We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bally's Claridge Tower - odd, poorly appointed rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bally's Atlantic City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bally's Atlantic City to your Saves list
Bally's Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Pacific Ave., Park Place and Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Sale! Rooms from $49!
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Atlantic City
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bally's Claridge Tower - odd, poorly appointed rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've stayed a couple different places in Atlantic City, but this room and casino were the worst. Lackluster casino and ships, old room newly renovated, but with no artwork it sitting chair, despite lots of room. No towel racks next to sink, horribly clogged tub drain. Only 2 lamps. Bed was comfortable, however. Back to Showboat next time!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnachbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and, not knowing the area, figured Bally's was a safe bet since we had both heard good things about the brand before. This was not the case. The hotel common areas were extremely unclean. There was trash on the hallway floors throughout the night. The carpeting in the halls of the guest floors was stained, buckled and unkept. I know there was a storm recently, but we are talking about rooms on the fourth floor so not a result of water damage. The lobby stunk of cigarettes, and was so outdated that it looked dingy. The doors to the entrance of the hotel were filthy and looked like they had not been wiped down in at least a month. The room was okay and I think it was clean but everything had that old gritty look to it. The pillows on the bed were indescribably bad. My husband had neck pains the entire next day. The parking lot is self park which is great, but it STINKS of body fluid. I had to cover my nose whenever we needed to go to the car. We checked out after one night and found another place. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karaf874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlantic City hotels

Ozone Park, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband, kids and I just recently went to the Bally's for celebrate my birthday and to my surprise I was pleased with the room that I was given. Although I vowed to never go back to the Bally's after my last stay there in 2012. This time it was an okay experience. The check in process was fast and very helpful. I had a comp room and was originally given the Claridge Tower but after my last experience I immediately refused. I was then given a room at the Dennis Tower with the option to upgrade my room to an oceanview for just $25.00.
The room was pretty big with an amazing view of the ocean but the down fall was that the television was very outdated and only hot water was running in the shower, so I couldnt' shower my kids. Thankfully we only stayed for a day so the kids just waited to shower when we got home. The casino was packed but you could still find plenty machines. Although there was plenty of security walking around, I still felt a little uncomfortable, due to one creepy looking man constantly following me.
I do not think that I will be giving the Bally's another chance, since this trip was not as bad as the first but it was still unacceptable!!!

Room Tip: Do NOT book a room at the Claridge Tower!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was the worst stay I have ever had in the history of going to atlantic city. this was crap rusted pipes beat up furniture moldy shower. rude front desk, rude manager, took my cell phone number at check out and has yet to return my call. that is fine because I am here to let the world know and I also have pictures to post once I download them off my camera, I had a view of a parking lot /roof I don't know what. it was a hot mess,, to make matters worse it is 5.00 to park your vehicle if you have a total reward card, and 15 without.. and to top it is 5.00 to check in early what kind of mess is that??? my advice don't stay here

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsJones33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel Check-in was a dis-service to the service industry. Our reservations were supposed to be in the Dennis tower but when we arrived they had us in the claridge tower. After explaining that we had set this up through the casino host several days earlier for the Dennis Tower (and were quoted prices for the Dennis tower) they were only willing to move us to the dennis tower for an additional "upsell" fee of 40 bux. When we finally got into the "non-smoking" room it smelled like an ashtray. There were pubic hairs on the floor of the room and the bathroom. The wallpaper was peeling. The vent was caked with dust. There were piles of dust along the edge of the carpet. Cigarette burn in the chair. There was an oddly placed outdated phone in the bathroom (must have been a real perk back in the 80's). The sheets of my bed were stained (found that out as I was getting ready to crash). We gambled nearly 10 hours the first day and the casino host said the first night (we stayed for two nights) would be taken care of... and if we gambled more that day we may be able to get the 2nd night comp'd as well. So we proceeded to gamble another 10 hours with similar betting, etc. At check-out (and after talking to the casino host again) the front desk said that we had to pay for the $40 "upsell" fee for the first night and that the 2nd night would not be comp'ed. When we explained the casino host had comped the entire first night, she proceeded to tell us that was only a comp for the room rental rate and didnt apply to the "upsell" fee which was given to us upon check-in. Ok.... now I see how this racket goes. After alot of back and forth with the front desk and the front desk manager I began to feel like I was dealing with a billing problem on my ATT or Comcast bill. I was just glad to get the heck out of Bally's forever. The place was absolutely horrible. Outdated, poor service and they really made you feel unwelcome. Good news is that I did not encounter any bedbugs. Avoid at all costs!

Room Tip: Cancel your reservation at ballys, go down the board walk and get a room at Revel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just stayed this past weekend. Hotel was really nice, bell service great staff friendly and check in was simple...except they charged us $5.00 for early check in which I thought was a little weird.

I would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHEECH1863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I got a living social deal to stay for 2 nights in the Dennis Tower, late checkout, free parking, $30 for drinks and $15 for food. At check in, instead of holding the $100 for incidentals, they held a total of $228.82! When I called the front desk to ask why the extra money is being held, I was told by front desk (with a big attitude) that the computer holds funds based on the rate of the room! Huh? I never heard of such a thing. My husband stayed here a few weeks ago in the ocean view. Not crazy about this hotel but wanted to use this deal before it expired. Our last stay was comp, and the regular $100 was held. The front desk couldnt explain why this stay was being treated so differently. Nothing about this hotel would make me want to come back, There are too many other hotels to choose from. Never Again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jujucross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.9 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,182 reviews
1.5 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#9 of 52 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,902 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget
#8 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Claridge Hotel
The Claridge Hotel
#6 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bally's Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bally's Atlantic City

Address: 1900 Pacific Ave., Park Place and Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bally's Atlantic City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bally's Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bally`s Atlantic City And Claridge Tower Hotel Atlantic City
Bally Atlantic City
Ballys Atlantic City
Ballys Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Ballys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing