We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st trip to Atlantic City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bally's Atlantic City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bally's Atlantic City to your Saves list
Bally's Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Place and Boardwalk, 1900 Pacific Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
WINTER SALE
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
Louisville ky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“1st trip to Atlantic City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

First I want to thank everyone that gave me some insight as to what to expect on my 1st trip to AC. We stayed in the tower in Bally's and it was much better than expected after I read a bunch of negative things, checkin was a breeze the personell was great we did not run into 1 rude person. The room was clean and they put extra coffee in the little basket. They cleaned everyday and that is not what we got when we stayed at the Riveria in Las Vegas last year you had to call down to get towels and they do not have coffee makers in the rooms. The only negative thing I had was on Sunday night my sister and I went to Johnny Rockets to grab something and take to the room we stood in line for about 20 minutes then was told if you want carryout you had to go to a window outside. A woman out there was complaining because she was waiting 30 minutes just for a hot dog, another woman received a wrong order and man had his buzzer and said he had been waiting 45 minutes why didn't I take a hint and leave but no I waited another 20 minutes then the girl came to the window and apologized they had ran out of food and was giving refunds for those that ordered and had paid. The Virginia Buffett was great the food was excellent and the waiter kept my tea glass full. Monday we went outside to take pictures but is was very hot as I have asthma and COPD we went back in but around 530pm it was very pleasant the water cooled off the boardwalk and so we strolled it and took in the sights and people they are doing a lot of construction work and the seagulls behaved. Overall I had a great time and seriously thinking about going back on my birthday in July.

  • Liked — location on the boardwalk
  • Disliked — Johnny Rocket Resturant
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    499
    475
    356
    539
See reviews for
332
815
138
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario.ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

May 19 for three nites. Bally's on the Boardwalk. Booked on line at least two months ago. Found a bargain on their own site under "Hot Deals". We of course requested Bally Tower after reading reviews about Claridge tower. Sure enough when we arrived at noon to check in, the hostess said a convention was in the hotel and no rooms were available in our requested digs. I told her about our apprehension about the Claridge, she let on like she hadn't heard anything negative. After a bit of persuasion, she consulted her manager, who authorized a room in Bally's tower on floor 21, not ocean front but nice view of both the ocean and the Bay looking north. Spectacular suite. Gold Fixtures, massive King Bed, sitting area. A true delight to be in our room. All staff very friendly and helpful. Security everywhere, Free parking w/comp card. Free drinks .All in all, a great gig. Hope to go back for an encore.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

Just returned from a weekend at Ballys in ac.I have to say over the years they have really changed.The staff is more then friendly
I was overwhelmed by staff members coming over to you and asking you whats your name mine is ....I had nite mares of being booked in the claridge but given a choice at the front desk i said Ballys.I was given the towers with a private key located on the 15th floor..Quite to say the least.The room was beautiful.New beds /tv in the washroom/plasma/free coffee/safe/and a fridge/do remember if you get this room with a fridge you must have to turn it on..duh men whats wrong with woman i never thought called downstairs and they came right up to make fun of us..I highly recommend the hotel and the service in the restuarants is amazing .Try Gerties its great bagels muffins etc and the coffee is amazing...hot hot..Of course if you are venturous walk over the the pier with your coffee and go to the 3rd floor where they have beach chairs with sand that was just beautifl overlooking the beach..what a wonderful weekend i wish i was still there...and for non smokers you will be so impressed now how smoking has become a big no no in casinos..very limited .which is just amazing i so remmeber yrs back when you couldnt move without cigarettes in your face..Love that feature..

