We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental

The Continental
1 Atlantic Ocean, Unit 3106, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6673
609-674-8300
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 344 restaurants in Atlantic City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Mamaroneck
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pricey, but good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is one unique restaurant. The ambiance and atmosphere is awesome and unique. The menu is not extensive--one half of the two-page menu was all tapas (their specialty) but had a lot of unique selections. The tapas were big enough to act as an entree and while they do not have a child's menu, they were were more than happy to jury-rig something for my daughter. The waiter was attentive and answered all our many questions without making it seem like an imposition. Will go to again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    98
    70
    20
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Dinner in AC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stay at the Tropicana but always walk down to the Pier Shops to shop around and have dinner. Continental is one of our favorite places to visit. The service is always so pleasant and the manager is always around checking on the guests. My Grandmother & I like to try different things, so we ordered a few plates to share. The Tuna potato skins are wonderful, the Onion soup dumplings are so clever and rich, and the flank steak is superb! The drinks are wonderful--Champagne cocktails and Bloody Mary's are a must try. We highly recommend this restaurant, thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were at the Pier Shops at lunch time and decided to stop in at The Continental. We started with the potato topped with tuna as an appetizer. These were little potatoes with the top cut off with a little tuna on the top. The taste was mostly potato and lemon juice which was put on top of the tuna. I had a chicken sandwich which while tasty would have been better warm (the bread was warm but the chicken breast cold). The other three in my party had breakfast dishes which they felt was nothing special.

Service was excellent! Our waitress was able to answer questions about the menu and how the dishes were prepared. She made sure the glasses were refilled and was very pleasant. The rest of the staff seemed to be the same, as I looked around.

I would try The Continental again, but have different items to see if this restaurant warrants a better rating -

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Rockaway, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Kobe beef sliders!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My most recent visit to The Continental was this weekend for Sunday brunch. We asked for a table in the back so that our toddlers wouldn't annoy any of the other diners. They were very accommodating and found us a suitable booth. Service was great! Food was great! Our table had a caesar salad, lobster mac and cheese, house made fries and kobe beef sliders! Everything was delicious! Will definitely be going back whenever I visit AC.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Must for Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I spent a weekend in AC and chose The Continental for a late (as in almost 3pm) breakfast. Hubby had The Big Bang and I had pancakes. The quality of the food is impeccable and the price is great, especially since its on the boardwalk! We also had the spiked smoothie, and it was SUPERB! Aubrey (our waitress) never let our water glasses get empty and she explained the menu items to the T. The ambience is also wonderful. An absolute MUST when in Atlantic City!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Continental also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.