We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did I sleep on the floor?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1339 Pacific Avenue, Tennessee and Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7204   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #16 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Annapolis, MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Did I sleep on the floor?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel was fine for what I wanted - a cheap place to crash. I started to have regrets when we walked up the steps from the lobby and into the hallway leading to my room. There was a nasty smell and the carpets were badly stained/dirty. However the room appeared to be clean. The décor was basic - but most importantly, the smell from the hallway was not in the room. The bathroom was small and there were small little rust spots on the fixtures from the moisture but everything worked. The beds were very hard and I struggled to get sleep. I woke one morning with a terrible back ache - I just couldn't get comfortable all night. We did ask for an extra blanket and were told to turn up the heat. That wouldn't work I keep the room cold and my husband doesn't like it that way. It is a very long block from the beach but doable - just walk on the side without the bars/apartments to avoid the urine smell. The cleaning crew was very nice and gave me extra supplies when I asked. The restaurant downstairs was excellent for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    45
    48
    15
    14
See reviews for
41
55
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

he hotel was okay. Spots should be repainted in spots. The blankets and comforter had burnt spots and holes. Also the neighborhood is a little scary. Nothing on website lets you know that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

An overall excellent experience, taking in account the class of the hotel.
Clean, friendly staff, at walking distance from the boardwalk, contiguous to a very good and convenient restaurant for brunch.
A curiosity: the vallets in charge of the car park moved my car twice a day upgrading little by little the position in the park (more and more in the shadow) until the last hour when they placed it just upfront the exit.

Room Tip: My room was on the church side, 2nd floor, and was OK also because close to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

You enter to a nicely remodeled lobby, but it ends there. I only stopped there because I was looking for a cheap place to stay after midnight. Not the nicest area of Atlantic City, older, dingy rooms. If I wasnt tired, and was able to think clearly, I could have stayed in one of the casino hotels for about $20 more. Nex time I will.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Address: 1339 Pacific Avenue, Tennessee and Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;