We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic City Bar & Grill

Atlantic City Bar & Grill
1217 Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7334
609-348-8080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 354 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Atlantic City Bar and Grill is off of the boardwalk, but within easy walking distance of many hotels. Because it was close, we visited a couple of times. The first time, I ordered a seafood pizza and it was terrible. However, I also had the lobster bisque soup and it was fantastic. My husband ordered a whole lobster and had definitely had better. The next time we went, I ordered a soft shell crab sandwich and it was pretty good. My mom and sister were both sick the day after their visits. Don't know if it was the food or not, but just be careful. Overall, I felt the food was overpriced and the atmosphere and service were just okay. If it was convenient, I might go back but would never go out of my way to visit again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    55
    35
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A return visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This restaurant is across the street from our hotel. It's still a friendly family restaurant/bar with good service. Compared to our visit in 2012, the food is good, but not quite at the top level we experienced then. Still, my husband had a very good steak and potato with soggy broccoli. My linguini with clams was good, not great. The music was blaring from the bar side and it was a little hard to hear. But we would still recommend eating at ACB&G for lunch or dinner. We have found many hidden gems at locally owned restaurants, and this one is still worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant because we were going to a show at the Borgata and couldn't get reservations for one of those restaurants early enough before the show. It was great. My husband got a huge whole lobster, for $25, I got the snow crabs for $19. There were about 4-5 clusters! Staff was friendly, restaurant was clean, restrooms were clean. Saved a lot of money, and had a terrific meal. We got a cab right out front for the Borgata, couldn't have been easier! We would definitely go again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Rose in a Thorn Bush”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

You wouldn't believe how bad the area is. However, staying right across the street, it was convenient to eat at each night. I feel badly for this place, because the employees and establishment deserve to be in a better area.

Pros
-Food is good. Not sure where you can get that quality without going into one of the casino's higher end restaurants.
-Staff was awesome. I was there for a few nights on business and they went out of their way to get to know me.
-Price is reasonable for the quality of food they offer.

Cons
-Bad area
-The guys at the door, on both nights, were so abrasive. They were actually rude. This REALLY turned me off. I understand they need to be strict on who to allow in, due to the awful surrounding area. However, you can clearly tell when you look at me, that I don't exactly pose a risk. Also, they could be nicer about it. The sad thing is, based on the pictures on the wall, one of them may have been the owners? HUGE turn off. With all of this said, if you are in the Courtyard across the street, you can't do any better.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Reasonable Price,Incredible Service, Will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stopped in hear while staying on vacation in Atlantic City. Were greeted at door and had door opened for us. Very friendly waitress and owner. Wife and I loved the atmosphere. Had a few beers while watching US soccer team in world cup. We ordered soft shell crab sandwich. It was so delicious I want to return to AC for the soul purpose of returning to The Atlantic City bar and Grill. This is a must stop place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic City Bar & Grill also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Atlantic City Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic City Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.