We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Off Night?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Homestead

Old Homestead
1 Borgata Way, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 317-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 344 restaurants in Atlantic City
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cape May Point, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An Off Night?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I've diners at Old Homestead many times and was looking forward to their prime rib. Unfortunately, this time it was pretty awful. We waited forever for our entrees and when they arrived, it was obvious my prime rib had been sitting under a heat lamp. Completely dry, chewy and flavorless. My partner's steak was perfect and I'm thinking they goofed up her order and parked mine while they remade hers. Sides, cocktails and service were as good as always and I will certainly give them another chance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    143
    56
    30
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Steakhouse extraordinaire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Although they also offer seafood, our outing ordered the steaks. Had the crab corn chowder to start and the petit filet mignon as entrée, which was seared on the outside and medium rare on the inside and tender as could be. We also ordered 3 appetizers, the fried calamari, tuna sashimi and the crabcake, which were excellent also, save the calamari which was a tad chewy. Had the asparagus with bearnaise sauce and the creamed spinach for our veg selection. Both were excellent! The only drawback was we had a 9:00pm reservation and weren't seated til 9:45pm, but, to be fair, it was a Saturday night and a holiday weekend. The staff was super attentive and charming, despite the late hour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Reservations are definitely needed. Prime rib was out of this world.

Even thought the restaurant is very large, staff is very attentive and easily accessible.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“40 minute wait to get the meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Yes it was a good meal, the two rolls they gave our 3 person party were gobbled up because we were hungry, but the wait it terrible. We had 2 filet mignon and 1 lobster tail mashed potato and it was good, not the best, not worth the money they charged $178, but it was part of a planned evening of a dinner before a show. I've been there before and was blown over, This time not! Had to ask for the check while eating so we wouldn't be late for the show.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Under impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were seated very quickly. However, we were seated next to a bussing station. It was a traffic jam of servers. It was very loud. The gentleman next to is jept getting knocked in the head and politely asked them if " they could stop whacking him in the head"A gentleman at a table with 3 young ladies at a table close by took a phone call and politely excused himself from his table. He then stood next to our table yapping on the phone. When we complained we were told it was the owner of the restaurant. That was very disappointing. We ordered our steak medium and it came back very rare. Our server was very polite and checked on us a few times. I will also mention we had a reservation and walked by a few empty tables on the way to our table. I would suggest savimg the tables close to the bussing station that don't have a reservation and and are willing to take any table. We won't be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Homestead also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Old Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.