We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of Steven Starr's dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
One Atlantic Ocean, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
16096740100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 362 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Arkansas & Boardwalk
Description: Buddakan has been called “a temple of modern Asian cuisine.” But it’s also a testament to the possibilities of inspired design. Upon entering, the first thing one sees is the surreal Asian garden surrounded by multi-level archways and 25-foot trees that seem to grow through rocks, footbridges and the ceiling itself. The dramatic atmosphere and enchanting karma is enhanced by the presence of a gigantic Golden Buddha that watches over the entire restaurant from a head of a 24-foot communal dining room table. The menu portrays an innovative interpretation of Asian Cuisine that matches the ambience in terms of creativity, inspiration and its capacity to satisfy. A delectably imaginative fusion of Chinese, French and Asian styles that results in dishes that exotic yet comforting – all prepared with perfectionist attention to the smallest detail. Buddakan’s spectacular yet dreamlike ambience adds a new dimension to the array of destinations at the Pier at Ceasars.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
170 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“More of Steven Starr's dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Crowd and loud. Big open space, much like his Philly landmark. Several girls-night-out bridal groups there this evening. We did run into many friends who were dining there too. Although we have been to the Philly spot a few times with great results, I was somewhat disappointed this evening because the bass thumping of the music and the din of the crowd set me off in a tense state, rather than a relaxed dinner mood. The waitress was fairly new and had too much of a spiel for us who are familiar with the place. Of all the dishes we enjoyed sharing, the sea bass was so scrumptious. This is the way fish should be served everywhere--PERFECTLY DONE. Onto the desserts--that absolves any other problems! Although we shared two, I wanted them all for myself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ontario
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Food was outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ate here the night after eating at Mortons and what a difference-except one similarity the service got better after we ordered the wine, clearly our taste in wine impresses servers lol. The food here was amazing. We had some questions and the waiter made suggestions that were bang on. The slower pace with food coming out in "waves" made for a very nice evening. Only thing the waiter blew was after he had asked if we were celebrating something and we said not really but it is my birthday he completely forgot. Whatever, he was a bit of a yutz (bragging about his wine cellar-ya right, talking incessantly about his fiancé and his wedding planning-nothing I was interested in to be sure)The food and atmosphere compensated for these lapses in etiquette.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnietheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate here for our one year wedding anniversary and boy were we not disappointed. First off the ambiance is perfect. Dark but romantically lit. The ceiling has the night sky complete with twinkling stars. Tables are lit by lanterns and candles. The menu is incredible. We did the tasting menu and the chef was very kind about substituting meat for fish on my portions. My husband does eat fish so he was able to have the normal menu for his portions. I cannot recommend the Edamame Ravioli highly enough. At first you would think it odd but after the first bite you will want more and more. Also the Zen-gria, a seasonal take on sangria with a kick of sake, was incredible. Best creme brule either of us have had as well. Honestly this was a real find and we are excited to know there is one in New York so we can go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere Great food...noisy patrons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My guy and I have never been to Buddakan so I wanted to try it for my birthday. The food was excellent. We had seared duck and the monk fish and a collection of creme brulees for dessert. Memorable...The decoration (gold budda on the end, lighted stone tables, starry sky ceiling) created a romantic setting...however the patrons consisted of noisy bachelorette parties, other big drunken celebrations. Just keep that in mind when deciding to go. It will be noisy...but I still recommend it for the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Went to dinner with a large group. Every plate we received was excellent. Portion size was just right. Flavor was excellent. Great service and a fun atmosphere. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JessterCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing