We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was better than I anticipated but far from perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Resort Atlantic City

Save Saved
You added Harrah's Resort Atlantic City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Harrah's Blvd., Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“It was better than I anticipated but far from perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night charter junket and I believe a fair rating would be 3.5 stars overall but 4 stars if you are lucky enough to get a Waterfront Tower room like we did. Our room was a spacious King on the 21st floor with wall to wall windows with a view of the Boardwalk hotels, the Borgata and local area waterways. The 42" flat-screen wall mounted TV worked fine but did not have a HD connection. I'd recommend brining your own shampoo, mouthwash and body wash as they only provide a cheap quality product. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were just adequate and were also of cheap quality. Room cleanliness was about a 8 out of 10. Pretty good but not good enough for those that are more fussy than us. Yes, some nicks on furniture and the odd stain on hallway carpet but this is a busy party type resort so that's to be expected. It's too big to stay on top of every single issue. That didn't bother us at all.

As for restaurants we refuse to pay $80 for 2 buffets so we ate at SammyD's one night and to get a great meal we took the Jitney to Revel for a great dinner at Lugo's. SammyD's was good for breakfast but pricey at $35 for 2 and less than acceptable for the price we paid for dinner with cold fries and so-so entrees. Tazza's looked like a great deli style restaurant but the food was tasteless an their coffee was subpar and it was highly over-priced plus they charge 2 comp dollars for every dollar you spend in there so if you use comps like we do you are paying double.

The casino is confusing at first but once you walked around a few times you got the hang of it. I'd like to see more variety and more updated slot machines and like all Caesar's properties the casino slots are among the tightest in the industry. Revel sets the standard in AC as far as were concerned. Great casino with spotless slots that are up to date and fun to play and often give you a fighting chance to play awhile on your money.

Overall, we liked this place. After reading many reviews here we both agreed it exceeded our expectations but we disagreed about if we would return. My wife said NO FREE WIFI - NO RETURN. Revel was free. The casino is actually nicer than Caesars, Showboat and Bally's but all 4 of them need updating.

Tip: Use the Jitney bus service. It's fast and they run regularly and it's only $2.25 per person. Signs spell out their service and it's easy to figure out which number Jitney goes where. Better than waiting up to 45 minutes for the Caesars shuttle where you might get bumped if you are not at least Diamond status.

Biggest complaint/surprise: In this day and age NO FREE WIFI. Hard to believe. Common Harrah's - get up to speed!!

Room Tip: Stay in the Waterfront Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    975
    1,214
    680
    367
    357
See reviews for
519
1651
210
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (911)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Although we had a standard room on a reduced rate service and quality were generally good. The room itself was large, clean and comfortable but was a bit dated compared to other places. In room wifi was reasonably priced for a hotel and was fast.

The only real complaint we had was that check in was very slow 30+ mins, and check out (even using the express computers) was fairly slow as only 2 were working.

The hotel is also a good distance from the boardwalk ( too far to walk) however there is a shuttle available for total rewards members, and also Taxi's available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in the Water Tower 6th floor with a view of "The POOL" not the best view of AC or the Ocean. But our King room was amazing size and it had everything we needed. The room rug and the 6th floor rugs needed work to be cleaned up. Room makeup service was great with friendly staff. We ate at the Casino's Sammie Ds, the 24 hr coffee and food shop, and the new Bill's bar and burgers ( enjoyed them all). The POOL looked really nice ( 8am to 6pm ) but we were meeting family on the Brigantine beaches just over the bridge for 2 days. We liked the Casino and service and did NOT hit a Jackpot. We had not been to Harrah's for many years but it still is one of our favorites. Very easy to get to and away from the crowd of the Boardwalk Hotel Casinos.

