We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dock's Oyster House

Dock's Oyster House
2405 Atlantic Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-6630
609-345-0092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dock's Oyster House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 344 restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Georgia Avenue
Jackson, New Jersey
1 review
“fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just had dinner at Docks and it was amazing. We had 7:45pm reservations and were seated a few minutes prior.
Our waiter Dennis was extremely attentive, and his suggestions for dinner were spot on. My wife and I were so struck by his professionalism that we had to note it to the manager.
Dinner was delicious. Raw seafood and salad for appetizers, seared scallops, and crab cakes for dinner and homemade banana crème pie for dessert.
If you are staying at one of the resorts in A.C. it is worth venturing to Docks.

Todd T

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    499
    115
    27
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“This is a must when in Atlantic City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I always loved this place. Mrs. D (if she is still with us) is such a sweetheart. What a hostess. The bar scene is great, with fresh shellfish displayed, fun people, and the piano where you can sing even if you are as bad a singer as I am. The food is fantastic. Not cheap, but worth every penny. Go there!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not in a casino; 2 blocks from bdwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My hubs and I love this place. We go to AC just to go here. (Live in Northern NJ). This is a very old restaurant, like 125 years or more, but the inside is remodeled to look old fashioned and trendy at the same time. It retains a cool blk/white small hexagonal tile floor, lots of dark woodwork, white tablecloths, and a great bar and also a piano player.

It is very romantic if you want it to be. On this visit, we got to the bar early and the bartender (tall, dark haired, from Bulgaria, Mikal?) was an expert in mixing special cocktails. He made me a pear/pomegranate martini which was lovely and a Manhattan for my husband. The other bartender is very nice and friendly too; we remembered him from our last visit.

We had 8 PM reservations, and were shown to our table...and our waitress was capable and friendly...I ordered 8 oysters and they brought me an assortment of 3 kinds, and explained them to me which was very helpful, an oyster test-tasting if you will. Then I ordered the lamb, which I've had before and is always amazing. You receive about 8 chops, with potatoes and sautéed beets julienned or thinner as a garnish...it is super great.(about $30).

My husband had the scallops, which come with mashed potatoes and spinach, it is also great and is popular. For dessert, we had a trio of gelato, and we loved it.

Afterward, the bartender, Mr. Nice Guy, offered to make my husband a special drink. So we walked back over there and he mixed up a special cocktail, called "Penicillin", which had 2 single malt whiskeys, and a ginger-brandy mixture. There were about 7 steps to mixing this, and he took great care to make it Perfect. My husband loved it (although about $20!).

All in all, it was another great night in Docks and we wish we could treat lots of people we know to this place!~

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is old fashioned in the best sense of the word. Unlike some diners, we didn't wait at all for our reserved table on a Friday night. The service was good (not perfect) and the food was delicious. I had flounder stuffed with crabmeat and it was excellent. My oysters Rockefeller were tasty but had pieces of shell in them, which could be dangerous. My companion has some very good soft shell crabs. I think the food is better than most places in Atlantic City. The tables are very close together and the noise level was high at times. I will return to try more of their food. It's not fine dining, but the food is wonderful. Be sure to make a reservation since this place is very popular.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The food trumps all the negatives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

For my job, I have been going to Atlantic City twice a year for over 15 years, which includes 1-3 night stays.
Dock's is always on the list of where to eat.

Truthfully all the negative comments about high prices, crowded tables ( they have a table in every inch) ,long waits even with a reservation are all true.
While some servers are better then others, we have never recieved " bad " service, considering what these servers must go through with crowds this large night after night I can imagine it does happen.

That said the food is simply phenomenal ! It is by far the best seafood I have ever had.
Maybe if you don't love seafood this is not the place to go, but if you do it is mecca

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock's Oyster House also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Dock's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dock's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.