We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a rainy day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic City Aquarium Historic Gardner's Basin

Atlantic City Aquarium Historic Gardner's Basin
800 North New Hampshire Avenue, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
609-348-2880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 31 Attractions in Atlantic City
Attraction details
PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good place for a rainy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Atlantic City Aquarium isn't as big as some other aquariums, but it had enough exhibits to interest my grandchildren, ages 1 and 7. There are 3 floors. Two floors have exhibits, and the third floor is open so that one can see the harbor and surrounding area. My grandsons were fascinated with the jellyfish and sea horse exhibits. There are several touch tanks where they could touch sharks, stingrays, and starfish. While we were there, they had a show where they fed the fish in the big aquarium. We went on a day that was rainy, so it entertained them for several hours. I suggest you go early. There was a line when we went in, but the line had grown much longer when we left. Near the aquarium are several little shops and some restaurants.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    62
    62
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson River Valley, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cute Aquarium for Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was a little smaller than I expected but my kids liked it. It has a few touch tanks, which the kids loved. They got to "pet" stingrays! Great price for about an hour of time, and we got the tickets with a AAA discount.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cute little place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was cute, but small. Couldn't hold my kids' attention for long. But it's a nice little place, some nice exhibits, excellent location, and the biggest attraction were all the animals you could pet. The family especially loved petting the stingrays.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good for small children.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We took our 3 year old daughter here, it was perfect for her age. It's very small. There's a lot of please touch aquariums. I wouldn't recommend this for adults or teenagers. There's two floors of small aquariums and reptiles and the top floor is an observatory with nothing else to do up there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

For the price you pay per person theres really not alot here. VERY crowded even on a weekday. shoulder to shoulder. The touch tanks were ok if u can squeeze ur child into see them. I was very disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic City Aquarium Historic Gardner's Basin also viewed

 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Atlantic City Aquarium Historic Gardner's Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic City Aquarium Historic Gardner's Basin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.