We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its AC.....what you want?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boardwalk At Mississippi Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Niskayuna, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Its AC.....what you want?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here while playing in a Hockey Tournament. Very dated rooms - 1980s Trump gold, etc. Room was clean enough. No issues with it. Had a view of the Ocean, but the windows were pretty dirty so even on a nice sunny day, couldn't see much.

Check in was slow. Signs to find rooms were poor. Don't think I ate on the property, except for getting a coffee at a stand near the Boardwalk entrance.

I was here with a group of guys, boozing our minds away, so it didn't much matter what the place was like. Parking was a pain if you needed to drive around town, like we did. But if you just showed up and left your car, very smooth process.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    193
    237
    250
    235
See reviews for
185
397
48
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I picked this hotel based on price and location. It's about in the center of the boardwalk so the car could stay parked in their garage the entire time I was in AC. It was also $159 for a Saturday night which is pretty cheap for an AC Boardwalk Hotel Casino.
Check was smooth and quick and the staff was friendly. The room was average size with a king bed. Nothing fancy, just average. It was clean and comfortable, although it was only used for sleeping and a shower. Plenty of hot water and the drains drained properly.
This Hotel is not shinny and new like others. Plus Trump seems to be more interested in politics lately than keeping up with his AC hotels and let them go. Therefore it is in need of being freshened up some. It has also just recently been sold and the new owners are planning a $100 million renovation. It will be interesting to see this place in a year or so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed Feb. 22 -24, 2013.
I'll start with the "pros":
Next door to Boardwalk Hall, which was the purpose of the stay (had tickets to see the Who - they rock!!). The room was spacious, for a standard room. The beds were very comfortable. It has an indoor pool.
Now for the "cons":
The sheets looked clean, but noticed a few red stains on the bedspread. Relatively minor, but still unacceptable for a 4 star hotel. The toilet didn't flush. Called it in and it was fixed by the time we returned to the room after the concert. The shower didn't drain at all. The lever to choose to let the water go down was not only broke, but barely affixed to the porcelain tub, where you can see a big nasty looking hole behind it. Called that in, and nothing was ever done. The stay was so short, it wasn't worth calling in again, since we were checking out the following morning. Overall these faulty mechanisms seem to fit the incredibly dated rooms. The hotel commercial that plays on the TV claims "newly renovated rooms", but it looks like something from the 70's - no modern feel at all. The idiots next door to us decided to scream and yell from about 7:55 am Sunday morning till about 9:00 am, like they were having a wild party. If I wasn't so tired I would have called in a complaint, but tried (unsuccessfully) to ignore it, That's not really the hotel's fault, but the walls seemed paper thin to hear all their shenanigans so clearly. Finally, played a lot of blackjack at their casino - and at different tables - about 90% of the time, dealer either pulled 20 or 21. No exaggeration. Never could imagine it possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel was pathetic, beyond words. We wasted an hour and a half, and four visits to the front desk, trying to get our room card to work in either the room door or the elevator. At one point, the front desk clerk reprogrammed our card with the wrong room number, causing a 15 minute wait. The carpets are filthy throughout, the bathroom was mouldy, and there was no hot water one morning. Is 1 out of 5 the lowest score that I can assign?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I wouldn't ordinarily travel to Atlantic City, NJ. However, I had to attend a business function there Feb. 24-26, 2013, at the Trump Plaza. I hadn't been there for a year and couldn't believe how the place has gone down hill. First, let me state that I had heard that the place had been, or is being sold (no verification of this). The check-in was fine on Sunday; even though we arrived early, there were rooms ready for us (more on this later). The lobby is okay, but the corridors to the rooms have shabby carpeting and a few gouges in the walls. The room carpeting needed to be replaced, also. The mattresses have seen better days and the bathroom floor tile had chipped edges. On Monday morning, there was no hot water...anywhere...in the entire hotel. I had a seminar that started early, so I made do with a VERY quick wash-the-hair-and-brief-washdown-before-I-froze-to-death shower. It DID tend to wake me fully, I must say, which was good, because the in-room coffee pot wasn't working (just when some hot liquid was sorely needed). The complaint line at the front desk was somewhat ugly, to say the least. Later that day, the hot water was back on in my room, although some of our group who had rooms on higher floors only had lukewarm water, even on Tuesday morning.. During my stay, I found out why our rooms were available early: the casino floor was virtually empty, even at night. Also, after Sunday night, the bar (Liquid Bar) on the ground floor was closed, as was the small gift shop near the lobby. The Cafe where we ate breakfast (Central Cafe?) was short-handed, with the poor staff trying to do several jobs at once. By the way, the Rainforest Cafe next door was also extremely short-handed. I had heard that A.C. was slipping down, and I saw it for myself. The gambling in Pennsylvania and Connecticut is certainly taking a toll.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Trump Plaza Hotel & Casino the lobby and casino were very elaborate and well keep. The restuarants were average. The rooms leave alot to be desired, half the lights either didn't have light bulbs or didn't work. The bathrooms needed updating and the shower in the second part of the suite didn't work. The heating and air conditioning needed repair. The ice machines and soda machines only worked sometimes. I was disappointed in the over all condition of this hotel

Room Tip: We had connecting rooms with a murphey bed, wouldn't recommend any room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nice ocean view from 32nd floor...that's it. Hair in tub, dirt on floor, uncomfortable beds, no visitor information in room, Hotel has the atmosphere of a cheap motel. I guess I should have expected nothing more for the price and the fact that the property has just been sold for a ridiculously low price, but it should be closed and renovated. The casino is just depressing. We went next door to Bally's....what a difference in the vibe. We only came back to Trump to sleep. Most of the restaurants were closed. Mr. Trump...you're fired!

Room Tip: Hotel is probably empty so ask for a high ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino

Also Known As:
Trump Plaza Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Plaza
Trump Plaza Atlantic City
Trump Plaza Hotel
Trump Hotel Atlantic City
Address: Boardwalk At Mississippi Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.