We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an Atlantic City Casino Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump Taj Mahal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Trump Taj Mahal to your Saves list
Trump Taj Mahal
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Boardwalk at Virginia Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Atlantic City
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for an Atlantic City Casino Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is my first stay at the Trump Taj Mahal. I stayed in the newer Chairman's Tower. I read a few of the reviews on here - and I think some guests have too high expectations. This is the Jersey Shore! But I found the hotel to be very good. It's a casino, so of course you're going to have your share of peculiar guests, lots of alcohol, smoking, etc. What do you expect? The rooms are spacious and the views spectacular. My room was a bit worn but this hotel gets heavy usage so to be expected. Room was spotless. The beds were great. Large TV. Huge bathroom. The staff was not warm and fuzzy but they were professional (again, this is New Jersey, not South Carolina). The decor is gaudy but in typical Trump fashion. My food was good. I've not stayed at any other casino hotels in Atlantic City but I doubt you can do much better, especially for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeMySamaritan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I came to AC for business and Stayed at Trump Taj Mahal for 4 days. The hotel itself is very dark and feels estranged when you get in.
Service level was rather unpleasant, The staff is very serious and couldn't get a smile from any of them when i approached them. Don't know why.

Rooms are clean, spacious and very lucrative, but the overall feeling was not welcoming.
The food they serve either at Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner was by far less then expected.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited this facility January 30 thru February 1. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Two adjacent hotels are available thru inside passageways making visits to other casinos convenient in bad weather. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is the food service. The resturants were often closed, food average, and prices high.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were in the tower in a king room. Had a beautiful view of the ocean! We were however dissapointed in the food service...overpriced and not very good quality. "KIDS" working at the "chinese place" were too busy on their cell phones to take care of custot mers. A long way to walk for me with no offer of help...on my own while my husband parked the car. I am a Hospice patient & was carrying bags and had O2 on my back and walked with a cane...an OFFER of assistance would have been NICE!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed June 25th-27th. First time back at the Taj in 6 years and the new tower is great. Stayed in a Tower King bedroom on the 90th flr. Had great views of the beach, Revel, and all the way across to the Marina district (Our room has located right at the apex of the building). For such a great room, I was disappointed in how dusty it was. When I was doing my thorough BBug inspection, the amount of dust around both nightstands was unbelievable. I do not think they are EVER moved and vacuumed around. Has to be years of build up. This place would be TOP NOTCH if they could take care of housekeeping issues. Beautiful, large bathroom, nice size flatscreen. Little peeve: there was only one very tiny trashcan in the entire room. Not even one in the bathroom. Drove me crazy. Saw some reviews about how much walking there is, but its not too bad and is expected for these huge casino's. Your large Vegas casinos are the same way. Love the layout of this resort, I find it very easy to get around and well signed. Easy walk to Revel from here. You can stay indoors to the Showboat- they are connected- and then leave out their Boardwalk entrance and its a short walk- I did it in 15 degrees with a light sweater :)

Casino was ok. Ego Bar Almost Angels show every Friday and Saturday was great. Table games have high minimums at the Taj. Saw much lower at the Showboat (even right in the House of Blues bar/band section). Slots were tight, so I guess that has not changed over the years.

Ate two great meals at Plate- dinner and breakfast. Both were awesome. Also had a great sub at the Whitehouse sub shop that we got at 3 AM and took back to the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recently enjoyed a night in a Grand Suite in the Taj Mahal. It was very nice, but outdated. We didn't have to leave the hotel for the entire stay as everything we needed was on site. The staff was helpful. The breakfast buffet however, was terrible. It was overpriced and under stocked. And what they did have was not good. We had three people in our room and there were no linens whatsoever for the pullout sofa or pillows. Otherwise, it was at a great location and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J21yea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was looking for a romantic night in Atlantic City and really wanted a suite with a 2 person jacuzzi. I normally stay at Borgata but thought I would try something different, wow what a mistake. I booked the grandview suite and called and also emailed to confirm the room I was booking was recently updated and included the jacuzzi. Both replies confirmed my request. When I arrived at the casino and checked into my room not only was the room old and dirty but there was no jacuzzi in the bedroom. The room stunk like rotten food and truly ruined my entire idea of a romantic night. Needless to say I will never recommend nor stay at the Trump Taj Mahal ever again. Complete waste of money! I made every attempt to confirm my room would be the one I booked and sure enough i was lied to. I rate this hotel a big F!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armand P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,999 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#3 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#11 of 52 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#9 of 52 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,924 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget
#8 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Taj Mahal

Address: 1000 Boardwalk at Virginia Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump Taj Mahal 4*
Number of rooms: 1250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Trump Taj Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Taj Mahal Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Trump Ac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing