We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Atlantic City don't miss place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tony's Baltimore Grill

Tony's Baltimore Grill
2800 Atlantic Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
609-345-5766
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 351 Restaurants in Atlantic City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An Atlantic City don't miss place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Eating here is like going back in AC history. The place never changes (not always the best thing. A little housecleaning and freshening would do wonders) the food is consistently good and very reasonable. In the day everyone ate here. It serves late and the food is very good. Only complaint they are famous for their Atlantic City Italian bread. We received a stale loaf. It was hard to find the server to tell her. By the time she came back our meals were there so we missed out. It is a don't miss. In spite of a few misses on my next time I come to AC I will be back. Where else can you eat where the Rat Pack ate? Unfortunately probably same furniture. Don't miss the pizza, it is legendary.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    48
    15
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I decided to let the next generation taste some awesome pizza. I remember getting pizza from Tony's as a little girl when we were in town. I have recently treated my son to the pizza and he was thrilled. It will definitely be one of our stops next time we are in town. The pizzas aren't huge so be sure to order plenty. My teenage can eat a whole one by himself.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nothing out of the ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It was a reasonably priced restaurant with good sized portions. The food was italian american, that was ok. Looks like it doubles as an event hall. Some of the waitresses were excellent and some never knew they had a table. I would choose something different.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sad to say goodbye”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Have been coming to the Baltimore grill for close to 40 years. Use to love this place. Great pizza and cold beer plus all your favorite Italian dinners. Reasonably priced and open way late for munchies after the casinos. Hate to say, but I think our Tuesday visit will be our last. The last time we came down about a year ago, it was pretty mediocre, but hoped it was an off day and they'd redeem themselves this visit. Sadly, not the case. Only got worse. This is the perfect example of a business not reinvesting in itself. Torn booths, tacky and dirty wall plaques, the same ones that have been up since the middle ages. This place is just plain old and has lived a hard life. Needs a redo which could breathe new life back into this once proud restaurant. The food is another story. My ice water had something black floating near the bottom. The ravioli $9.50 were over cooked and proprably frozen. The pasta sauce is dark and stale looking. My antipasta $7.90 had 2 pieces of salami and one piece of provolone over some stale looking lettuce. A beet, a celery stalk, half a hard boiled egg and a couple of tomato slices rounded out this rather dismal looking appetizer. Pasta choices are limited to spaghetti. Like we heard the waitress say to the next table, "this isn't New York". What a pity. Won't be coming back here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Going, going, gone.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've been eating here for 30 years and this past weekend was probably the last time. Since the change in ownership the pizza, which used to be the best on the island, is no longer good. The dough used to be crisp and is now doughy. The shrimp platter used to top notch and now is average and way, way over priced. The service is just terrible. The waitresses spend more time sitting near the kitchen talking and counting their tips than taking care of customers.

This weekend our antipasto came out after the pizza and shrimp. We waited over 15 minutes to see a waitress and then another 10 minutes just to get a beer. The restaurant wasn't a quarter filled on a Friday night.

Sorry this place with so many fond memories is now not worth going to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tony's Baltimore Grill also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Tony's Baltimore Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tony's Baltimore Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.