Room Tip: We like the Water tower rooms for size. Expected more of a full hose so we wanted to stay on lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I've stayed at Harrah's many times for business and a few times for pleasure. They have a great mix of restaurants, nightlife venues, and things to do to while in Atlantic City. On this trip we stayed in the top floor of the Harbour Tower which had nice views of the marina and hardwood floors in the rooms instead of carpeting which was a nice free upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

First off, got stuck on the 6th floor elevator. It took me up alllll the way up (doors never opened) and brought me back to 6 (doors never opened) and I waited about 10 minutes. Wondering if this was the day I would drop to my death in an elevator. Finally got the doors to let me out and took the stairs the rest of the way. ( I did report problem to maintenance)
I walked into a stinky room. I couldn't pinpoint the smell. I was on harborview side. Typical room. Bed was comfy. Clean. We only slept in the room so it definitely met our needs. I would love to see waterside rooms. I hear they are nicer. Had fun playing, dining and drinking. Not obnoxiously crowded. Had a good time. Will be back. The room was comped so really what can I say.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were comped a room for a Thursday night. When we arrived we spent an hour in line to check in. There was only one person there for the gold card holders. There were four for the diamond card and above but they wouldn't even help the one person for the ordinary people. We were,told the computers for the ordinary people were all down. How stupid do they think we are. We were advised to ask for a room in the upper floors of the waterfront tower since the harbor tower is said to be pretty poor. When we did we were told " no wat sweetie". The comps stay in the Harbor tower unless they pay an up charge of $60. I had looked and could have booked a room online in the waterfront for $79 so I guess my comped room was worth about $19.... We took the deal. The room was very nice. But there was no book on the resort in the room. We wanted to order room service for breakfast the next day but was unclear if there was room service.
The Pool. It's their main feature and in mid August it was totally full at 2, then at 4 and then closed at 6.. On well its a club at night right? Well not on Thursday night. It's empty.
It's a big place. Smokers are pushed to the small dark corners of the casino.
Are the drinks free? Not sure. Nice feature you can order drinks from the slot machines for $6-11. Otherwise the cocktail waitresses seem to avoid you. Since all the others give drinks to players I am not sure what Haraha's policy is. Kind of like room service. Oh yeah the best is the $7 charge for "premium TV". Not sure what that was. We didn't order and movies or games or shows.
They need to get their act together a little. The Borgata and Tropicania are way above them.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Harrah's for a one night, mid-week, mini vacation. After reading a lot of reviews we chose to upgrade our reservation to the Waterfront tower. We checked in on a Wednesday so we could take advantage of their Total Rewards mid-week specials and the Pool After Dark club. If you're not a Total Rewards member, sign-up…the specials are good at Harrah's, Bally's, Caesar's, and Showboat.

The GOOD...We got a night out and the boardwalk trip was awesome!! As Total Rewards members we were able to take advantage of the $70 room rate promotion and BOGO at the Waterfront Buffet...meaning the whole night cost us just over $100 for dinner and a room. Staff was very friendly. Buffet was stocked with snow crab and steak! The Pool After Dark was interesting and music was good (ask front desk staff for free entrance). Shuttle to boardwalk free for guests. AC bus is just $2.50 per person. Bed was large, room spacious, shower was huge, and a new flat screen T.V. on the wall!!

We went to the boardwalk first and paid to park at a casino on the boardwalk. He gambled a little and I walked part of the boardwalk and hit the shore shops. The we took the push-cart to Ripley's Believe it or Not ($10 for two people from the Taj - Ripley's was $16 a person) and then did some people watching. Next time, I'd like to check out the Steel Pier and the water, plus see what's past Ripley's. The boardwalk is really long!!

The BAD... Harrah's is nowhere near the boardwalk, convenience stores, or anything else. Pack appropriately and don't expect to step out without a hassle. Hotel wasn't dirty, but, it wasn't clean either. Walls and doors were splashed with stuff. Elevator doors were smeared, had drip marks, and splash marks from obvious rushed and poor cleanings. Floors from the room to the casino were in need of a vacuuming. The bathroom mirror and furniture in room had crumbs, spot marks, and general dirt build-up. Room service trays were sitting in the hallway when we arrived in the afternoon and were still there when we returned to our room in the wee hours of the morning. They were gone when we got up, but the trash on the hallways floor was not.

