We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sandwiches in AC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White House Sub Shop

White House Sub Shop
2301 Arctic Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-4001
609-345-1564
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 351 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best Sandwiches in AC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I come here every time we are in AC. They make really good cheesesteaks. I recently became a vegetarian so the sandwich I get now is peppers, onions, mushrooms and cheese on a hero. Very good! The wait can get very long. We try to go very early for lunch or take it to go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    103
    38
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“I'm a local. Been coming here since 1972! Still the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Used to come here with my father in the early 70s when he dated the diving horse lady. I'm a local now and its still the best. Philly has nada on AC

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's a real sub, not a hoagie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Originally from North Jersey and now residing in South Jersey outside of Philly, I miss real subs. These are sandwiches filled with meat and not lettuce. White House Sub Shop is a true sub. We ordered Italian and Turkey subs to go. Both were nicely filled with meat with the right amount of lettuce, tomatoes and onions. The meats were fresh and tasty and the roll was not too soft and not too hard.

The restaurant itself is tiny. Maybe eight booths in the place. Waiting to order for take out has a line up and down the isle which makes sitting at the booths uncomfortable. The ticket machine is in the back of the restaurant and when crowded (as it always is) is difficult to reach and then there really isn't much room to wait. There has to be a better way.

Overall, I would recommend calling in your order and just picking it up and leaving. Bring cash, they don't accept credit cards.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Complete Garbage”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Where to start. We ordered four different subs which were all absolutely terrible. The cheesesteak, steak-ums style frozen meat, NO SEASONING, absolutely zero flavor. The Chicken Cheesesteak, it was STEAK-UMs style weird sliced CHICKEN that was ridiculously disgusting, also NO SEASONING, flavorless garbage. The italian sub wasnt as gross as the cheesesteaks, but mediocre at best. The meatball sandwhich was the best one we ordered, and by no means do i mean the best meatball sandwhich, the meat was at least seasoned, but still I dont get all the hype about it. This place is an absolute tourist trap that took an HOUR AND HALF to get, what a disappointment. Maybe this is cause im comparing it to food Ive had in New York City. Ms_Dragons comments have it right.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice place to grab a sandwich on your way in or out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Convenient to the AC expressway, this is good place to grab a sub or a cheesesteak. I had a two o'clock appointment in AC and drove by on my way in but there was a line running outside the door. So I circled back around 4:00 and got the house specialty--the Italian Sub. I was hungry and it was good, but not "one of my top ten sub/hoagies of all time" good. The cheesesteaks looked and smelled like they may have been awesome, so I might try one next time I am passing through. Certainly a better option than one of the travel plazas along the expressway. For takeaway you order in the back, and pay in the front. I was famished and a "half" sandwich was more than enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White House Sub Shop also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to White House Sub Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White House Sub Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.