We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you have to stay on the Boardwalk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trump Taj Mahal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Trump Taj Mahal to your Saves list
Trump Taj Mahal
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Boardwalk at Virginia Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“if you have to stay on the Boardwalk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

So, I've been spoiled these past many years staying at the Borgata or Water Club, but when we wanted to go down as two couples, we thought our wives might prefer to be on the Boardwalk for ease of taking a nice walk or getting around. A mistake.
While the Chairman Tower rooms had beautiful views, and were of good size, they simply skimped on the amenities making the hotel tower fall to average status. From a dirty bed cover to styrofoam cups and smallish insufficient towels and an odd terse sign in the room warning against leaving with one of their less than desirable amenities. If you absolutely have to stay on the boardwalk, this will do fine (and certainly better than their regular rooms), but the Borgata is SO much of a huge step up.

Re the Spa - the wives loved their massage, but said the surroundings were abysmal and not welcoming - bright flourescent lights in a waiting room with a too loud tv.

The Casino - on a Friday afternoon in early May was empty, EMPTY. More likely a sign of our economic times. The poker room wasn't doing too well either.

one bright note - Il Mulino New York is still a great representation of the NYC original. I could eat there every night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    612
    405
    221
    178
See reviews for
353
720
78
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is my second time staying at Trump Taj Mahal. I am a travel agent and do a decent amount of traveling. My wife and I decided to get away from the NYC every few months and Atlantic City seems to offer what we like - shopping, good food, casino, ocean front, and no kids for a few days :)

Overall, because of the Chairmain Tower rooms that are offered at decent prices is one of the main reasons we stay here. This time I paid extra for a Grand Suite, which was not worth it at all. It is huge but outdated room that just turns you off. We downgraded back to the chairman tower room and couldnt be more happier.

What to like about this property:

- Chairman Tower is a new building with nice and clean room. If you are not a smoker, those are the rooms you want. When you go past the elevators going to the Taj Tower, its like you are in a new world.
- The price of the Chairman Tower rooms is much better then rooms at Revel or Borgata.
- Although the Taj is somewhat at the end of the boardwalk, its still better then the two hotel mentioned above.
- We dined at Roberts Steak house and Il Mulino NY and both places are simply amazing.

What Trump should improve on:

- I think that sooner rather then later this will be a reason why i will stop coming here. The air quality at the main part of the place is bad. You get hit with the smoke smell as soon as you walk in. They have the smoking areas all over the place outside of the poker room. But buy the time you get to the room you inhaled a few years worth of that smell. The Caesars hotel is just as old but there is no such smell. I value my health and my experience and this is a concern.

- The staff here is though somewhat polite, they are not very helpful. Both times we were there during a somewhat empty hotel, yet they dont try to make you feel wanted at the hotel. As mentioned earlier, i booked a Grand Suite to have a different experience. But when we didn't like it and asked to be downgraded to Chairman Tower regular king room, the first thing i was told is that we will not refund the difference. I said thats fine. The front desk person can't do anything without approval, so she went to the back, comes back and tells me, that for a Suite at the Chairman tower it will be an additional $50 a night. I said that i didn't ask for that and just want the regular CT room. She again stated that there is no refund of the difference. And i did ask for a slightly later checkout and they were not flexible either. By the way, to better understand, i could have added an additional night at CT for regular room and still pay less then what i paid for the Grand Suite. You think since they did take my money and know the price differences they should be more accommodating.

- The Trump One comp structure is somewhat weak. You don't earn allot but i seen plenty of people learning to go around it. In poker room, I see people clock in and in my 6-8 hours at the table they played for may be an hour. Often they play a few hands, leave for an hour. comeback for a few hands and leave again. Saw that with a number of people and all them have the CHAIRMAN card. Shows how they earned it.

Overall, because of the nice rooms at the Chairman Tower, We plan to go there at least once more. But we are planning to stay at another place to compare the rooms and if that works, will find another property to stay and spend our money at if Trump will not listen to people and improve.

Room Tip: Stay only at the Chairman Tower. Higher floor is always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

When you walk in the Taj you smell the collective cigarette smoke for the last 30 years. The lobby is drab as is the casino as is the entire city. The rooms in the chairman tower are the nicest part of the hotel. There is a Starbucks and their take out bakery shop makes the best muffins in town. If on business forget the fitness center as only open 10am-6pm. AC is definetly Las Begas ugly step child.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed for an overnight at the Trump Taj Mahal to participate in a half marathon going on that weekend on the boardwalk.

Overall, the stay was fine. There was nothing remarkable, but the room was clean enough. The casino still reeks of cigarette smoke, but you come to expect that in Atlantic City. The rooms could use a bit of a facelift (like they still use old fashioned comforters, yuck), but again it was clean enough.

It's in a good location on the boardwalk, although I wasn't grabbed by any of the dining options. It seemed to be either upscale places or food court (Sbarros-type food court) options. We went next door to Revel to eat.

If you're not planning on spending time in the room and are just looking for a reasonable rate and clean bed, this does the trick.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Taj Mahal from the 18th through the 22nd. The room was great and the housekeeping staff was wonderful, but I went to work a trade show.

I had my booth materials shipped via UPS (with notation: "Hotel Guest") out the day I left Los Angeles. Both packages said they arrived during the course of my stay and signed by Brown and Olsen, respectively. We got the first box and the second box disappeared. Upon return to LA, both my assistant and I tried to get someone to find and return my box of merchandise and booth supplies. It is now May 2 and I have YET to get either a phone call or an email from anyone from the hotel.

Collectively, we called the receiving dock 8 times in 14 days and escalated the problem to a supervisor Frank and another manager, Kathy Sink (sp?). Nada. Nothing. Zip. I work many shows and have never had materials misplaced by a hotel before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Last minute one night stay in Atlantic City. Got a good rate online and was able to get an ocean view room with no increase. Rooms were nice, bathroom very nice. Would stay again. Hit a big jackpot in the morning, so a very happy stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Decent hotel just outdated. Needs upgrades. Rooms nice and fresh. Casino still smoky smell and damp feel. Staff nice but not gushing. Good restaurants. Convention area very good. Seems a bit antiquated in lobby but amenities there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Taj Mahal

Address: 1000 Boardwalk at Virginia Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump Taj Mahal 4*
Number of rooms: 1250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump Taj Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Taj Mahal Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Trump Ac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.