We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Petit Filet Mignon and Wait Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Homestead

Old Homestead
1 Borgata Way, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 317-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 346 restaurants in Atlantic City
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Petit Filet Mignon and Wait Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

8/15/13- My wife and I had a delicious steak dinner at the Old Homestead- 700pm reservation located in Borgata Hotel Casino. Most folks came in at 700pm and at 830pm seating's. I used the recommendation on Trip Advisor to ask for "Larry" the waiter and we did get one of his tables. Larry was a well versed waiter, a friendly gentlemen who offered us a great wine pairing(Sliver Label, Cabernet Sauvignon-50.00) with our Petit Filet Mignon dinner's.....it was excellent, smooth and tasty ! Ask for Larry and his wait support staffer/Vladimir(these guys were a top notch team and had a few laughs with them). We had a great table on the second floor on the railing, looking down at all the dining activity on the ground floor. Our appie's, Jumbo Shrimp cocktail as excellent, but the East Coast-Blue point oysters were a little flat,stale, lacking the salty ocean taste) and dinner came out in a timely manner. We highly recommend the Old Homestead steak house.
The only bummer was that the restaurant does not serve "baked potatoes"(love me a bake potato with steak)....due to a quirk/preference of the restaurant head chef. But thy do have mashed potatoes.
Make a reservation and ask for waiter/Larry and you won't be disappointed. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    144
    56
    32
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went here unexpectedly, without a rservation and waited about 15 minutes for a table for 2 on a Thursday night. Atmosphere is typical steakhouse--very cozy, yet upscale. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgable, and made the overall experience great! We started with the fried calamari in thai sauce--a must have if you are a calamari lover--it was not at all rubbery, freshly crisped. I got the petit filet mignon, which was cooked to perfection. Fiancee got the 32-ounce signature steak, and I must say it was enough to feed a family! He did not finish it but came pretty close! We did not know our meals came with small potatoes, so we ordered onion rings and garlic mashed potatoes on the side--equally delicious. For dessert we got the drunken banana--bananas carmelized in a caramel brown sugar rum sauce over cinnamon buns--a MUST HAVe. Overall, a great experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best steak in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Everything was perfect! We ordered the steak and the salmon. Crab cake appetizer was giant. Perfect garlic mashed potatoes and sauted spinach. We did not order dessert but again- the portion size was incredible. The table next to us had the hugest piece of cheesecake and ice cream sundae. Service was wonderful and so was the wine!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“$50 steaks should be cooked to order”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

For as expensive as Old Homestead is, you would think they have mastered how to perfectly cook a steak. My medium well petite filet ($48)? Overlooked like jerky. My husband's medium filet ($54)? Rare. The room was so loud, full of large, drunk bachelor parties, so we could barely hear each other. Service was good, but when we showed the server our barely eaten steaks, he simply offered a free dessert. Over $100 in food and $100 in wine... Glad they felt they could make it right with a piece of cake (we did not accept). Stick to the NYC location!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific food in the Borgota”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

You will pay a good price for this meal, but if you like good stake then its well worth it. I dined at Uncle Jack's in NYC a few days before the Old Homestead and I really thought that the meal at Uncle Jacks was good, but that was until I eat the Filet Mignon at the Old Homestead. There was no comparison. The Old Homestead was not only significantly better but a lot less money. The Old Homestead is a very large place, modern, not what I expected, but I have to say even with the large size the service was excellent and the food was even better. If you’re in Atlantic City and you have some extra money, the meal at the Old Homestead is well worth the money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Homestead also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore

Been to Old Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.