We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the $79 room rate...but not much more!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trump Taj Mahal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trump Taj Mahal to your Saves list
Trump Taj Mahal
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 Boardwalk at Virginia Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worth the $79 room rate...but not much more!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Checked in mid- Nov and disappointed it hasn’t improved over the years, it appears not much about AC did. I visited for a convention and spent 2 nights. The Italian bistro was awesome for dinner but my room was not cleaned and had cigarette smoke entering thru the vents. Not to mention you have to be near the casino to eat or go anywhere so my clothes smelled like smoke. My big complaint is the long walk around the Taj. I would not recommend it for elderly. I parked in the garage and walked 10 minutes to the desk and 10 minutes to my room. Upon check out they tell me they don’t use email so they will mail me a copy of my bill. That’s pathetic! I haven’t heard of such a thing in this age. They have my email, why not send it! The soaps and shampoo in room were nice. It’s dirty in many places and shows its age. Due to the storm the boardwalk was ugly but they did not have to leave bottles and trash laying out. My room service order was cold after nearly an hour to deliver. They would not discount because I ate it due to waiting so long. The TV selection was very poor. The shower and bath was nice and the bed is comfy.

Room Tip: make sure you dont get chairman tower if you dont like the very long walks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    699
    462
    248
    211
See reviews for
413
821
88
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I visit Atlantic City every few months. I always stay at the Taj.
I love their pool.
The shops on the second floor have a really decent variety of merchandise.
The food at the Sultan's buffet is okay-but nothing special,just typical buffet fare.
The Chairman Club has a small but nice variety of food-plus cozy atmosphere-and a bar.
The rooms are clean and bright.
The suites, however,are "dated" and are in much need of a make-over.So if you do not need 2 bathrooms and a table and chairs set, stick with a normal room.
There is a large variety of machines,and large sections of non-smoking areas.
It is a comfortable place to stay and play.

Room Tip: Pick a room and NOT a suite. The higher the room, the less water pressure in the showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I come down to Atlantic City often for friends birthdays and bachelor parties! This was my first time stating at the Taj Mahal and IT WILL DEF BE MY LAST. In the hotels defense, my visit was only two weeks after the hurricane. When I booked the room ( $200 on fri $260 for sat) I was assured the hotel was fully operational and everything was open for business. That was not the case! The hotel is ghost town. No young people only seedy gambling types ( sorry but it's true). Most bars and clubs were closed and the ones that were open were empty. The staff was rude and when I approached them about my stay they said sorry and gave me a screw off impression. I understand the hurricane did a lot of damage to the area, but they should be giving some incentive and deals to the people that are here. I couldn't even get free WIFI!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited this hotel in January with a Living Social voucher. The price was paid was a great value for what we got. We stayed in the newly renovated Chairman Tower. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was huge with double sinks and a great shower. The water pressure was excellent.
The room was spacious and extremely clean. We had a wonderful view of the Atlantic Ocean as well.

I would definitely return to the Taj Mahal!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in a suite whcih was very nice and roomy. We specifically wanted a balcony but upon arrival found out that they are all locked with no access. The casino was nice but at the bar drinks were expensive. We walked to the Showboat next door. More friendly and drinks were free if you were playing the card machines. We like it but it was pricey. Very clean and roomy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a very short one night stay at this hotel but when we arrived we thought wow! This hotel is huge and amazing. There is so much to do in this hotel, we weren't quite sure how many restaurants were in this hotel because there were so many! It felt like Vegas with the huge casino and nightclub which was pumping music till the early hours. We were upgraded to a large room in the new tower overlooking the sea which was gorgeous. We loved our room with our huge bathroom. We were able to see sunrise from our room which was stunning. Unfortunately we were not able to make the most of this hotel as we only spent one night here as part of our trip and we arrived late in the evening but from what we saw we loved it. We ate at one of the Chinese restaurants in the hotel which we really enjoyed. Overall staff were helpful and the hotel is really really nice and a must for Atlantic City!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Staff are all trained well and help with anything in an excellent and professional way. My review to all is thisw. Stay here and you will not be dissatisfied. The help recommended the Continental restaraunt on the pier shops for a wonderful dining experiance. We went and food was great as well as the staff. i recomend the Continental to all

Room Tip: Any room at this Trump Hotel is excellent. Great Atlantic views and optimum location on Boardwalk. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#4 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,961 reviews
1.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#11 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#10 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.0 of 5 stars 3,776 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#17 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Taj Mahal

Address: 1000 Boardwalk at Virginia Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump Taj Mahal 4*
Number of rooms: 1250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Amex, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Trump Taj Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Taj Mahal Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Taj Mahal Atlantic City
Trump Ac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.