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

Stayed Th & Fri nights, May 15 & 16. Had booked comped rooms in the Bally's Tower but I fully expected to be placed in the Claridge. We arrived around 3 PM and check in was quick and painless. We were pleasantly surprised to be given a room on the 34th floor of the Bally's Tower.
The room was great. Direct ocean view but facing a little north toward the Taj. Room was large, clean and nicely appointed. Only minor negative was old 27" tube TV ..... however, if we wanted to watch TV we would have stayed home so I didn't deduct anything from the ratings. Bathroom was very large and everything was in order including a supply of towels. Our floor was very quiet and the room well insulated as we didn't hear any hall traffic or noise from neighboring rooms during our limited time in the room Check out was also very smooth using the TV system. We had the bags stowed and didn't actually leave until 6 PM. No problem at all and only $5 (with TR card) for the Valet parking .... I can't understand why anyone would self park in these places but I saw people toting bags all over the place to save a few bucks in tips I guess.

Anyway .... an exceptional stay. That's it on the hotel but for anyone interested in the meals and other stuff ...... read on.

We had a few meals at Bally's also. Pickles is a decent place for soup and a sandwich and we had coffee and pastries at both Gert's and The Bagel & Doughnut which were both fine but a bit pricey. We also had a late - 2AM - "snack" at the new restaurant .... 6ix or something like that which we found unimpressive. I had a ham & swiss which was okay and my wife had an omelet which they served with french fries. Go figure. A below average stop from our perspective. On Friday we tried Game On in the Pier at Ceasars. Tons of TV's and atmosphere but very quiet for early evening. Chicken strips and burgers were very good but also a few negatives ..... wife wanted pizza and a frozen drink but they had neither. Pizza is on menu and were just told they didn't have it "tonight". No idea if they just don't have frozen drinks or if that also was temporary. Coffee was cold although they made a fresh pot when I complained.
Other than gambling and eating we went to a concert in the Showboat HOB. We had balcony seats for the Gin Blossums and The Nudies. This was our first time at the HOB and we would highly recommend it for shows. View and sound in the balcony is excellent. For the record .... The Nudies were great for the opening act. In fact, they just seemed to be getting warmed up when it was time to turn it over to the Gin Blossums. The GB's started a little slow but also cranked it up after they got going. The lead singer spent a good portion of the time near or in the audience which was great for the people downstairs but not so good for security. All in all a great show and we're looking forward to returning for Little Feat in June and Gov't Mule in July.
As for the gambling ..... that went VERY well. I came out about even between slots and Let It Ride with a $500 hit on quarter Silver and Gold machine in Showboat and straight flush in Let It Ride in the WWW. My wife came away with way more than anyone would believe playing various quarter slots in the WWW, Bally's and Trump Plaza. Mostly Bonus Frenzies but she seems to have a knack for picking the right machines.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

We loved everything at Bally's. We booked onlline and we were apprehensive about what we would find, but everything was perfect! Upon check-in, they gave us a room on the 36th floor in Bally's Tower. The room was immaculate; lovely; large; and we had an awesome view of the ocean and the city. The beds were so comfortable, it was hard to get up every day. The staff throughout Bally's was so friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay at Bally's again. In fact, we can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Lovely room and great location!
  • Disliked — Loved it all.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

Stayed at Ballys for the first time April28,2008. Since we had never been there we assumed it was all Ballys and would be in the Ballys Tower. We were given a room in the Claridge Tower which was very nice and clean but had we known we would have requested the Ballys tower. The room was very clean but looked down on roof tops and it would have been nice to have a view. Everyone that works there is very helpful and friendlyHave stayed at a few of the other Casinos at AC and would probably go to Ballys again but not to the Claridge Tower

  • Liked — clena rooms and friendly staff
  • Disliked — no views
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, ID
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

When we were first checked in we were put in the Claridge, went to the room was very old smelling, clean but not very nice. Called and they graciously moved us to the Balley side. Great room, large, clean and very fun to stay in. We had a wonderful time. The staff is outstanding. I would recomend you staying there although do not stay in the Claridge side.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bally's Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bally's Atlantic City

Address: Park Place and Boardwalk, 1900 Pacific Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#9 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bally's Atlantic City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bally's Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bally`s Atlantic City And Claridge Tower Hotel Atlantic City
Bally Atlantic City
Ballys Atlantic City
Ballys Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Ballys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bally's Atlantic City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.