We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump Taj Mahal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Trump Taj Mahal to your Saves list
Trump Taj Mahal
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Boardwalk at Virginia Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Union, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We always stay at the Taj Mahal and we have have never had anything to complain about. The front desk staff is very friendly, and the rooms are very clean. The bathrooms are very large and the security is good. You cannot get to the elevators for the hotel rooms without showing your room key. The rooms in the Chairman Tower are more modern, but both towers are fine. It is convenient to the boardwalk & beach. We have eaten numerous times at the Plate, and find the food & service good. The casino is quite large, but easy to get around.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the ocean !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    612
    405
    221
    178
See reviews for
353
720
78
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Two reasons why I choose this hotel for my 3 nights stay a) Got good deal b) this hotel has two Indian cuisine restaurants.
Else, I would suggest Tropicana or Ceaser palace if you want to stay on Boardwalk.

Room Tip: Try to get Ocean View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just spent 3 day at the large casino hotel property in Atlantic City and came away a little
disappointed. Although allegedly designated 5 stars we've seen better 4 star properties.
The casino was very large but a little disjointed. To get to the Chairman's tower where
we stayed you had a go up escaltors and take one set of elevators up one floor and then
walk over some 100 yards to get to another bank of elevators to get to our room Ditto
for getting to the indoor pool. Not very good if you have any elderly in your party.
The desk clerk who checked us in was not very friendly -- once again not what you would
expect from a 5 star hotel. The Player's magazine rated the slots payouts for the Taj the
lowest in Atlantic City (Revel the highest) and we can vouch for that. All in all, the 4 people
in my party all came away pretty much disappointed.

Room Tip: Get the casino tower -- a lot more conviently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were here from last monday and stayed for two nights. We would have stayed three if they weren't completely sold out wednesday night. Check in was great, Melissa at the front desk couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. We were supposed to stay sunday night but weren't able to make it down there so she was so nice to take off the charge for that night. We stayed in room 3625 which we were able to see the ocean from. Unfortunately the next morning, the maid woke us up at 9:00AM to clean we told her to come back. We put the service please sign on the door and were gone for the rest of the day. We came back in the evening and the room hadn't been cleaned! We called housekeeping to inform them of this and that we would need fresh towels. NO APOLOGY! We were livid and when we checked out we asked for compensation and the desk clerk just gave us a number for the housekeeping supervisor and take it up with them,,didn't get anything. However keep in mind, this does not mean we would never come back. We ate dinner at plate one night and breakfast there twice. We love that place and always had excellent and attentive wait staff. Their crusted tilapia is one of the best meals I have ever had along with their chocolate cake. I also like the architecture of the hotel. One thing they did to improve security is have an officer stationed outside the guest elevator bank checking to make sure everyone possessed a room key which is good. Although we left with mixed feelings we would give them a chance again since this was our third time and overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

First time I stayed at this hotel. We were on the 45th floor. The hotel was clean and in a good location. Great view. The only problem was checking in. There were 100 people in front of us. The staff was friendly, the room was clean. I would definitely stay there again. It was close to Margaritaville. We walked down to the 3D light show in the evening.

Room Tip: We were in the Chairman Tower with an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Staff was super nice, rooms very clean and spacious. Location was perfect. Close to Steel Pier, House of Blues, Landshark Bar etc. We didn't get to eat at any of the resturants but the room service food was excellent !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We will never stay at the Taj again. Not only was the hotel staff very rude but our 3 day stay was a disaster from the beginning - first the hotel losing our two small suitcases for 3 hours and then finding them in a vacant room; with the smoke alarm going off in our room and no one rushing up to find out what was the matter - called twice and still no one came - not until 40 min. later - we could have been dead by then - with no apology whatsoever and blamed us for disconnecting the alarm - we were going deaf with the noise, and waited long enough for someone to come - then to my boyfriend falliing out of the shower as we had no bath mats for the slippery floor - again no apologies. The room was shabby also and there was not a single person that was at least somewhat nice. Also, the gaming tables started at $15 and were never down to $5 and this was a Monday morning.

Room Tip: sorry no tip - all a disaster
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Taj Mahal

Address: 1000 Boardwalk at Virginia Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump Taj Mahal 4*
Number of rooms: 1250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump Taj Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Taj Mahal Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Trump Ac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.