We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Showboat Casino Hotel

Save Saved
You added Showboat Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Showboat Casino Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 60 hotels in Atlantic City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dixiechick09
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the price couldn't be beat, but best of all the staff was very accomodating and friendly. Everyone from housekeeping, to attendants and security were top notch and friendly. Will definetely return..

Room Tip: We stayed in 1549 and loved it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    455
    382
    201
    201
See reviews for
232
601
88
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed there for a weekend, Hotel was Clean.... Really no Complaints! Price of the Rooms for this weekend were extremely high. No Idea why! House of Blues entertainment was good and the Bar area was kicking on Sat Night... Other then room price it was a nice place to stay..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We just checked in about 30 minutes ago. The room they gave us was disgusting! There were stains all over the floors, very disturbing stains on the sofa, the wallpaper was peeling and it was filthy. We stay at Showboat often and have never had a bad room before this. I called downstairs to ask for a new room and the manager had an attitude and told us to come back down to get a new room. The customer service rep had an attitude too when my husband explained the situation. I will say that the second room is perfectly nice with a view of the ocean. The first room was so bad that it shouldn't be used. I don't know what the problem is but this hotel is going downhill fast! This is the last time that I will come here. My advice... Stay at Harrahs or Caesers! Much nicer rooms and customer service!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed at the showboat twice: for 2 nights in June of 2011, for 1 night in May 2012. I had a fantastic time both times, the reason I have booked the Showboat again for the end of May 2013. Its a prime location, located at the end of the boardwalk between Revel and the Trump. The casino is one of the older ones, but it has always been clean with a fantastic staff. They hand out marti gras beads and once they found out it was my birthday, I walked away with a TON. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms were beautiful, and the beds were extremely comfy. I have absolutely no complaints. The price was fantastic and couldn't be beat for AC. I had a fantastic time and you will too!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room. The views are much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I normally stay at the Borgata, but they wouldn't give me any discount. I looked for a deal, and Showboat was $42 for 2 days (Sunday and Monday). With fees and taxes it was about $82.00. I expected to have a decent room but not much more. When I got there at 4pm Sunday, the registration line was about 50 people long, but it went fairly quickly because they had 7 people at the desk. Kevin was very friendly and gave us room 839 in the Orleans Tower. After a fairly long walk(past the beckoning Starbucks), we reached the elevators(long wait and occasionally went up instead of down!?!). After reaching the room, I opened the door and I was pleasantly surprised to see a room that was not only clean, but beautiful. The entry area and bathroom floor were marble tiled, the toilet seat was closeted and the sink area was very nicely appointed. The closet was roomy enough with 6 wooden hangers but there was no safe. Towels were not scratchy, soaps and shampoos were decent and the water pressure was good. The beds were soft but not too soft and the linens were white and easily seen to be clean. The room was quiet except for the gusty winds outside(most of the time because the weather was poor). The TV was an old tube model, but it worked well, and got espn and a few cable channels as well as the regular Philly stations. The A/C and heat was not too noisy. We were able to easily walk to the Revel(wearing winter jackets!), Taj Mahal(indoor corrridor) and Resorts. The casino was clean and there were smoke free areas. I play blackjack and there was a non smoking table. My wife plays the slots, and she said "The Goldfish were biteing" and she was a winner. We tried to eat at the Buffet, but at $26 each, we ran away and ate at the Earl of Sandwich(crowded but fairly priced and tasty). All in all it was much better than expected and certainly worthy of consideration on my next trip to Atlantic City.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked late for a 1 night stay. Great price/value compared to other casino/hotels - especially for a Saturday night. Easy valet parking (same price as self-park with 'gold' Totalrewards card), quick, friendly check-in, Orleans Tower room was good/ok - 2 comfortable Queen beds w/duvet, updated bathroom, but carpet in room and halls is stained in many areas. Dinner at Johnny Rockets was good burger-fare - not the friendliest or quickest service, but food was good. Casino area was very nice, but ventilation in 'smoking' area could be improved - you could smell that there was a smoking area nearby before you came to it. Overall pleasant stay in nice casino/hotel. Would come back in future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package with the house of blues. We were anxious to see our favorite musicians play.
The staff is very young and seems very inexperienced.
They took $100 deposit which will not be returned until after the room was inspected – we are frequent travelers and have never experienced this before. As frequent travelers to Vegas we have found that most casino properties this day and age are not as smoky as we found the Showboat to be. This was very disappointing. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Showboat Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Showboat Casino Hotel

Address: 801 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#10 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Showboat Casino Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Showboat Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Showboat Atlantic City
Harrahs Showboat Hotel Casino
Showboat Hotel Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Showboat Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.