We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised after all the negative reviews - Not a bad stay at all - would definitely stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bally's Atlantic City

Save Saved
You added Bally's Atlantic City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bally's Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Place and Boardwalk, 1900 Pacific Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 60 hotels in Atlantic City
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprised after all the negative reviews - Not a bad stay at all - would definitely stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

After all the negative reviews we were worried about staying here especially since we normally stay at the Trop, but our fears were unfounded. We had a great weekend and were pleasantly surprised by our room in the Dennis tower. Atlantic City was hopping last weekend and most of the casino hotels were sold out. The hotels in AC are *very* expensive for what you get on the weekends - far more than Vegas which is a big minus for AC. We arrived almost at midnight Friday night and check in still took around half an hour - since they were booked solid it looks like the agents were scrambling to place people had weekend reservations. We got a room on the 40th floor of the Dennis tower and were very pleased with the room and the view. The room was clean, the bed was comfy and we didn't care that the tv was a tube type and not a newer flat screen.

AC seems to be upping their food offerings We ate twice at the Sixt coffee shop and for the price the food was outstanding and reasonably priced The casino was full and hopping - even at 5 in the morning, we had a blast and were able to play for long stretches of time without it seriously hurting our pocketbook - a big plus for this trip.

The town itself seems to be improving since we first started coming here 8 years ago. For the first time, the streets around the outlet mall were busy with tourists - a far cry from the scary slum that was in that area a few short years ago. From what we briefly saw on our way out of town - AC seems to be sprucing up the area tourists frequent - where as before anything off the boardwalk was a no go area. We even walked back from Trump on the boardwalk at 5am and it didn't feel as scary as it did a few years back.

All in all we had a great weekend. We love the energy of AC - which is something you don't get in the one horse casinos in PA or CT. The fact that you can drink, gamble and hop among a dozen or so casinos until the wee hours of the morning is what sells us on a weekend in AC. We're definitely going back in a month. As for Bally's, the room we got was far better we expected so we would definitely consider it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    449
    431
    331
    513
See reviews for
294
760
121
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wall Township, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I recently attended a training conference at Ballys Atlantic City during the end of February 2013. Upon arrival i approached the front desk to register for my room. I was greeted by what i can say was a disgruntled employee. She was rude and uncaring. I then went to the room assigned to me. I entered the elevator and noted that there was a foreign substance that appeared to be blood splattered on the ceiling of the elevator. I then exited the elevator onto the 22nd floor (NON SMOKING). I immediately smelled a strong odor of burnt marijuana in the hallway. There were also several burnt cigarettes that were apparently extinguished on the hallway floors. During the convention the hotel help was very rude. If you are in the casino watch your back. There is no security (atleast none doing their jobs) and there are homeless people, drug users and gang members loitering in the hotel lobby and casino area. One woman was obviously overdosing and lying on the floor of the casino with her body twitching. The room was not cleaned by the cleaning staff (although they did make the bed). When you check in, the hotel will swipe your credit card for incidentals. What they wont tell you is that they will charge your card $100.00 then refund the money 10 to 14 days after you check out. This hotel and casino is equal to a cesspool.

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

First we paid top $$$ to stay on a Sat night. The room was clean but it was not the one we booked. I had booked a King Bed Ruby Room 2 weeks before our trip. Because of the reviews about the other rooms being old. I wanted to make sure we were in a newer room. When we got their we were told that the room we booked was just a request and they were all gone.I would have been ok with it if we could have even gotton a king upgrade or something. our room was clean & thats all the good that I can say. I also felt that the casino was not what it used to be. they took the table games out of the wild west part & the old part was full of smoke. we went to Ceasers (Still owned by the same company) it was packed but the air was not smoke. I understand people smoke in Casinos thats not it. Ballys vents do not do a good job moving the air.I will go to one of the other Casinos next trip to play & stay.

Room Tip: Go to another Casino. Try the Trop,or Revel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a free room, so we went back to Bally's. Let me just say, even for a free room, we paid too much. It was the worst weekend ever spent anywhere ! First room was not what we had requested, so they said if we came back the next morning they would try to move us. Well who goes away from their kids for the weekend and wants to sleep in a separate bed from their husband? Then from 3:00 on their were drunks yelling and fighting and cursing in the hallway. Of course we never saw any sign of security or hotel personnel. The second room was not much better, they must have very thin walls, you could still hear people in the hallway at night, but at least they weren't screaming and cursing. Horrible service and two horrible rooms.

Room Tip: If you get a free room from Total Rewards, choose Harrahs. It was MUCH nicer, we couldn't stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a comped room in the Claridge tower on Friday and Saturday night. I was actually nervous that the room would be a dump since it was comped. When I got tithe room, I was pleasantly surprised! The oceanfront room was clean and had a great view. The bed was so comfortable. Bathroom was just average. You could tell the room was redone recently with a more modern feel. We ate twice at Harry's Oyster bar. The raw bar sampler was great. Bally's is in the center of the boardwalk so location is great. Short walk to the shopping outlets and the property is connected to Caesars and the Caesars pier so you can enjoy everything without going outside. Only downside is the room walls are pretty thin so you will hear your neighbors if they are loud.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

It Seems That Bally's Is Pushing Very Heavy, With Service With A Smile !!!!
Bally's Service Was The Best I Have Ever Seen, And It Seems Like Old
Vegas, By Greeting You , And Treating You As You Are The Most Important
Guest In Bally's, And They Did That For Everyone, Which Is Great.

Room Tip: I do Have Say That The Hotel Does Need A Fresh Up Dating With Everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This is the second year in a row I have been forced to stay at Bally's Dennis Tower. It is absolutely disgusting. Dirty rugs in the hall. Dirty sheets. Dark and dreary rooms. Rude customer service. My mistake for giving it a second chance. I will not come back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bally's Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bally's Atlantic City

Address: Park Place and Boardwalk, 1900 Pacific Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#11 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#11 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bally's Atlantic City 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Bally's Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bally`s Atlantic City And Claridge Tower Hotel Atlantic City
Bally Atlantic City
Ballys Atlantic City
Ballys Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Ballys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bally's Atlantic City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.