We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't fix what isn't broken!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's Baltimore Grill

Tony's Baltimore Grill
2800 Atlantic Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
609-345-5766
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 354 Restaurants in Atlantic City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Hammonton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't fix what isn't broken!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My first visit to Tony's Baltimore Grill was in 1976 when I started working in Atlantic City pre-casino days!! Tony's décor has not been changed in the 38 years since my first visit. Also, even though the same waitresses are not there, the waitresses are still as "colorful!" Most importantly, and thankfully, their pizza is the same with a delicious thin crispy crust. By far THE best pizza I have ever had. The only difference I see: the line of people waiting to get in has disappeared. The line of "shoobies" would be half way around the block waiting in the summer heat. Although, locals knew the best times to enjoy Tony's without the lines...after all the bars in Margate and Somers Point closed, Tony's pizza was the perfect ending to a great night.
Perhaps new customers are turned off by the staid appearance of Tony's. However, there are those of us who can still appreciate the nostalgia. While I appreciate the ambiance of an upscale restaurant, I have yet to find a place that makes better pizza than Tony's!
If you are expecting fine dinning at Tony's, don't. Tony's should be accepted "as is" and enjoyed for staying the course.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    47
    14
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will always be a Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to duck in, grab a beer and pizza. The crowd at the bar whether Saturday afternoon, or the early morning Sunday hours never disappoints. You see them all at Baltimore Grill. They don't pretend to be more than they are, and that's what I like about this place. Chris and Nino always have a story and a ready beer. Meatballs, pasta dishes, onion pie, always delivers.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An Atlantic City don't miss place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Eating here is like going back in AC history. The place never changes (not always the best thing. A little housecleaning and freshening would do wonders) the food is consistently good and very reasonable. In the day everyone ate here. It serves late and the food is very good. Only complaint they are famous for their Atlantic City Italian bread. We received a stale loaf. It was hard to find the server to tell her. By the time she came back our meals were there so we missed out. It is a don't miss. In spite of a few misses on my next time I come to AC I will be back. Where else can you eat where the Rat Pack ate? Unfortunately probably same furniture. Don't miss the pizza, it is legendary.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I decided to let the next generation taste some awesome pizza. I remember getting pizza from Tony's as a little girl when we were in town. I have recently treated my son to the pizza and he was thrilled. It will definitely be one of our stops next time we are in town. The pizzas aren't huge so be sure to order plenty. My teenage can eat a whole one by himself.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nothing out of the ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It was a reasonably priced restaurant with good sized portions. The food was italian american, that was ok. Looks like it doubles as an event hall. Some of the waitresses were excellent and some never knew they had a table. I would choose something different.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Baltimore Grill also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Tony's Baltimore Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's Baltimore Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.