We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Atlantic City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Casino and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com amextravel.com
and 6 more sites!
Tropicana Casino and Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Philly
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Place in Atlantic City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at the Trop for two nights which i got a great $39 a night plus free breakfast deal. Had a comfortable room with a nice view of the boardwalk and beach. The Trop is my favorite place to stay in atlantic city due to the many things to do if your not a big gambler. The area they call the quarter is a nice place to stroll n hang out in, plus shop n eat. They also have a nice IMAX theather which i went to see the movie Gravity in while my family was off gambling. There are many sports bars and clubs which you can watch a good game in while having a few beers. And if u are a gambler there are many areas to get your gaming in. Over all its my casino of choice in AC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,051 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    728
    944
    523
    424
    432
See reviews for
449
1241
111
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently went to the Tropicana in AC for my 27th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the North Tower. Room was clean, restaurants were great and the casino was wonderful. Never really needed to leave the resort. It is alittle far from the rest of the casinos, but that is the only complaint.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for three nights over the summer.

When we checked in, we upgraded to a bigger room in the Havana Tower. When we got to the room, we could not believe that the room we were standing in was an upgrade. It was basically a normal room with a half-partition wall separating the bed and the couch. The bedding looked like it was from the 70's. The couch was dirt and there were stains on the wall. The windows were covered with finger prints. The bathroom was not well lit, and had no shower- only an over sized jacuzzi (you couldn't pay me to get in that). Oh, and we were told it was an ocean view, when we looked out the window all we could see was a brown wall!! My boyfriend went back down to the front desk to complain.

They moved us to the West Tower (Blue rooms). The second room was much better. It had a separate room with a couch, tv, mini-fridge, and table. The view was also much better, you could see the ocean and not a wall. The bathroom was spacious, but the shower was very, very small.

The hotel itself is old and worn down. Not very well taken care of. You can clearly see the wear and tear walking down the hallways. The doors were dirty, chipped paint, stains on the carpets, etc.. The only good thing about this hotel is the Quarters' shops and the location on the boardwalk.

Definitely not worth the money they ask for during the summer season. I will not be returning to this hotel unless they do some MAJOR renovating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the West tower. Stay away from Havana tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Received an upgrade upon check in. Spacious (est 500 sq ft) suite with own two sofa seating area and two LCD TV. Room very clean and furnishing modern. Premium bedding, internet signal strong, and check in/check out process was smooth and pleasant.Location ideal for our purposes:we walked back from shopping at the Outlet in the morning, did some gambling, then walked on the boardwalk and beach, had dinner and back to the hotel to have a glass of wine while watching the sun set from our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Atlantic Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Tropicana for a friends 50th birthday because it was cheap..I guess the saying "You get what you pay for" is very true in this case! We should have known right away from the general population in the lobby..very young, tacky, and drunk early in the afternoon. The hotel is very dated and the hallways in the rooms our smelly and littered. Our room was large because we requested a suite but it looked like it hasn't been decorated since the 80s. The bathroom was also dated except for the granite countertop.
The Casino was boring and ugly. The workers were all rude, non-egaging and no personality.....simply just doing their job. The dealers were awful to the point it made it extremely boring to even want to sit and play. No excitement here at all! We went to the Boogie Nights club and it was beyond tacky and had a horrible soundtrack playing the whole time!We would NEVER go back here and it's definitely worth paying more for a better experience and nicer staff.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade at front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Got to the Trop on the 23rd and left on the 24th for another hotel. The hotel did not give us a discount or playing $$. As did the Valley Forge. Good ole Groupon. Reception wait most uncomfortable no chairs, sofas etc. Good casino made some of my $$ back. Not as good as the Seneca, NY.and we are Canadians. Ate on the boardwalk and the food was not great...no wine in this restaurant. The first restaurant we went to in the hotel very few customers, prices ridiculous for hamburgers so we got up and left. Stores were great. Beds/pillows were comfy and ironically clean and fresh smelling. Rugs should be replaced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I took an overnight anniversary trip to Atlantic City on a Monday-Tuesday. It was a perfect time to go because the hotel rates were a bargain and there were no weekend crowds. I found my best rate by calling the hotel directly and telling them the rates I had found on the internet and on their website. The customer service lady on the phone gave me a better rate than what I had found online. Our room was FANTASTIC. It was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and I was very impressed with the quality of their curtains. We lucked out with fantastic warm weather. I also chose this hotel because it was one of the very few casinos with Free Wi-Fi in the rooms. We had seen 3D Imax movies here in previous years but we had never stayed the night. I really enjoyed this little vacation. The variety of stores really amazed me. You had the high end Manhattan type brands. There was also a store that was a lot like the Cracker Barrel Country Store, called the Old Farmer's Almanac General Store. My favorite store was the Zeytinia New York's Gourmet Choice. Zeytinia had actual uncut fruit you could buy. It also had a delicious looking hot breakfast choices on a bar that was sold by the pound. There were MANY breakfast items and also fresh cut up fruits that looked delicious. We had already eaten a bland breakfast at the Seaside Café, but I really wish I had know about the Zeytinia. I would definetly have preferred the breakfast in this store. The store sold foods from all around the world. It was a really cool store. Oh, they also sold cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory restaurant. Prices were reasonable for being in a casino.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropicana Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Casino and Resort

Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel Atlantic City
Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Atlantic City
Atlantic City Tropicana
Address: S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#10 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Casino and Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you prefer the peaceful serenity of an oceanfront view or the sheer excitement of hitting that winning number, a world-class experience awaits you at the Tropicana, Atlantic Citys entertainment destination. Known for the Luckiest Casino according to Casino Player Magazine, the Tropicana definitely delivers in gaming excitement. The hotels recent expansion includes more than 500 new luxury rooms and suites for a total of more than 2,100making the Tropicana New Jerseys largest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tropicana Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Casino and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.