We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times at the Trop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Casino and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropicana Casino and Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 60 hotels in Atlantic City
Jersey City, NJ USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great times at the Trop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

I've been to the Trop 3 times (staying twice.. once on my 22nd birthday last Nov and once this past May for my girlfriend's 21st birthday). Both times, I enjoyed myself alot. The room I had a few months ago was just the standard room; nothing special, had a TV, 2 beds, and a view of a parking garage. Everything was clean and we had no issues with the room.

The lobby at the Trop is beautiful; everything is decorated in a very Tropical/ / Cuban theme. Lots of bright colors, and the Quarter is probably the best part. The quarter is the mini city within the Trop, complete with stores, clubs, restaurants, etc. It even has an Imax theater, although I haven't gotten the chance to go yet, although I did go to the Hooters... good wings ;)

The floor itself is okay; alot of slots and table games, and the table games are sorta just lumped together in one big open space. Some of the other casinos I've gone to have had better layouts, but it's nothing terrible.

On my most recent stay, I was able to get a room in the newer Havana Tower. It was a bigger room, and overall nicer than the 1st room I had stayed in. Best of all, the rates for the Trop are usually significantly lower ($40-$50 / night) than any of the other Casinos.

I don't have anything particularly bad to say about the Trop; if anything, it was a bummer that the club on the 2nd floor closed early on a Fri night (it was only about 2-230 and they stopped letting people in). Other than that, the Trop is a fun place to visit and stay in AC

  • Liked — great decorations in the quarter, not overpriced, clean rooms, alot of variety of slots
  • Disliked — club closed early, not too central on the boardwalk (15 min walk to the rest of the casinos), no indoor pool
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    748
    990
    552
    439
    440
See reviews for
469
1289
117
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Stayed at the Tropicana for two nights during the week at a great room rate deal. Tito at the front desk took great care of us by upgrading our room to a ocean view suite in the south tower. It was not one of the hot tub suites, but a long room with a king sized bed and a couch and chair on the other end. Had dinner one night at the Irish restaurant that was very good and gambled in the non smoking sections of the casino (can't wait till it's all non smoking). The slots were not too loose at all this time, but I broke even playing blackjack. The last time I stayed over at the Trop was back in December, 2002. I was a little hesitent in staying there especially from reading some of the past reviews and the forum topics on the Trop in light of all that's happening with the place recently, but I'm glad I did. The state seems to be turning the place around. Will stay there again on my next trip to Atlantic Ctiy.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metropolitan Area
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

We recently stayed here for a weekend getaway. We chose the Tropicana as our first stay had been quite nice and we like being on the boardwalk.

This second stay left quite a bit to be desired. In the 6 months since our first stay, it seemed that the hotel had spontaneously aged a century. So even though they have been upgrading the casino floors, the banged up lobbies, elevators and guest rooms give an overall feeling of shabiness.

We stayed in the much touted Havana Tower - considering it isn't all that old, it really was a little grubby.

Hopefully repairs and general sprucing-up are in the works, but I doubt we'll be venture to stay here for a while.

  • Liked — location and ease of access to other casinos
  • Disliked — Not the best kept property we've stayed at.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central new jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

This was my 3rd stay at the Tropicana and had stayed in Trump Plaza in March. I had previously stayed in comped rooms from my bfs grandfather who is a frequent flyer at the Trop. My boyfriend and I decided to have a 3 day 2 night getaway to AC. Booked a standard room. After checking in we went to our room in the west tower and immediately didnt like it. The elevators to the rooms had cigarette butts all over the floor. My boyfriend then killed a shelled bug with his shoe that was running across the floor. Upon walking down the hallway to our room the housekeepers had bags of garbage laying outside each room we walked past. Got to our room and loved our ocean view, however the carpet didnt look like it was vacuumed, the curtains had stains, there were two half empty coca-cola bottles in the fridge, and the headboard was so dusty that a message was written in it. I was afraid to even look under the sheets. We really arent complainers but I decided I would rather check out and go to Trump Plaza (which had absolutely gorgeous rooms) then to subject myself to this filthy room. My boyfriend called downstairs and told the women what was going on, she told us to go to the desk downstairs and she would switch us to a Havana Tower room. The women was extremely nice. We got our new room keys and proceeded to the new Havana tower. We walked into our end of the hall room to find out they had upgraded us to a suite. It had a big living room, a huge bedroom and two bathrooms. Many closets, safe, iron and ironing board, free internet, a desk with table, glass tables and marble bathroom countertops. The best part was the floor to ceiling windows in the bedroom and living room. We were very happy and surprised. Overall I would not stay in a regular room at the tropicana again, I would prefer the Trump plaza. Since they are having money problems like bankrupcy, you can definitely see the difference this has made. The Quarter and restaurants and casino are great. probably the best casino and restuarant selection in AC. I would say we had a wonderful time besides the first room. After we got over that we loved our vacation!

