We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trump Plaza Saturday 9/27/12” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boardwalk At Mississippi Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Sicklerville, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Trump Plaza Saturday 9/27/12”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Other than the view from our room, I was not impressed at all with Trump Plaza. They have the audacity to charge over $200 for a room that was dirty, the elevators didn't work very well, only 1 of the 2 cards they gave us worked to open the door or the elevators, carpets/walls/bathroom was dirty. The room was very noisy as you could hear both connecting rooms interactions (lol) going on. Donald Trump would be embarrassed to stay in the room we were in, let alone see what a disgrace of a property he has. Never again Mr. Trump

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    204
    256
    280
    263
See reviews for
206
422
52
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I decided to get away for a weekend with our daughter to try and relax, we went to the Trump Plaza in Atlantic City and had a great time. The hotel is in a great location close to many great places to eat and right on the boardwalk. We relaxed and took advantage of the pool, ate some great food and did some shopping. I would def stay here again.

Room Tip: I would not get an oceanview room if you are with little ones, boardwalk noise may keep them up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newburgh, ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

had a great stay at the trump plaza. the room was big, clean, comfortable and had a great view of the ocean. want to remember the room no and stay again when we go to atlantic city.
the only negative was the signage to find the room, hotel lobby and self parking garage was a lil lacking. got lost a few times - going up and down the escalators.

Room Tip: go for the top floor - great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
523 reviews 523 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked our stay at the Plaza from the car via Orbitz for a ridiculously low rate. The rate was so low that we thought something was wrong and we were almost certain we were going to encounter problems. First off…we thought it would be the fee for parking…had to be high, right? Nope…$5.

Okay, so parking was cheap…now we’re sure the problem will be at check-in. Sure enough, they didn’t have our reservation…now the trouble begins. But wait, the reservation just now came in on their computer…we’re in! We got our room key and head up to our ocean-view room. We open the door and NOW comes the problem. The room isn’t clean and the bed is not made. We've finally encountered the problem.

We call the front desk and they have us come back downstairs. They apologize for our trouble and say they’re going to upgrade us. Yeh, sure, right. Now, we’re on the 23rd floor…We open the door to our room and are stunned. It’s a huge suite. Huge! A large living room, two baths, a Jacuzzi tub, a sauna shower, a bar….two rooms have incredible views of the ocean. Can you say Sa-Weet Suite!?!?!

This place is awesome! (How could it not be with a room like this!?!) We both won a little cash from Mr. Trump in the casino, we had a great meal at Evo, downstairs, and did I say anything about the wonderful suite?

There’s no doubt that the staff here went out of their way to take care of us. Sa-Weet!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Trump! The name excited me as I arrived ready for glamor and glitz. I waited in line half hour to register for my room. When we opened the door to it, I was so disappointed to see a room not even as nice as some of the Comfort Inns we stayed at on the way there. Shabby rugs, dingy bedspreads, waterspotted upholstery full of spills, and even peeling wallpaper in the bathroom!
It was so high priced for that quality, too. Wished I stayed at the Revel.I did enjoy the "Beatlemania " Show at the Trump Casino.

Room Tip: Try the Revel down the Boardwalk.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Trump Plaza in September. We arrived on a Sunday, and the check-in line was very long. We had been told that the early check- in was at 1. When we arrived, the line was almost all the way to the door to the boardwalk entrance, and it wasn't moving at all. We figured that it seriously might take 1 1/2 - 2 hours to check in at that rate, and we weren't going to stand in line that long, so we left. We came back later, and the line was about a 1/3 as long as before- but we still had to wait in line for 30 minutes. When we got closer to the reception desk, we saw that there were only 2 women working there, and we were mad! I mean the hotel management knows that it is busy on the weekends, and they only have 2 people working at the front desk! We have stayed at some of the other casinos before, and most of them have at least 4 people working at the front desk during peak check in time, so that the line moves along fairly quickly.
We were given a nice room in the Plaza Tower with a partial ocean view. The room was decorated in gold and had a king bed, a table, a desk, an arm chair, a coffee maker, and a mini-refrigerator. The housekeeping staff did a very good job cleaning our room- it was spotless. We went to the pool everyday. The pool was very nice; the water was about 80 degrees, and there was a beautiful view of the beach and boardwalk from the sun deck. The only complaint that I have about the pool is that it closes early at 6. The hotel has good security. You have to put your room key in a slot when you enter the elevator, or you can't go upstairs; also there is a security guard by the elevators, and you have to show him your key before he lets you go upstairs. We really didn't like the casino very much- it was okay, but it was small and doesn't have a lot of different slot machines to choose from. We would stay here again if we got a good deal on the room, but we would choose to gamble elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. The rooms are a little bigger and are the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at the Trump Plaza twice - one night in April and another night in August. Check-in lines were long on both stays. We were given rooms at the older tower so the rooms and fixtures were older. Everything appeared well-maintained, everything worked and served their purpose. Linens and beddings were what I expected and all fresh and clean. I'm only giving it 3 stars because of it being high-priced. However, I chose this hotel because being on the boardwalk was mot important. I could get a similarly furnished room for 1/3 of the price a block or two away from the boardwalk.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino

Address: Boardwalk At Mississippi Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#12 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter and Priceline so you can book your Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump Plaza Hotel Atlantic City
Trump Plaza Atlantic City
Trump Hotel Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump Plaza Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.