We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fun place to dine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
2201 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6604
+1 609-345-5757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 326 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Philipsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a fun place to dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Liked: the rainstorms, the animated animals, the live fish displays, the feeling of being in a cave/jungle, and of course - the food.
Disliked: nothing!! LOL

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    164
    96
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Meal with the Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

First time for us to this theme chain restaurant. Friendly and helpful wait staff, good food and drink, and very large portions. But come for the decor and atmosphere which is truly rain forest with animated animals, sound effects, jungle vegetation, flowing water throughout. You walk through a large aquarium into the dining room at the restaurant entrance with some beautiful fish worth a pause to check out with the kids. Of course there's a rain forest gift shop, immediately adjacent to the host station, but you don't have to walk through if you want to avoid it.

One comment for small kids: at times the dining room gets dark with flashes of light, thunder and rain to simulate a rain shower. I saw two tables where the smaller children were frightened, one to the point the family left before placing their order.

If you're looking for a kid's place to eat among the casinos, you'll like the Rain Forest Cafe and your kids will too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstae ny
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a very cool resturant. Feels like you are in the rainforest. Everyhalf hour there is a simulated thunderstorm and all the mechanical animals go crazy. I had steak and shrimp. Steak was cooked perfectly. Shrimp was delicious too. GF had a burger. It was huge! We also got some signature drinks that came with souviner glasses to take home. This is not a spot for a quiet dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food right on the boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've been to several Rainforest locations. The food is always consistent, even if it is a little pricey. Plain and simple, you go there for the atmosphere (which the kids love). We put our name in for dinner and wandered across the boardwalk for a few coctails at the beach bar while we waited. The wait was to be expected and we got our table in the time they predicted. No complaints whatsoever. Good food, good service and great atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
142 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What would expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nothing too exciting to report, its a Rainforest Cafe, if you've been to one you've probably seen this place. The food decent enough, and as I'm sure others have previously stated, what you are paying for is the rainforest decorations/decor/experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.