The Pool After Dark didn't have any tables or sitting area for non-VIP reservations and the floor isn't conducive to dancing or walking in heels. A beer and a mix drink cost $16 and after while you realize everyone is just walking around in a circle. Entrance is free for guests but only with a pass and only if you go BEFORE midnight. There were people in the pool, but not many, and the dancers were hot but there were only a couple of them.

Parking is only $5, but there is no comp for guests and you have to pay each time you leave and re-park. That makes sight seeing difficult or expensive. The jitney is only $2.50 per person and the hotel shuttle is free for guests but we heard lots of complaints about people waiting for a shuttle that never came...we did not use either though, so I can't really say.

The buffet was good. I ate my fair share!! But, I don't know if I would have felt the same if we hadn't been given a buy one get one. At almost $40 a person it seemed a bit pricy for the options. Breakfast was also an issue. The coffee house had amazing looking pastries, but, they also could only take cash, had a line out the door, and frazzled employees who seemed confused. We went to Denny's the next town over.

The UGLY...Parking location is horrible - use the Valet!! Self-parking is on the opposite side of the casino from the front desk with no direct access from the elevators to the lobby floor. We had to carry our luggage from the parking garage through a long hallway, down stairs, then down an escalator and through the entire casino to the front desk. After a 20 min line to check-in we then had to trek half way back to get to the room towers, which are spread across either side of the hotel, with one set being on the opposite side of the casino floor. It was a long walk and there were no carts or employees to help. They have "handicap" access from the garage elevators, but that involves taking the elevator to the first floor of the parking garage, cutting through the garage to a crosswalk outside the casino and then walking down to the main doors...all outside and uncovered!! Neither was convenient and both were long!!

The elevators in the parking garage were very slow and hot. The elevators in the Waterfront tower were also very slow and continued to get stuck. Furniture in the room was chipped and scuffed, lampshades had water stains all over, the wall had a big rip in it, and the bed had water stains and questionable bedding. Room condition wouldn't have been a big deal if this weren’t the "new" tower at an upgraded room cost.

Room service has an automatic $2 per registered guest fee and 18% gratuity for each order. The coffee shop and on-site convenience store are fine, but, very pricy and they didn't have milk (though they did sell cereal). A 20oz water was $4, a pack of cigarettes was close to $15.

The Pool After Dark VIP specials were also outrageous. Tables start at $200 plus bottle service (min $150), Cabanas are higher, and hot tubs are ridiculous...like $500/$700, plus bottle service.

OVERALL...we would stay again for the right price, but it wouldn't be our first or second choice. The boardwalk was a lot of fun and the convenience of walking right out of the casino was enticing, I'd rather stay on the boardwalk! Especially for those of us who don't gable much and want to shop, walk around, or people watch. Not much of that to do at Harrah's (very few shops and a small gym). We've eating at Bill's Burger Bar and it was pretty good, but, I wouldn't go out of my way to stand in the line at the buffet without a BOGO. We didn't get to do the pool during the day but we wouldn't stand in line to see it at night again, there are plenty of other places with more going on. I'd give the stay a C+, the night out with my husband and no kids an A+, the boardwalk in the summer a B!!

Bring your own bottle of wine to avoid the high room service/bar fee for pre-evening drinks, pack light and easy to carry, try to check-in before 3pm when the line starts to form and they shut down express check-in. Hit the buffet around 5-5:30pm to avoid the lines, use valet parking, and ask for free entrance to the Pool After Dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Resort Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Resort Atlantic City

Address: 777 Harrah's Blvd., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Best Value Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Resort Atlantic City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Harrah's Resort Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Resort Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Harrahs Hotel Atlantic City
Harrahs Casino Atlantic City
Harrahs Ac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Resort Atlantic City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.