We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Time - So So Entrees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Vola's

Chef Vola's
111 S Albion Pl, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 345-2022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 363 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun Time - So So Entrees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Although we found our entrees to be good but not fabulous, the Chef Vola's dining experience was fun. The restaurant is in a basement and seating is a little tight but we were comfortable and did not mind at all - just part of the experience. There were mirrors in the basement room in which we were seated; these are probably intended to give a more open feel to the room and they did. Our waiter was terrific and said numerous times throughout his description of the specials and menu items: "or you could have it like this or wrapped in that..." We were a party of two and split an appetizer and a pasta dish; both were excellent, as is the bread. We had the filet mignon and the crab cake/shrimp entrees, which were decent but did not make us want to rush back as soon as we can to eat there again. Unfortunately, we were too full to order desert and it seems we may have missed out according to other reviews. The atmosphere was definitely unique and fun so I would recommend giving Chef Vola's a try - at least once.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TF86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to get reservations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After reading all the review we weren't sure what to expect. But we did read that their clams and veal parm on the bone were their specialties. We started with a tomato, mozzarella, & marinated peppers, excellent. We shared the clams in white sauce and they were the best I ever ate. The clams melted in your mouth. Finally the veal which was so tender you didn't need a knife to cut it.

We finished with their creme brulee pie... Out of this world!

Would highly recommend...good luck getting a reservation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian meal ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Chef Vola's restaurant is by far one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. The food is absolutely amazing, it's like eating in your Italian mom or grandma's kitchen. The portions are huge and the atmosphere is old school. The staff is very welcoming and attentive. If they were to ever move to a fancier location it would take away from their originality. Be sure to bring a great bottle of wine and make reservations far in advance. I am from Chicago with Italian restaurants on every corner, and I will always plan my Atlantic City get aways around returning for a meal at Chef Vola's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KEN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice alternative to casino restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Strange location , but great atmosphere.

Definitely try the linguini with white clam sauce as a pasta course if you love clams.

LOVE: veal parm, crab cakes, filet, all pastas, ALL desserts ;)

Not such a fan of: shrimp francese, chicken scarpiello

BYOB -don't forget to bring your own wine

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alock115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best dining in AC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been eating at Chef Vola's for over 25 years.
It is our "go to" place whenever we want a special meal.
They serve things here you can get nowhere else...the salad perfectly dressed and delicious garlic bread, Louise (the owner) even has a secret recipe for her sweet tea. I get the Queen Sirloin each time and I order it smothered in garlic and sautéed carmelized onions.
It is huge, so I'm always eating the leftovers for at least a day afterwards.
My husband gets the Snapper, and they will prepare it any way you like.
The desserts are a special treat, and although they are mostly homemade, we always go with the Frozen Banana Cream Pie, with it ice cream texture and chocolate cookie crust.
This is without a doubt one of our all time favorite places to dine and entertain friends.
The family owned restaurant is not to be missed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank odetojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Vola's also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Chef Vola's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing