We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Casino and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropicana Casino and Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Atlantic City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I went up for a weekend solo, and enjoyed myself. The room was clean, and I thought for the money (while not Vegas), it offered a nice variety of shops and clubs, so I did not need to travel elsewhere. They also had about a 50/50 split in smoking and non smoking in the casino. There was a large crowd to enjoy of all types, and the music was good, and the drink's were not too bad( House red even okay). I will definately go back, and use it as a weekend getaway. It is a 6 hour drive for me, but nice, fun, and a good value. The $10.95 burger at 1 am is killer on the room serivice menu, and actually cooked to order. The people in the hall are a little noisy, so go for the end of the hall if you can get it. I was on the 48th floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    1,055
    591
    464
    461
See reviews for
505
1357
122
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

While searching for hotels in Atlantic City for a business trip, I look for price and internet access. Tropicana met both requirements and my wife and I spent the weekend here. The hotel and casino were great. My wife was impressed by the shops available and the restaurants we ate in were pretty darn good. The room however was not impressive. Like many other reviewer said, they are outdated and old. This is the first hotel we have stayed in in a long time that had the old box style TV's and not a flat screen. Our room was right next to an elevator so we were awakened frequently by the loud drunks heading back to there rooms, which some didn't make it! :-) And of course the walls were paper thin and you could here everthything. It did meet my requirements though; the price was right and the internet was free. If you can deal with the room issues, its really a nice place!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana R, Director of Marketing at Tropicana Casino and Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Quarter with its many restaurant and shopping options.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with your room. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

I have passed your comments onto our Senior Management Team.

Thanks again for the review, we hope that you give us another opportunity to host you the next time you visit AC.

Sincerely, David B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here with my boyfriend for the last 3 years for a trade show he goes to for his business. The rooms are clean and a good size. Customer service has been excellent any time we needed it. The casino is getting a little tired looking. I was disappointed this year because my favorite shop in the Quarter was gone, and they are replacing it with something new, a candy store. The restaurants are nice. We ate at the sports bar upstairs. The guys from the show loved it, they serve $5 40oz beers. We also ate at the Irish pub, the food there was very good, we both ate the prime rib. The spa is wonderful. Overall a good value for the money. The location is nice, you can walk to many other casinos.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Tropicana spent a huge amount of money remodeling the Quarters. Upscale restaurants, shops, and night clubs. However, this is all for show. If you actually stay at the hotel you will be more than disappointed. The rooms are old and dirty. They are a throwback from the 80's which I believe the lat time the bedspreads were changed. The bathroom was also dirty and the tub tiles chipped and falling off. We laughed this all off and never complained. However during the night things got scary. We had people banging on our door and the external walls. They were screaming in the hall ways. We called the front desk but they never arrived. This went on from 12:00am to 6:00am. I was with my children and was frieghtened. When I checked out at the front desk and told them this, they just kind of gave me a blank stare. Stay away form the Tropicana!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana R, Director of Marketing at Tropicana Casino and Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share how your recent stay with us was.

We are sorry to hear about the disappointment you experienced with your room and the service you received at Tropicana.

What you describe is not the normal standard at the Tropicana. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience you encountered

I have passed your comments onto our Senior Management Team for their review.

Thanks again for the review. We hope that you will give us another chance to host you the next time you visit Atlantic City.

Best Wishes, David B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Tropicana has fun for any age. We are Seniors and we love to stay at this casino. We have stayed in the Havana Tower many times. We cannot wait to be invited back with the comp rooms offered. We also were invited to a Slot Tournament. The choice of restaurants is wonderful. So glad this casino is up and running after Hurricane Sandy.

Room Tip: Higher Floors away from the Elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Tropicana provided the worst customer service experience my girlfriend and I have ever had. The hotel is staffed by the absolute dregs of the service industry recruitment pool; politeness and manners are thrown out the window. The only advice I can offer to anyone who's unfortunate enough to currently be putting up with the dour, rude, humourless cretins working at this hotel is :
Pack your bags,
And leave tonight.
Don't take your time.

Room Tip: Choose the Caesar's or Bally's over the Tropicana.. far superior customer service. Staff in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropicana R, Director of Marketing at Tropicana Casino and Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are sorry to hear how disappointed you were with the service you received during your stay.

What you describe is not the normal standard at the Tropicana.

Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

I have passed your review on to on to our Senior Management Team for resolution.

Once again, thanks for your review.

Sincerely, David B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
407 reviews 407 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

There's a lot to do here at trop with a lot of restaurants and shopping in The Quarter. Room prices are actually really good during the weekdays. The rooms are clean and the hotelstaff are very polite and and accommodating to any needs. I stayed in the Havana Tower which is the new and renovated building. The rooms are more modern have had better upkeep. When booking the room, ask to be put here. It is a first come first serve so you usually have to check in early on days they are busy.

Also, there was no Wifi in our room. I believe there is no wifi in any of the guest rooms.

Buildings to avoid here are the North and South Tower. These sections of the hotel are really old and haven't been renovated.

The hotel also has a resort fee which can run anywhere from 10-20 per day depending on the day of the week.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Casino and Resort

Address: S. Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#7 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#8 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Casino and Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you prefer the peaceful serenity of an oceanfront view or the sheer excitement of hitting that winning number, a world-class experience awaits you at the Tropicana, Atlantic Citys entertainment destination. Known for the Luckiest Casino according to Casino Player Magazine, the Tropicana definitely delivers in gaming excitement. The hotels recent expansion includes more than 500 new luxury rooms and suites for a total of more than 2,100making the Tropicana New Jerseys largest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Tropicana Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Atlantic City
Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Resort Atlantic City
Tropicana Atlantic City
Atlantic City Tropicana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Casino and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.