We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; well managed property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Skyline Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Skyline Tower to your Saves list
Wyndham Skyline Tower
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 S North Carolina Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Atlantic City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location; well managed property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for a long weekend here. The bedrooms were HUGE, with jacuzzi in the master, and we had a large balcony looking south toward Revel. The staff was generally very friendly and helpful, from the security guards, to the concierge to the management. They do not offer daily room cleaning as it is a timeshare only hotel, but they do try and accommodate any specific requests you might have. Not a luxury property, but very well maintained and managed. 2 blocks off the boardwalk, and we saw quite a bit of police activity walking to and from it, but that is just AC, and not reflective of the resort itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    197
    74
    37
    18
See reviews for
165
155
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Considering the other options in this town, this is probably one of the better places to stay. As Wyndham owners we have been to several other of their resort properties across the US. The one-bedroom deluxe unit was clean (no sign of bugs in the bedding, kitchen or living room). And it had enough room to move around in. Bathtub was a bit slick (no bathmat) and did not drain well. Shower pressure was also lacking, but being on the 29th floor may have contributed to that. Wish the unit had its own washer and dryer like other Wyndham properties - there was a big enough closet in the bathroom to put one! Balcony was nice, including having chairs to sit on out there. Air conditioning worked, but was on the old side (in the walls in the living room and bedroom) and when we turned on the heat one chilly damp night, it smelled REALLY bad - we ended up just shutting off the air conditioning and opening the door a bit to get the smell out.

Yes, the elevators can be slow, but if you can avoid the heavy traffic times of Sat or Sun AM checkout and Friday / Saturday afternoon checkin, you should be okay. One trick we used was to hit the up button even when we wanted to go down from the 29th floor.

The unit even had enough room to bring a rental scooter thru the door and charge it nightly in the kitchen. I unexpectedly needed one due to an injured foot and the concierge had business cards for a place on the Boardwalk that rented these and brought it to the room, then picked it up from the front desk when we checked out.

After reading other reviews, I called ahead a few days and asked for a north-facing (lighthouse view) room above the 20th floor and one on that side on the 29th floor was assigned to us at checkin. Valets were quick with getting the car when we needed it. The one down side of our stay here was the NAGGING sales people. About once a day, even once after 9 pm (telemarketers can't even call you after 9!) they were calling about getting us to a meeting or even asking about coming to our unit for it.

Activities were a bit on the lame side, considering what other Wyndham resorts offer.

The area surrounding the resort is a bit "interesting". During the day it looked safe enough, but we made sure to be back in the unit after being on the Boardwalk or in a casino by 9 pm, which is early for a couple of 50-somethings. Especially after seeing a police car pull in about that time at the property next door and THREE cops got out to do foot patrol in the area; sirens were heard throughout the night. Just be aware of your surroundings!

Room Tip: North facing, probably above 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Rented a two bedroom unit. Very clean, comfortable room. King bed, queen bed and pull out queen sleeper sofa. Carpeting looked new, granite countertops in kitchen, nice beds and bedding, balcony with views. Room showed No sign of wear or tear, was in very good condition. Would stay here again. Elevators run slow, are usually crowded, this is the only negative. About two blocks to boardwalk and beach, one block to resorts casino. Great location. This is perfect for a family, lots of extra room, beats a small hotel room any day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, pa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Large timeshare condos a block off the boardwalk and next to Resorts Casino. Walking distance to Steel Pier, Trump and Showboat, and Revel.
Everyone knows that this 30+ story property has 3 elevators, and you might wait 30 minutes for one whens its busy. The pool is very average as are the family activities. But you go here for the location. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and family friendly. If you are willing to put up with the built-in challenges, which aren't going to change without major renovations to the building, this is a good choice and clearly popular with Wyndham point holders.

Room Tip: Of the few 3 bedroom units, stay away from 3201 (no balcony). 3202 is the best, with the only real o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

AWSOME....me and my family of 7 stayed in a two bedroom deluxe and had plenty room. We really enjoyed our time here. Only complant is the elevators. Many times it was easier to take the step. The staff was very very friendly and went out of the way to assist. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Very close to boardwalk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Wyndham is my family's yearly getaway. Cleanliness is a priority and its met at this resort. The kitchen is fully equipped. There's complimentary coffee, sugar, salt and pepper. The staff was very kind. My only complaint is the poor drainage system for the sinks in bathroom/bedroom. The drains in the bathtub seemed clogged also, its the first time I experience this from the countless times I've visited. Planning to return before the summer is over!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This property has a lot of going on for it. It's extremely popular with vacationing crowd, and it's easy to see why. Unlike a regular hotel room, Whyndam is great for a family. You have a condo unit with a full kitchen, balcony and a Jacuzzi within one block from the Atlantci City boardwalk.

And then, there are bad things. Slow elevators. You wait and wait and then it comes down full, so you have to wait for the next one. No matter how often you stay at this hotel, some things you never get used to.

But at least elevators are an inherent or perhaps inherited problem. Nothing they can do about it without a multi million dollar reconstruction. Unfortunately, there is more.

1. Wi-Fi. It's always been flaky, but this time it simply didn't work most of the time. You can log in, but a minute or two later it would throw you out. And this is not on the AT&T end, since I’m writing it from a room at Taj Mahal where the same AT&T internet is flawless (although, yes, I'm paying $12 a day for it). Whyndam's "free" WI-Fi is not a good thing if you depend on the internet for work and can't just forget about it even on a short vacation. It’s just unacceptable in this day and age! I'd rather they have a paid option than a "free" one that doesn't work.

2. In my opinion, this neglect for maintaining a strong internet signal throughout one's property is the stupidest thing some hotels do to save money. What's the second? They spend tens of thousands of dollars to equip their units with flat-screen TVs, then nickel-n-dime their guests on HD signal and cables. What the heck! Whyndam is no exception. They have a standard definition signal on their flat panels. So if you don't want to see a horizontally-stretched movie, you'll have to tweak the menu option and enjoy a "normal" picture with black side bars. You're welcome!

2. Showers. It's not just that the shower-heads are low-hanging, so to speak, but the water flow on the higher floors is horrific. Again, like in the case with the elevators, I'm afraid this is not fixable without a very costly renovation, and judging by how full this property usually is, they have no financial incentive to spend this or any kind of money on fixing things.

2. 10AM checkouts. They had always cordially extended it for an hour or two on our prior visits. This time they wanted us to pay $15 for an extra hour, and that just made me realize how unreasonable 10AM checkout is in the first place. I don't think I've ever stayed at a hotel with 10AM checkout. It's just wrong.

For anyone who doesn't know it yet, do not buy a time-share. Seriously, it might've been worth it at some point in the past, but with so many travel options available nowadays, opting for a timeshare is nothing short of ridiculous. If you just have to buy a timeshare, do it on a secondary market and save some really serious bucks.

However, other than those few annoying quirks, Whyndam is a very good choice for Atlantic City, location and amenity wise, especially for a family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlantic City hotels
1.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#4 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,817 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caesars Atlantic City
Caesars Atlantic City
#2 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Atlantic City
0.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Hotel
Resorts Casino Hotel
#11 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chelsea
The Chelsea
#20 of 57 in Atlantic City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Skyline Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Skyline Tower

Address: 100 S North Carolina Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Spa Hotel in Atlantic City
#3 Green Hotel in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Skyline Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Skyline Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Skyline Tower Hotel Atlantic City
Wyndham Skyline Hotel
Wyndham Atlantic City
Atlantic City Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Skyline Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.