We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop in for Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
One Atlantic Ocean, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 674-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 347 restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Arkansas & Boardwalk
Description: Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail. Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stop in for Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great drinks that are unique and some great food. Last time we went we just had appetizers and drinks at the bar. The Calamari salad is fantastic and enough for 4. Definitely going again...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    175
    88
    26
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I ate dinner here last night and it was fabulous. I had the peach sangria to drink and it was delicious! We started off with the tuna spring rolls and edamame and both were good. I had the hot and sour scallops and my boyfriend had the sea bass and both were amazing! One of the best meals we've ever had. The service was also outstanding and we were checked on frequently by the staff. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“More of Steven Starr's dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Crowd and loud. Big open space, much like his Philly landmark. Several girls-night-out bridal groups there this evening. We did run into many friends who were dining there too. Although we have been to the Philly spot a few times with great results, I was somewhat disappointed this evening because the bass thumping of the music and the din of the crowd set me off in a tense state, rather than a relaxed dinner mood. The waitress was fairly new and had too much of a spiel for us who are familiar with the place. Of all the dishes we enjoyed sharing, the sea bass was so scrumptious. This is the way fish should be served everywhere--PERFECTLY DONE. Onto the desserts--that absolves any other problems! Although we shared two, I wanted them all for myself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Food was outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We ate here the night after eating at Mortons and what a difference-except one similarity the service got better after we ordered the wine, clearly our taste in wine impresses servers lol. The food here was amazing. We had some questions and the waiter made suggestions that were bang on. The slower pace with food coming out in "waves" made for a very nice evening. Only thing the waiter blew was after he had asked if we were celebrating something and we said not really but it is my birthday he completely forgot. Whatever, he was a bit of a yutz (bragging about his wine cellar-ya right, talking incessantly about his fiancé and his wedding planning-nothing I was interested in to be sure)The food and atmosphere compensated for these lapses in etiquette.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate here for our one year wedding anniversary and boy were we not disappointed. First off the ambiance is perfect. Dark but romantically lit. The ceiling has the night sky complete with twinkling stars. Tables are lit by lanterns and candles. The menu is incredible. We did the tasting menu and the chef was very kind about substituting meat for fish on my portions. My husband does eat fish so he was able to have the normal menu for his portions. I cannot recommend the Edamame Ravioli highly enough. At first you would think it odd but after the first bite you will want more and more. Also the Zen-gria, a seasonal take on sangria with a kick of sake, was incredible. Best creme brule either of us have had as well. Honestly this was a real find and we are excited to know there is one in New York so we can go back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddakan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.