We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fun place to dine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
2201 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6604
609-345-5757
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 351 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Philipsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a fun place to dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Liked: the rainstorms, the animated animals, the live fish displays, the feeling of being in a cave/jungle, and of course - the food.
Disliked: nothing!! LOL

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    132
    81
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Meal with the Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

First time for us to this theme chain restaurant. Friendly and helpful wait staff, good food and drink, and very large portions. But come for the decor and atmosphere which is truly rain forest with animated animals, sound effects, jungle vegetation, flowing water throughout. You walk through a large aquarium into the dining room at the restaurant entrance with some beautiful fish worth a pause to check out with the kids. Of course there's a rain forest gift shop, immediately adjacent to the host station, but you don't have to walk through if you want to avoid it.

One comment for small kids: at times the dining room gets dark with flashes of light, thunder and rain to simulate a rain shower. I saw two tables where the smaller children were frightened, one to the point the family left before placing their order.

If you're looking for a kid's place to eat among the casinos, you'll like the Rain Forest Cafe and your kids will too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstae ny
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a very cool resturant. Feels like you are in the rainforest. Everyhalf hour there is a simulated thunderstorm and all the mechanical animals go crazy. I had steak and shrimp. Steak was cooked perfectly. Shrimp was delicious too. GF had a burger. It was huge! We also got some signature drinks that came with souviner glasses to take home. This is not a spot for a quiet dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food right on the boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've been to several Rainforest locations. The food is always consistent, even if it is a little pricey. Plain and simple, you go there for the atmosphere (which the kids love). We put our name in for dinner and wandered across the boardwalk for a few coctails at the beach bar while we waited. The wait was to be expected and we got our table in the time they predicted. No complaints whatsoever. Good food, good service and great atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“What would expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nothing too exciting to report, its a Rainforest Cafe, if you've been to one you've probably seen this place. The food decent enough, and as I'm sure others have previously stated, what you are paying for is the rainforest decorations/decor/experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.