We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in cleanliness...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Resort Atlantic City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Resort Atlantic City to your Saves list
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Harrah's Blvd., Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
WINTER SALE
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lacking in cleanliness...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I just got back from staying here for a Yelp event. We had a $99 event rate which was fantastic and definitely can't be beat - but our room missed the mark a bit on cleanliness.

We were staying in the Waterfront Tower and the design of the room is great (nice view, modern furniture, great looking bathroom with a big shower) but the upkeep was definitely lacking. The furniture had scratches all over it, red stains on it (nail polish?) and gum stuck to it. The wall paper was beat up and dirty looking and worst of all, the bottom part of our bed had gigantic stains on it. I took pictures and plan to upload because while I really loved the look of the room and it has so much potential, this type of stuff isn't acceptable.

Also, the ice machines were smashed in on almost every floor and various hallways and elevators looked like they desperately needed some cleaning.

I would stay here again based on the location, warm pool area which is great in the winter, and some decent food choices - but they should definitely start paying more attention to upkeep of the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,222
    1,449
    781
    404
    395
See reviews for
621
1,935
260
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The room was dusty and the bathroom although semi clean had dust and hair on the floor. The bars were dirty in the casino area. The video poker machines had plastic covers on the touch pads that were all sticky. The elevators were filthy! And the floor hallways were lined with dirty room service dishes and unvaccumed. In the middle of the night a large party came up from partying and then were throwing ice at each other and carrying on. Security showed up 30 minutes after we called by that time there was only the ice mess in the halls. The restaurant was good and service was great. The pool although nice made you bring a drivers licence and your room charge card along with your key to get a drink at the bars. The cocktail waitresses were rude and had an attitude. I would say stay at the Golden Nugget which is next store and the property their is so much nicer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I will start from when I called and booked my reservation. I called to reserve a room for one night @Harrah’s for 1-18-2013. I was told that since I was traveling with children there is a family pool. I was told in the event the pool was not open that I would be able to use the pool that is normally for 21 and over. I was in Atlantic City that weekend for a cheerleading competition that was at the convention center so it made sense to me because of the amount of children in Atlantic City for the weekend.

I arrived at Harrah’s and after waiting for 15 minutes on line to get checked in I was informed that the information I received when making my reservation was totally inaccurate and that in fact my kids were absolutely NOT allowed to enter the pool area and that the family pool is in fact NOT open. I was told that the person I spoke with when making my reservation was not from the hotel and that it happens all day, everyday!!
At this point in the evening I was standing in the lobby with 3 children that wanted nothing more than to swim and eat dinner and instead I was just standing their baffled at the information I was just given.

We went up to the room let me tell you once again to my dismay complete dissapointment!!!!!! If it was not for a cheer competition I would have just turned around and left the hotel!
You need to be aware of certain facts ….we were able to write our names in the dust that was accumulated on the frame of the bed and the bathroom was so filthy. Just when we thought this couldn’t get any worst…. we were having a completely different dilemma…. The person who made our reservation via the phone told us we would have a couch in the room that opens up to a bed. That apparently is NOT the case!!!!
On top of needing a CLEAN room change because nobody should have to pay to sleep in filth but then we also had the additional expense of having to get another room because we were misinformed when making of the reservation. At this point we were put into ajoining rooms.

This is not what I expect when I come to Harrah’s with my family. This is not what I expect when I call to make a reservation. This is totally unacceptable and honestly I am not one to complain but this was beyond a relaxing and fun weekend. The misinformation between staff and customer service makes for a lot of frustration.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Harrahs Resort for 2 nights/3days. I like this resort because it is not on the boardwalk and does not have day bus visitors. The casino is not very large, so its easy to get around and has plenty of tables and slots to keep you interested. We stayed in the Waterfront Tower. Nice room with Jacuzzi and walk in shower. Comfortable beds with plenty of pillows. Needed a little updating already, some small carpet stains, small hole in bed beach. Not pristine, but acceptable. Little dusty in spots. They have a nice buffet and many places to eat, from restaurants to take out informal places for sandwiches, pizza, ice cream. The prices are high, but we expected that. The hotel has 2 indoor pools, one adults only, one for children & adults. Overall I would say this is a fair hotel off the boardwalk, we dont stay in the rooms anyway, like the excitement and buzz of the casinos and shops. If you want off the boardwalk, try this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is the most relaxing fun casino in Atlantic CIty. The food is excellent from the buffet to the steakhouse. There's something for everyones taste buds , even a little food court. Personell all friendly. 2 large pools. One very classy. Gambling choices many. beautiful rooms.

Room Tip: waterfront tower has best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

a bit out of the way from the main resort centre but there is a regular shuttle (charge) to various other properties. also charge for parking if you are not a senior total rewards member. check in quick and efficint, rooms huge and all mod cons. a bit noisy at the weekend but nothing unusual for a full service casino resort. liked gaming area as smoking only allowed in certain well marked areas (why can't vegas do this?) but, having said this, it lacked the excitement and zest of las vegas. buffet wonderful with lots of seafood as well as the usual salads, meats, etc etc but expensive by vegas standards. same for steakhouse - the best steak i have had for a long time!

Room Tip: a high floor with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I 've spent my friend 2 night at Harrah's in January 2013 .
We've stayed in Watterfront Tower . The bed was very comfortable and we had a nice view of the marina . The buffet was closed which we found dissapointing .

In many instances I've noticed the lack of cleanliness . Elevator floors , my hallway carpets were truly dirty with stains and our room had a lots of dust to by found everywhere .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Resort Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Resort Atlantic City

Address: 777 Harrah's Blvd., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Atlantic City
#4 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's Resort Atlantic City 4*
Number of rooms: 1174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's Resort Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Resort Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Harrahs Hotel Atlantic City
Harrahs Casino Atlantic City
Harrahs Ac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Resort Atlantic City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.