We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay. Would not recommend.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Showboat Casino Hotel

Save Saved
You added Showboat Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Showboat Casino Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 60 hotels in Atlantic City
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay. Would not recommend.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package with the house of blues. We were anxious to see our favorite musicians play.
The staff is very young and seems very inexperienced.
They took $100 deposit which will not be returned until after the room was inspected – we are frequent travelers and have never experienced this before. As frequent travelers to Vegas we have found that most casino properties this day and age are not as smoky as we found the Showboat to be. This was very disappointing. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    455
    382
    201
    201
See reviews for
232
601
88
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sayville, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having just returned from showboat casino & hotel --I was surprised that they now charge you a fee for early check-in -- also the rooms are old ,carpets dirty and the ac/heating units needed repair in our room after repeated calls to house service the unit was fixed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Decided to change things up for my husband's birthday and change our usual hotels and stayed at Showboat over the weekend.

Price: one of, if not the cheapest on that end of the boardwalk.

Room: king room. Clean and simple, classic. No flat screen TV, but picture was clear and bathroom had a great large tub with a private toilet room.

Hotel: no lines to get a rewards card, easy and quick check in and check out. Convenient parking and overall layout.

Casino: Full of people (even on a not so busy weekend- much more people than the new Revel) friendly staff members and nice bar and wait staff.

Would I go back? Heck yea. Hotel was adequate and casino was great. Close to others if you wanted more restaurant or casino choices but without the high price of a not so special hotel room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I chose Showboat for my first trip to Atlantic City April 10-13th. I had a New Orleans Deluxe room with two queeen beds with a lighthouse view. Room was clean with a huge bathroom. Beds did not have duvet/comforters, they just had sheets. TV was tube type and there was a refrigerator in the tv cabinet that would not shut off and froze our sodas until they burst. Check in was quick and seamless. Housekeeping serviced the room daily. Location was great. You can access Taj Mahal next door and Resorts without going outside. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. Oh - the toilets are very noisy. I called them the atomic flush toilets. You can hear your neighbor flush all night.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room with a refrigerator (if this is important to you).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Decided to book this hotel due to the "Almost Free AC" Special. Overall had an issue being able to use the benefits of the deal though. What used to be the House Of Blues had a menu that was limited and service that was very poor. Waited 45 minutes for jambalaya. Finally had to ask them to bring my spouse's meal for her first so hers wouldn't be cold waiting.

As far as the drink credits go, they only let you use the three bars on the casino floor. Sat at Spirit bar around 5:00 first night there and listened to the bartender and a buddy of his that clearly worked at another bar in the area speak using foul language every other word talking about customers, including one that was seated on the other side of the bar.

When checking out, had to go back because despite the clerk insisting she had deducted the cost for the bar credit for the package, when I added it up, she had not done that. When I returned she did not apologize, and seemed put out that I caught her mistake, insisting she told me she had taken it off. Had to walk her through adding up the charges to confirm she indeed did not give me the bar credit.

Beware when checking out if you purchase a package here, check it closely.

Otherwise, the room was nice, most of the staff was pleasant, crowd wasn't quite our style though and entertainment was limited. Poker room seemed to be bordering on hostile to hotel guests as play was clearly different when a hotel guest was in the hand compared to when it was just locals (amount of "free cards" due to checks around the table was very high with just locals and almost non existent when they noticed a hotel guest was in the hand).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently went to Showboat casino in Atlantic city, NJ. We were given a room on the 20th floor. We noticed the furniture was broken and terribly stained in addition to being very old the carpeting was also stained. The hallway carpeting was stained and dirty as well. We have always enjoed the Showboat, but, in my opinion it has thoroughly gone downhill! Very dusty light fixtures and shelves in the bathroom. However, I must say the bathroom tile, and bath fixtures were very well maintained. This is definitey the worst room I have had there, and, have been there many, many times. The personnel are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you.
Other then that it seems most outdated.

Room Tip: The room was quiet and had a beautiful view. Beds are comfortable. The 20th floor is a long way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A DEFINITE stop for something to eat when your down in AC. Theres one in Ballys too if your casino hopping. We had the buffett one day (a no-no) then went with 'ol reliable.Super food and I was able to comp it too! AAA+++

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Showboat Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Showboat Casino Hotel

Address: 801 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#10 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Showboat Casino Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Showboat Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Showboat Atlantic City
Harrahs Showboat Hotel Casino
Showboat Hotel Atlantic City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Showboat Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.