We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely below the Trump Brand standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boardwalk At Mississippi Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Definitely below the Trump Brand standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Trump Plaza isn't a dump. In fact, in typical over-the-top Trump fashion, the lobby and entryways are past elegant and bordering on gaudy. It's as of Trump sees what he wants and says, "you know what through, anything worth doing is worth OVER doing."

But the rooms are most definitely dated. The shower heads, the general decor and the wear and tear on doors, knobs, wall corners, etc scream that this place needs and update.

Will it get one? I don't know, but since the Plaza has always been the second string player for Trump in Atlantic City, maybe not.

The bottom line is that it's not a bad place to lay your head for a night...you're right next to Caesars and then Balllys. The beds are comfortable and the pillows are good. And for under $100 on the Boardwalk there are more expensive places that provide similar service. So, why not look to Trump?

I would stay here again but it's definitely not up to the Trump name plate.

Room Tip: If you have the room guaranteed with a credit card, then just check in LATE. There was no one in li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    204
    257
    280
    264
See reviews for
207
422
52
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here with a Living Social coupon for 1 night. I could feel the 80's as soon as I walked in. The long checkout line was terrible. Only 1 person checking people in. Room was okay, good ocean view. Def outdated and no cell phone service. Luckily, they had a wall phone in the bathroom. LOL, seriously, they can remove those now. The shower was nasty and there was a hole in the wall for the vent that my fiance checked to make sure there wasn't a camera in there. The casino itself was crappy, so we walked to Tropicana and Ceasers instead. We had a $10 comp for a restaurant that was never open so we didn't get to use it. We did eat at Evo and the bartender was super nice and the food wasn't bad. She poured a heavy drink too. After getting back to the room at 7am, the cards didn't work to use the hotel and the room key. After trying about 15 times, it finally worked and we got 3 hours sleep. When we went to checkout and get our car from Valet (only $5 though), the cashier didn't have change and I had to ask several other workers for change, finally getting it from the front desk. Overall, the hotel needs major updating, but if you are just there to gamble and sleep for a few hours, it's not bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21204
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was undoubtedly one of the worst hotel experiences we've ever had. (Please note the following is exclusive of the effects of hurricane Sandy.)

The hotel is dirty, ugly, falling apart, unmaintained, and downright seedy (like most of Atlantic City). Our first room had no power. The second had a barely working toilet and a bed with unchanged linens. Yuck.

It was hard to tell who hated the place more- the current employees or the guests. The employees made no secret of their feelings toward the hotel management.

I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. The Trump really is a dump.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Beach, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have stayed at the Trump Plaza in Atlantic City approximately 10 times and have been extremely pleased everytime. The staff is very friendly in all locations within the hotel and the casino. The dining areas are very good and again the staff is great. The rooms are neat and always very clean. The only complaint I would have is you have to pay for wi-fi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because of a Living Social deal. A few months ago we stayed at the Taj Mahal. It was recently renovated and beautiful. Everything was fresh looking. That was not the case at the Trump Plaza.
We walked into our room and it was worn out looking. The carpet and walls looked dingy. Everything was clean, but definitely needs to be updated. The lobby looks like no one has updated since the 1980s.
We visited the weekend of Hurricane Sandy and everyone had to check out of the hotel by 11 on Sunday. My husband and I left around 7:30 to beat traffic and there was only 1 person doing check out. You cannot efficiently evacuate a hotel with 1 person checking guests out.
Trump should be ashamed to have his name attached to this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed 2 days at Trump Plaza, we had 2 free days because of previous trips. We checked in early about 1 pm and no problem. I asked if we could get an ocean view room and again no problem. We had a large ocean front room with view of ocean and boardwalk. (This was a week before the storm). The bathroom was large, very clean. The room was a little dated, some remodeling could be done, but having the big room and view was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed there 2 x's and I thought the first time it was nice. But the second time I really expected much more. For the name it carried I thought it would be different. The location is excellent right in the middle of the boardwalk. Not far from the outlets. The wait to get your room I wasn't too happy about 2 people at the counter and the long was very long. I must say numerous of people check in on Sundays.
The room this time I wasn't happy with there was a large beam right next to the bed in which made the room look smaller. I saw about 20% of the ocean in which I ask for a ocean view. The 1st time I must say I had a better room and a better view of the ocean.
I think I will try the Taj Mahal next time, Trump Plaza you were alright but not the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino

Address: Boardwalk At Mississippi Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#12 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter and Priceline so you can book your Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Plaza Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Plaza Atlantic City
Trump Hotel Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.