We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise place to dine, that you will remember and talk about...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Vola's

Chef Vola's
111 S Albion Pl, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
(609) 345-2022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 351 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A Surprise place to dine, that you will remember and talk about...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is no "Olive Garden". Chef Vola's is 30 years old, seats 44 tightly, and the atmosphere is my grandmothers basement, with 7 foot high (?) ceilings, that, 'yes' you would still pay to eat here.
There is no sign outside on this side street, you either know where it is or you don't.
I wouldn't have known about it, if my friend hadn't brought me here. He has been dining here for 30 years.
The food is wonderful and freshly made.
The pastas were wonderful, and the olive oil and garlic appetizer pasta was excellent.
The appetizer of buffalo mozzarella was also excellent, as was the chicken parmesan my friend had. The artichokes and mushrooms were also tasty and a nice accompaniment to our dishes.
The ricotta homemade cheese pies are a must. They are served hot ! We had the butterscotch rum with whipped cream, real whipped cream. It was a taste I hadn't had since childhood.
All the food was authentic and tasty...
We brought our own bottle of wine, as it is a BYOB place.
Bring lots of cash for the bill and the tip. It is customary, I hear to leave a 20% tip. They do not take credit cards.
This restaurant is no "Olive Garden" for you will not find this special Italian restaurant in every city, but you will have food /leftovers to bring home, and you will remember this experience, the friendly, warm service. It is a blast from the past, the decor, the food and the family sized portions, and the ambience of the 80's Italian dining.
Had it been 30 years ago I would have expected Frank Sinatra to walk through at any time.

Reservations accepted, but they are very busy...so think ahead
This is my second visit, and the food was delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    54
    33
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best Italian in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Forget you are in the basement of a boarding home. There is no better food anywhere in the world. Start off with a house salad to share with the table. Make sure you have one of the specials. My favorite is the pounded veal chop parmagian. Big enough to feed a family of 4! Try the pastas as well, my favorite is the blush sauce with ricotta. And save room for dessert. You have never had anything better than Louise's warm ricotta pies my favorite is the pecan one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“"Authentic Italian Food at its best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The food is teriffic here but very very pricey. It is cash only, bring your own. Tight seating, and you have to have reservations which could take months in advance. Do not be put off by the sometimes brusque attitudes when making reservations. Make them and come here to eat, make friends and just enjoy your dining experience. Make sure you have room for dessert because you do not want to miss the homemade pies. They are a labor of love for the owners and you can taste it in every bite. Word of warning to first time diners. You must order a main course for each person here as the owners want each of you to order and not share. They do not really like diners splitting food but you can order a pasta for one person and a main course for the other and then split the food. They have no problems with that. Do not let this discourage you it is worth the effort.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great old fashion Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The basement space at Chef Vola is actually vibrant and cozy. The service is warm and friendly...and the food...good old fashion Italian food as if someone's Italian Grandmother had prepared a feast. So good...so abundant. All in all...a great dinner with the family!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hard to reserve hard to find great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This restaurant is very difficult to reserve dinner plans. I had 6 people calling at one time!! Finally we got through after 1hr!! The restaurant is located in a neighborhood and is very small!! The food is delicious and you can share dishes, but it seems confusing when the waiter is explaining how to price your split. Long story short, bring lots of money and your own bottle of wine!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Vola's also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Chef Vola's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Vola's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.