction with the staff, (because nothing was wrong), but those we did meet were polite and friendly.

We had dinner at the Hard Rock Cafe on Friday night and breakfast at the Plate both Saturday and Sunday. The wait staff at the Plate was very friendly, professional and service was fast. We always find that if you're friendly and polite to people they will be friendly and polite to you too. Of course we had no problems with our meal, it arrived fast and hot as is expected for breakfast.

Overall it is a nice hotel. It was bitter cold out while we were there but the heater in the room worked fine and even had to be turned down some because it got to hot. Things were clean and the room had been made up when we returned Saturday afternoon. The worst part of this hotel is the price. We were lucky and paid under $200 a night, but $300-$400 a night on the weekends is typically normal. I guess if you pay $400 a night you might be disappointed in the quality and amenities of the room, but that is typical for AC, especially over the summer.

Our stay was in the Chairman Tower so we can't say how the rooms are in the Taj Tower. Keep in mind this hotel is 25 years old, so if you're expecting everything to be shiny and brand new you are going to be disappointed. But if you're looking for a nice hotel on the AC boardwalk then the Chairman Tower at the Taj is a good place.

Room Tip: Chairman Tower Floors start with the 60th floor. It's a little confusing the first time there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    634
    424
    226
    185
See reviews for
365
744
81
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked a suite because it was 1/2 price a few days after Valentines day.
Pros-*The price deal
* Huge room with awesome view of the ocean and boardwalk
* Beautiful Jacuzzi tub and bedroom (seeing a few handprints on the mirrors above the
* bed was pretty amusing
*Bathrooms, table, sheets, pillows,and wood furniture were all clean.
* Actually did pretty good in the casino
Cons-*Disgusting, stained rug...pretty much all over the room.
*Upholstery on the couches/chairs really needed to be sanitized and steam cleaned. If I
had a blue light with me I have no doubt the couches/chairs would be "glowing".
* Could Not connect to internet (which is around $13.00). When I called hotel services in
regards to no connection, her only response was to connect to AT&T & "Good Luck". We
tried with 2 computers, and no luck. Spouse needed to check work email.



Would not recommend for full price. Not sure I would recommend for 1/2 price either because the upholstery and carpet was just that bad, although I'm sure not all the suites are as bad.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasonville, MD
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Taj is my favorite place to stay in Atlantic City. I have been there many times. On this trip, I have seen room improvements. I do not know where some of these other people are staying. My room was very clean and it looks like the carpet was recently cleaned. The bed sheets were snow white. I had everything that I needed in the room. I stayed in the Chairman's tower but I have stayed in both towers. I prefer Chairman's because I would rather have a large shower instead of a bathtub/shower combo. Not all the restaurants are open during the week but Caesar's and Bally's are the same. They have certain days where some of the restaurants are closed but not ALL. The days that I was there, I did not have a problem finding a place to eat. All the people are nice and friendly. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: If you prefer a tub and don't like a long walk, stay in the Taj Tower. The rooms are good there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It started at the check in and continued from there. We stood in line for 15 minutes because of only having two check in clerks on duty. Then literally got rushed through, to the point of having to ask questions of the clerk what was the room number, elevators, etc. Things she would normally go through. The room was fairly decent but could really have been cleaner. I was glad to see security at the elevator entrance. I can see why Trump wants his name removed from this hotel/ casino. The food court area was absolutely filthy and the attitude's of the employees operating these places was horrible. This included our day of departure stop for coffee and a breakfast sandwich at Starbucks! We ordered two breakfast sandwiches, and two coffees, the employee was alone at that point and was being overwhelmed by more customers coming in , and our order got screwed up, the sandwiches were wrong and my wife's coffee was not made correctly. Other customers also were having the same problem. Unless they do something to fix this situation, this will be the next casino to bite the dust! I have stayed here in the past and this has really been a decliy since then!5

Room Tip: I really can't say as to what could get a better room in these conditions, if cleanliness and se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed at the chairman tower had a great time room was clean also there is a very nice indoor pool for the kids clean and heated my only criticism is there is a $20 per person per day fee to use the gym and there is also a fee for wifi

Room Tip: chairman tower in newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the Hotel was terrible in November,when Trump still owned it..we couldnt even get out room cleaned,, ,,because it was closing,,But, a new owner took over,,so we thought we would try it again,,Still dirty ,,,you have to ask for everything, nothing in the rooms,I ask for an iron,,I think someone actually tried to cook food on it,,,well its still disgusting,,Im never going back ,,I dont care what the new owner does to it,,,,Ill rate it 1 because some of the people were nice,,A man fell on the floor and was knocked out for about 10 seconds it tooks us about 7 minutes to find someone to help him,,and then they just let him walk away..........

Room Tip: dont go,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love the Trump Taj Mahal.
Of the places that we have visited and stayed in Atlantic City, we enjoy Trump Taj the most.
The rooms are very clean, the staff are excellent, and there are plenty of options for gaming and dining.
There are plenty of smoking areas, but they take care of the smoke, and they have a great ventilation system, so nonsmokers can enjoy themselves and not be smoked out.
The Rim is some of the best food I have ever eaten. On the weekends Ego is rocking with the almost angels.
The only things I don't like is there really is no regular show there except Almost angels, and there really is no dance club. But it is good for those who actually want to GAMBLE and be rewarded for their gambling. Trump Taj gives the players the best rewards of any casino I have ever been in.
We will continue to keep going back as much as we can.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Taj Mahal

Address: 1000 Boardwalk at Virginia Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump Taj Mahal 4*
Number of rooms: 1250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Amex, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Trump Taj Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Taj Mahal Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Trump Ac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.