We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but it's still just AC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bally's Atlantic City

Save Saved
You added Bally's Atlantic City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bally's Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Place and Boardwalk, 1900 Pacific Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 60 hotels in Atlantic City
Garfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice room, but it's still just AC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just back from a conference in Atlantic City, and after many years in Trump Plaza we stayed in Bally's. I had a nice, clean spacious room, and the staff was very pleasant. Two negative though. $13 a day for Wifi?? Also, When we checked in Sunday afternoon two guests on the floor my friend ws staying on had left their room service trays in the hall. As we were leaving today- two days later- they were still there

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    449
    431
    331
    513
See reviews for
294
760
121
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We love playing at Bally's and the rooms used to be wonderful. This time they put us in the Claridge Tower and the room was TERRIBLE. It was absolutely void of any amenities. Just a bed (not even with fitted sheets. Just 2 flat sheets on top, no comforter, and 3 lumpy pillows). An old TV with about 5 channels and 2 old chairs by the window. No desk. No sofa. Big empty room with old boring bed. Bathroom was worn and even the lotion/shampoo were reminiscent of the 1970s.

We were VERY disappointed with this room. Perhaps the other sections are better? But we would absolutely not stay in the Claridge Tower again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Claridge Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is my favorite hotel on the boardwalk. It has a great location walk through to Ceasars. Bally's has a nice gift shop and several nice shops in and around the hotel you can always walk through to Ceasar andgo to the Pier Shops. Bally's rooms are the nicest...they are very big,,some have a hot tub that looks out to the ocean. The beds a very comforable and are catty corner nice view of the TV. Very nice. This is the deal here.....if you are a high rated player this room is comp. If you are a player but rated lower you take a big chance in the other 2 towers. One being the claridge. It's old. I refuse to stay there.
Bally used to have the Virginia City Buffet which was excellent but it wasn't there when I went last time? I never worry where to eat in AC as we always find something good even if we drive somewhere else, example Harrah's Buffet or "Tomatoes" in Margate. Being a comped guest if the room isn't quite right they may change it for you....if you are paying you NEED to really be careful especially if you are coming form far. Thinking you are going to stay at Bally;s and ending up in the claridge is far more then disappointing. They tell you it is Bally's which it is they bought it so what can you say? if you go get Bally's ocean front have fun. Value is tricky because it depends on the tower and everyone pays a dfiferent price based on your rate of play. In all of the Harrah's properties the wait i very long fr check in its based on your card level.. Diamond has a separte line platium and gold wait forever, that includes the restaurants etc. It's actually fair because diamonds paid for the privilage.

Room Tip: Make sure your actually going to stay in Bally's or don;t go. Find this out when making your re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We were there in October of 2012 for our anniversary. We thought we would have a nice steak and crab leg dinner for the 30 dollar each advertised price. Dinner was served with cold crab legs in a wooden bowl with a over cooked chewy steak sitting in the bottom of the bowl in the cold crab juices. They served salad, pasta, we didn't get utensils to serve our selfs . I asked the server for some and she said that's the way they serve here. I called the manager to the table thinking she would get us some. She was sorry for our inconvenience, she still never brought us anything to serve ourselves with other than a dinner fork and steak knife that was on the table when we were seated. I would recommend everyone avoid this place especially this over priced awful meal.....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Pool was closed and website mentioned nothing about it. Child was very disappointed. Lots of new nickel and dime fees for early check in and pool usage. Security guard wasn't posted near elevators like in the past. Key reader on elevator was broken and covered with paper. Food in 6ix bistro was pretty good though service was slow despite restaurant being empty. Same story at Caesars cafe roma-ok food but understaffed. Around half of Caesars comp kiosks also were broken or turned off.

Played blackjack for 90 minutes at avg bet of 125 and earned whopping $4 in comps. I have always been loyal but as business slows CET casinos are neglecting their properties and their customers more and more.

Room Tip: Claridge tower is weak. Stick to ballys tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I are pretty loyal to Bally's and they seem to accommodate our needs. We stayed in the Tower's and had half bay & half ocean view.

We normally eat at the Six Bristo, the food is reasonably priced and often pretty quick. We placed our room service breakfast order at 2am, for 10am

delivery. The order arrived on time and very fresh, warm and tasted EXCELLENT (pancakes, eggs over easy, Texas toast, bacon, sausage, home fries, water)

From order taker to delivery person - Excellent.

Bathroom has garden type tub and separate shower.

Room Tip: Always ask the desk for any free upgrades. And if possible ask for the Tower ocean side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at Bally's in the Claridge Tower for one night after Hurricane Sandy. I have taken many trips to Atlantic City in the past and it was VERY slow. Probably why we got such a low rate for a Saturday night. Check in was easy, there was no line and the girl at the counter was very friendly.

The room was a decent size, but you can tell they are in need of renovations. Everything looked like it had better days but our room was clean. The walls are paper thin, so if you are a light sleeper expect to be awake most of the night.

On a side note, stay away from 6ix Bistro located in this casino, the food is inedible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bally's Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bally's Atlantic City

Address: Park Place and Boardwalk, 1900 Pacific Ave., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#11 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#11 Casino Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bally's Atlantic City 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bally's Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bally`s Atlantic City And Claridge Tower Hotel Atlantic City
Bally Atlantic City
Ballys Atlantic City
Ballys Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Ballys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bally's Atlantic City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.