We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, ugly neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1212 Pacific Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Sainte-Marthe, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, ugly neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed there for one night and the hotel was nice and clean. I thought the staff could have been a bit smilier. The hotel is nice, but the neighborhood around it is ugly. Very old broken down homes and it is on the corner of South Carolina Avenue, which is full of strip clubs. I do however recommend this hotel as it is not too far from the boardwalk. It is a good walk to the shopping outlets, but we enjoy walking. Also, parking was affordable at the hotel, only $12 per night.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your great comments about our hotel! There are some great things to come in Atlantic City! The state had made a whole new tourism district, which we are in. Please come back soon!
----Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    186
    64
    23
    13
See reviews for
66
169
19
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island, ny
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here and we couldn't have been happier. Quick easy walk to the Boardwalk. Very close to Margaritaville, Steel Pier, House of Blues. The staff were excellent and we felt safe and welcome as soon as we arrived. Room was clean. They had water, fruit, cookies in the lobby at all times. That was nice after a long walk on the Boardwalk.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I really appreciate you taking time to leave us feedback! Also, thanks for the great comments. We try hard and I'm glad that it showed. It's funny that you mentioned Margaritaville, Jimmy Buffett just made a surprise appearance there a few days ago! He showed up out of the blue to say ,"hi" to his associates.
You never know what may happen in Atlantic City! Thanks again for your feedback.
----Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Glows: It is a short distance from the boardwalk (1 long city block). It's boardwalk entrance is right next to the Boardwalk carnival, The Steel Pier. The staff answers all request and help when needed. There is a nice breakfast spot called Perry's less than a block away. You can also choose to have breakfast at the hotel, itself. The outlets are also a short 15 minute walk away. There is a nice happy hour at the bar in the lobby. There is a pool on site. They have valet parking on site as well.

Grows: The valet parking should be accounted for in the nightly stay fee, especially since it is basically mandatory and the lot is on property and enough for us to park alone. The staff should promote it's in house bar and happy hour. We searched the Boardwalk for drinks and overpaid when we could of enjoyed $6 and $5 drinks before even leaving the property. The package for the boardwalk ride tix isn't worth the extra $20 per night. The rides are few, old, and geared towards kids. Plus they don't include the 3 best rides. We were personally more inclined to play the games, which aren't included with the pass.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your time and leaving comments! We appreciate your positive revirew and will use your other comments as a training tool. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope that you will return in the future. :)
Sincerely,
-----Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a king room. Room was large enough and clean, however it does look a bit tired but then most places in Atlanta seem slightly neglected. Breakfast was better than in most places, eggs cooked the way you like them, the cost of the breakfast was $12. Disappointed in housekeeping, we found the old pillowcases still in our room and only some toiletries were replaced. The bedding kept coming loose as the mattress protector did not fit the bed, resulting in a bad nights sleep. Also we had old tea bags in cups still there on the second day. Hotel refused to honour IHG rewards for the first night as we booked through booking.com, forcing us to recheck in for the second night, highly inconvenient. Parking was $12.50 a day forced valet parking, in an open parking lot a few feet from the hotel we could have parked ourselves.
If we ever returned to Atlantic City we would try to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you had some issues with the linens in the room, we do our very best to have the freshest linens for our guests. We are undergoing a soft good renovation in the near future where all linens will be replaced with new - but until then we do wash all linens every day with our in-house laundry, and throw away linens we deem old or stained right away.
As far as the inability to accept IHG - that is "Intercontinental Hotel Group" a different program and is not at all affiliated with the Marriott Rewards program, these hotel programs are typically not transferable from one brand to another, it had nothing to do with booking your room through the third party website of booking.com. If the reservation is made as a back to back reservation through different booking channels, then yes one would have to check out of one, and into the other - since all payments vary with 3rd parties. Its always best to book with the hotel directly to avoid confusion regarding third party reservations.
Please come back and give us another try, I am sure you will be very impressed with what is ahead for both Atlantic City and the Courtyard Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have spent one night in this hotel during our family trip. We really enjoyed the large room, the high standard of quality of the service and staff. Beds, the size and cleanliness of the bathroom, the Ac, everything was at the top.
At this price, you can't ask for more. The location near the boardwalk is perfect. I will reserve at this hotel next time I come in Atlantic City.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! I'm glad that you liked our hotel and that you plan on returning. I'll look forward to meeting you in person!
Sincerely,
----Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I loved this property. Last minute decision to spend the night in AC, and didn't want to spend the money on a casino hotel. As a Travel Agent, I have stayed in lots of Courtyards, and this one really impressed me. Beautiful, clean and spacious Lobby Area with an adjacent breakfast room. It was extremely hot outside, so I was delighted when I arrived at our room, and it was very cool. Everything in the room was like new. Beds were very comfortable, and linens and lightweight, summer spread were lovely. Very roomy space, with a large desk, large flat-screen TV, mini-fridge and bathroom with a large vanity area. We valet parked the car for $12.00, and it was worth every dime. Took us less than ten minutes from the time we got out of the car until we reached our room. The location is great, as well, as it's a one-block walk to the beach. I will definitely stay at this property again and will not hesitate to recommend it to my clients.

Insider tip: It is in an area that's not the best in AC, so I wouldn't recommend walking around outside at night. Also, although it is a block to the beach, it's a very long block. However, at the very end of the street on the right is a parking lot almost on the Boardwalk. You can park there all day for $5.00.We had a child with us and all kinds of stuff to lug to the beach, so it was well worth the money to be that close.

Room Tip: We had a lovely, updated room on the third floor, located a little walk to the elevator and ice mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Very happy to hear that you liked our hotel! I hope that you'll return again soon. I look forward to meeting you in person on your next visit.
Sincerely,
---Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Paterson, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel had more negatives than positives. I will start with the positives: The lemon water and fruit were a nice touch in the hotel lobby. The lobby was pretty and clean. Now the negatives: The price was astronomical, the breakfast not even included, you were forced to pay for valet parking, the room was dated, beds not very comfortable, the location in a questionable area, and the staff looked tired and were a bit rude. Better than some of the even more overpriced casino hotels but not great for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Glad that you enjoyed our hotel. We do offer valet parking, but it is not required. There are other options in the city. I hope that you will return in the future! :)
Sincerely,
----Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City

Address: 1212 Pacific Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Business Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic City's upscale Courtyard by Marriott® is conveniently located just one block from the Beach and the historic Atlantic City Boardwalk. The hotel's location is ideal for easy access to world famous casinos, fine dining restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Just 12 blocks away enjoy the areas top events and headline entertainment at Boardwalk Hall. If you're here on business you'll be pleased to know the Courtyard Atlantic City is minutes from the Atlantic City Convention Center. Shopping is also in walking distance with The Walk Outlet Shopping Center offering over 100 shops and restaurants. For a more upscale shopping experience The Pier at Caesars and The Quarter at Tropicana are also very close by. When you return to your room you will find comfort in our exclusive our lavish bedding, flat screen HDTV and free internet access. Whether traveling for business or leisure to the Atlantic City area our new Courtyard by Marriott® Atlantic City is the perfect base for all of your activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Marriott
Atlantic City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.