  • Liked — our suite room, the restaurants, stores and the huge casino
  • Disliked — our first room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

Booked through Atlancitcity.com. If not for the discount from this site it would not have been worth it. Booking through the hotel it is too expensive and they will not guarantee your room, even with a credit card after 6pm. (Leaving after work to drive down we cannot get there befor 11pm at the earliest). The first room was tiny, filthy & had hair on the sheets of one of the beds. Second room was bigger with a view of a ladder & cement wall. A little cleaner, but no hair in the bed this time. At 2 pm someone in a room near us was smoking pot (you cannot mistake that smell!). We called security & were told that they "cannot just knock on random doors, they need to know where it is coming from in order to do anything". This seemed very odd to us & we did not feel safe after hearing this. After a few hours the smell dissapated & we were able to get a few hrs. sleep. The casino was average and did not pay well on the slots. Casino employees (with the exception of the lobby level Concierge, who is leaving in 2 weeks) were very unfriendly and made us feel that we were an inconvenience to them if we had a question or needed help. Signing up for the club cards I was given someone elses cards. After realizing this I went back to ge the correct ones & the girl that had made the mistake wouldn' fix it, I had to go to another window. One good thing was the Ri-Ra Irish Pub where we ate lunch the next day. The food was above average, very reasonably priced and the employees there were very friendly and accomodating, even getting me the recipe for the Irish Soda Bread they serve. The coffe was exceptionally good and I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. Food in the Seaside Cafe (open 24 hrs.) was good also and the employees were very nice there too. The prices, however were too high at that restaurant. Basically, we goofed again. For what we spent for 24 hrs. in AC we could have added a few hundred dollars to and flown to Vegas for a weekend, getting much better hotel rates (mid Strip), better food and more perks from the hotel. It would definetly be worth it, even with the added cost of plane fare and the extra time to get there. Atlantic City is in no way comperable to any gambling city I have ever visited and they are there to make a buck...period. They do not make thier guests feel comfortable and are not guest friendly at all. We only go to AC twice a year, if even that often and we are finally done. As another Trip Advisor member said in thier review...Vegas here we come!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Not much
  • Disliked — Almost everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Trop this past Sunday night, to take advantage of the lower priced week-day rates. Had we paid full price for the room I would have been even more disappointed with the hotel. We stayed in the South tower, which I've since learned is the least glamorous. Not once during our stay did we feel "welcome" by the staff. Upon arrival to the room, I rolled down the comforter to discover red stains on the linens. Housekeeping staff was right down the hall, so I politely requested she change the sheets. She then insisted that we had made the mess (how?! we just got there!!). Finally, she huffily changed the sheets, and rudely slapped away the tip we offered.

The entire hotel is due for a much needed upgrade. The rooms, casino, and lobby are all rockin' a 1980's theme. However, if you are forced to stay in the Tropicana, I do recommend seeing their in-house "Broadway" show. You can purchase room packages that include tix to the show. The singers had such amazing voices that I was able to keep my mind off the dingy room and combative staff for an hour and a half.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

I stayed in a comped room in the South Tower. It was clean as always. Check-in was fast and easy. The room worked for the 2-3 hours sleep necessary.

It's not the Borgota, but it's clean and gets the job done.

  • Liked — Free room
  • Disliked — It's not the Borgota
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropicana Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Casino and Resort

Address: S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#9 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Casino and Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you prefer the peaceful serenity of an oceanfront view or the sheer excitement of hitting that winning number, a world-class experience awaits you at the Tropicana, Atlantic Citys entertainment destination. Known for the Luckiest Casino according to Casino Player Magazine, the Tropicana definitely delivers in gaming excitement. The hotels recent expansion includes more than 500 new luxury rooms and suites for a total of more than 2,100making the Tropicana New Jerseys largest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tropicana Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Atlantic City
Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Atlantic City
Atlantic City Tropicana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Casino and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.