We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Casino and Resort to your Saves list
Tropicana Casino and Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a good place to stay. The room was clean, well laid out and offered free internet which was a bonus. We were on the 66th floor and had a view of the pool and boardwalk which was nice. Check-in and check-out was easy. Good assortment of places to eat and shop. Would stay again. Had a breakfast sandwich at Mrs Fields and was disappointed that it was a pre-made microwaveable sandwich. Not that good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    1,241
    684
    519
    522
See reviews for
567
1,532
142
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (925)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I came here for a friend's birthday and it was a blast. The hotel is gorgeous and you do not have to leave it at all if you don't want to. Club Providence was a blast and the casino and diner were the perfect way to end an awesome night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, NJ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

...even more so when you're losing. The casino and the attractions, shops, restaurants etc. are fine but the hotel rooms themselves are just plain run down. I know this property has been renovated recently but I guess their definition of "renovated" is different than mine. We started in the South Tower. An ocean view suite. The furniture seemed new enough, flat screen TV, newish bathroom fixtures but there was an odor in the room so we requested a move. They moved us to the only similar suite they had which was in the Havana Tower. The Havana Tower is on the completely opposite side of the hotel and the furniture and both of the TV's looked like they hadn't been changed since the 1980's. There are too many choices in AC and the Tropicana is becoming an increasingly poor one.

Room Tip: Ask for the SOuth Tower unless you want to schlep through the casino every time you want to go to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel has it ALL (and you never have to leave the hotel/casino). It's got TONS of restaurants, bars, shopping, clubs, and gambling. You feel like you are at a Las Vegas hotel ... There is SO much to see and do!

We could have stayed here HOURS and HOURS and never got bored. It's a short walk to Boardwalk Hall, the shops at the pier, etc (but you don't have to go out if you don't want to).

Also, you feel safe because there is plenty of staff and security on-hand.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a blast! 11 girls ages 25-35. We chose the Trop because of the location to the beach and bars. The restaurants were good, not over priced. We hung out at the beach all day and partied at night. Lots of options for food, gambling and drinking. Like a lot of reviews say, our rooms could use an update on decor, but we really only were in there to sleep and shower. Not a big deal. If you're really picky about having a flat screen tv and not seeing drunk people in the halls, or empty beer cans in the elevator, you should probably stay some place else. The whole hotel/casino/restaurant/shopping area was beautiful! A little confusing layout. The map in the lobby didn't even have the pools listed. We actually set out on a mission to look for them. Still never found the indoor pool. Doors and hallways are not labeled well at all. We had two adjoining rooms in Havana tower. They were both clean. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

we always get a great rate from the hotel for spending money there which is why we always return! they have great shows, the rooms are always clean with different views and size rooms everytime! you have to pay for internet which i still think is rediculous in 2013 but lots of hotel do it. the shops are great and lots os food options. if you dont like walking alot dont stay here! from the board walk the rooms are on the other side of the hotel completely. but the hotel is close to the other hotel and casinos! cant wait to return

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Made a quick trip to the trop for the weekend overall the hotel is nice staff is good. The dealers are not the best only a select few ate good and will chat with you while they take your money. Great location and overall good service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
2.4 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#4 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,958 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#11 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#17 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,739 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bally's Atlantic City
Bally's Atlantic City
#10 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.0 of 5 stars 3,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Casino and Resort

Address: S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Casino and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you prefer the peaceful serenity of an oceanfront view or the sheer excitement of hitting that winning number, a world-class experience awaits you at the Tropicana, Atlantic Citys entertainment destination. Known for the Luckiest Casino according to Casino Player Magazine, the Tropicana definitely delivers in gaming excitement. The hotels recent expansion includes more than 500 new luxury rooms and suites for a total of more than 2,100making the Tropicana New Jerseys largest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropicana Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Atlantic City
Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Atlantic City
Atlantic City Tropicana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Casino and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.