We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, staff, rooms... so-so location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1212 Pacific Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Atlantic City
Hudson Valley
Level Contributor
147 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice property, staff, rooms... so-so location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here on business a couple weeks after Hurricane Sandy. The hotel seems to have fared very well, minus 1 of the 3 elevators. I was disappointed that there is only valet parking, at $10+per day.. plus the tip every time you need to retrieve it. Just may be me, but I hate mandatory valet parking at hotels or restaurants.

The staff and check in were friendly and efficient. The twin bed room, I would call it 2 full size beds, not queen, was roomy and nicely appointed. It had a nice sized walk in tiled shower, with a good sized single sink vanity. The toiletries were of good quality.Bed was comfortable. One nice feature, not standard at every Courtyard, was a small 'frig in the room. No microwave in the room was a minus. Another minus was the inconsistent internet connection. It would be fine for a while, then just 'hang' and say there was none, only to come back with a page refresh. It was free however and easy to connect with.

The breakfast buffet (or made to order omelets/waffles) is normally $10.95, but our group was free for Platinum members. It had a very nice variety of fresh cut fruits, oatmeal with fixings and the aforementioned made to order. We had nice servers for basically coffee each day, especially Victoria.

The valet car retrieval was very fast and friendly each day.

A nice choice if you don't want to stay at a casino property in AC... just wouldn't walk around too far at night, even to nearby casinos.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonValleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and review of our hotel!
I'm glad that you liked the hotel and staff and sorry that you didn't like the valet parking service.
I'll also follow up on the internet issues that you mentioned. We value your feedback.
Atlantic City did survive Hurricane Sandy and is doing well! The Governor is doing some great things to improve the city and "DO AC!"
Please come back and visit us again.
Sincerely,
----------Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Long Neck, Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from a quick overnight at the COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT IN Atlantic City, NJ. My third stay at this property. Great clean and quiet room, helpful front desk and friendly breakfast staff. Good breakfast buffet (no other meals available) for $10. All was as nice as you'd want it....not the best location for walking around but a quick jitney bus ride to any of the casinos. This is where I always stay when going to a concert in AC. No surprises...just the way I like it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eliedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Very happy to hear that you enjoy our hotel and staff! Please come back soon.
I'll look forward to meeting you in person.
Happy Holidays!
-------Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Chose the location a block away for quiet, and we found the street well-lit in the evening as we walked to the boardwalk. The parking lot was fenced in and our car was parked close to the hotel in a well-lit spot. The parking staff provided excellent restaurant suggestions and brought our car quickly. The room was comfortable and the front desk helpful. Would stay here again. The breakfast was not free, but reasonable, and again, staff was attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vFNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We appreciate your review of our hotel! Thanks for the kind words and we hope that you'll return soon.
Sincerely,
-----------Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here for a night during the Atlantic City marathon weekend and would definitely stay here again. The staff's hospitality and friendliness were outstanding. I really appreciated that they set up a table with fruit and snacks for the runners since we had to be out before normal breakfast hours. The room itself was immaculate and had decent toiletries. As for location, it's a few minutes walk to the boardwalk. Yes there are a few characters loitering around the neighborhood but nothing that made me uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goonergal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your great comments! I hope that you did well in the marathon and will come back and visit us again soon!
Sincerely,
--------Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice rooms. Location is not in a great neighborhood, but then, as soon as you get away from the boardwalk, most areas seem unsafe. They do have valet parking, so you don't need to walk around in the neighborhood. I thought that all Courtyards offer free breakfast and that was a primary reason for choosing this hotel. This location has a separate rate if you want breakfast. While I should have read more carefully, I was disappointed to discover this and decided that I would not pay $10.95 for breakfast and went elsewhere. I also left an item behind and was disappointed that no one contacted me to let me know. I travel extensively and several hotels have done this. While the item left behind was not expensive, it would have been a nice touch and would have endeared me to the Marriott hotel chains.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avkatnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to say that the Courtyard brand does have a charge for breakfast. It's Marriott's brand standard that we must adhere to. I'm also sorry that you left an item behind, but we are unable to contact all guests that leave items in rooms as many people leave them behind on purpose or would rather not be contacted for privacy reasons. I will certainly take your comments and use them as a training tool on how to better serve our guests.
Sincerely,
------Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The people and the hotel are nicer than many Courtyards I have stayed in.. but the location of this particular hotel was pretty bad for us... we were there to golf and not primarily for the casinos... but we walked out the back door and down a road between parking lots and it seemed like could be an unsafe walk if you were in the wrong place at the wrong time... in fact another time we were walking from the south from Caesars and were walking along side what seemed like a normally dressed kid, maybe 20 and he begged for - get this - 50 cents... are you kidding me, he looked like he should be skate boarding with his friends or between classes at school and is out scrounging for 50 cents... anyway, the hotel really is nice and the is very, very good - breakfast was included and the staff was so accommodating... the other thing to note is that parking is valet and $10.50 per day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgreene99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for the great comments about the hotel! I hope that you will return in the future. The CRDA and Tourism district that have been created are doing great work in cleaning up some of the tougher areas of the city. I hope that you'll return and see the progress.
Sincerely,
----------Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here on an overnight visit to Atlantic City. It met all of the expectations of a Marriott property. The staff was friendly and helpful. The parking is valet parking at a reasonable $15 per day or so depending on when you stay. You can take your vehicle as many times as you want from the valet during that time frame with no additional charges. The hotel is not located in the nicest part of the city and I wouldn't suggest walking anywhere. We chose to drive everywhere we went from the hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Not much of a view from lower floors. Higher floors may afford a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and your comments! I hope that you will return soon.
Atlantic City and the state of New Jersey are making a lot of great improvements to the area and should be completed soon.
Sincerely,
----------Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 9,992 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Claridge Hotel
The Claridge Hotel
#6 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Atlantic City Convention Center
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Skyline Tower
Wyndham Skyline Tower
#4 of 52 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City

Address: 1212 Pacific Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Atlantic City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic City's upscale Courtyard by Marriott® is conveniently located just one block from the Beach and the historic Atlantic City Boardwalk. The hotel's location is ideal for easy access to world famous casinos, fine dining restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Just 12 blocks away enjoy the areas top events and headline entertainment at Boardwalk Hall. If you're here on business you'll be pleased to know the Courtyard Atlantic City is minutes from the Atlantic City Convention Center. Shopping is also in walking distance with The Walk Outlet Shopping Center offering over 100 shops and restaurants. For a more upscale shopping experience The Pier at Caesars and The Quarter at Tropicana are also very close by. When you return to your room you will find comfort in our exclusive our lavish bedding, flat screen HDTV and free internet access. Whether traveling for business or leisure to the Atlantic City area our new Courtyard by Marriott® Atlantic City is the perfect base for all of your activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlantic City Hotel Atlantic City
Atlantic City Courtyard
Atlantic City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing