We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robert's Steakhouse - Everything a fantastic evening should be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robert's Steakhouse

Robert's Steakhouse
1000 Boardwalk, Taj Mahal Hotel and Casino, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Robert's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 326 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Virginia
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Robert's Steakhouse - Everything a fantastic evening should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Robert's Steakhouse of New York, Atlantic City, NJ
07.23.13 Rated 9.5 out of 10

Atlantic City, New Jersey, almost 12 miles of bustling boardwalk, flanked by white sand beaches, world class casinos, and tucked away in a quiet area just off the Trump Taj Mahal casino floor, is the premier destination for an uncommon, luxury dining experience at Robert's Steakhouse of New York.

Tuesday night around 6:30 pm, we arrived at Robert's Steakhouse, and were greeted with inviting smiles from the hostesses and escorted to our table, located in the middle of the 8,000 square foot dining room. The restaurant had an intimate mix of both casual and professionally dressed people. Leather booths classically nail-head tufted, softened with the gentle glow of ambient lighting, transported us into one of New York's top steakhouses. Immediately our anticipation grew, as we recognized the possibility that Robert's Steakhouse could rival any of our New York favorites.

Our server and guide, Al, gave us a brief introduction to Robert's Steakhouse while taking our cocktail order. A few beats later, our drinks were served. Two stiff vodka cocktails, each with a splash of soda and a kiss of citrus. Next we were teased with a brightly colored amuse bouche created with lobster and a corn confetti. The beauty of this little plate made me picture the carnival located right outside on the boardwalk. Sautéed Maryland Crab Cake, with a drizzle of red pepper aioli and micro greens, were neatly crisped to a golden brown, encasing the sweetest crab. Blueberry sorbet intermezzo was a show stopper that could be an amazing standalone dessert. It was easy to almost forget that we were still gearing up for the main course.

Any steak enthusiast knows nothing compares to in-house dry aged prime beef. We eagerly ordered our favorite cuts, Rib Eye and New York Strip, medium and medium rare respectfully. As our steaks were being prepared, Salvatore J. Spena, General Manager, worked his way around the room ensuring that everyone was having an excellent evening. When he made his way to us we found his personality was so warm, and the conversation flowed like talking with your best friend. We saw Sal's eyes light up and then he stepped aside, and made way for our main course.

The aroma of a perfectly grilled steak hit us before we even made the first cut. Then the ease of the cut increased the promise of the flavor to come. Finally, the melt in your mouth satisfaction! Sautéed Broccoli Rabe with garlic and chili flakes produced just enough heat to make my heart race a little and the Potato Gratin with bacon did not disappoint either. We sampled an assortment of steak sauces that were all good. The Béarnaise was my favorite; however these steaks were sinfully succulent, and a feast for all our senses, perfectly seasoned and delicious naked.

The assortment of wonderful desserts made it difficult to chose. Finally, with Al’s assistance, we decided on the Chocolate Hazelnut Bomb Spiced Marsala Oranges & Chocolate Tuile & Robert's Melt Down (a chocolate chip cookie on top of a Mudslide Brownie with Maker's Mark ice cream). Cappuccino and espresso with a designer plate of sugars topped off the ultimate finish to fantastic evening.

We were honored to have the opportunity to meet Will Savarese, the Executive Chef, who described the selection process and detailed care put into each cut of beef, starting with the on premise butcher, to the proprietary dry-aging that distinguishes Robert's Steakhouse steaks before they even reach the kitchen.

A five star restaurant is not about white gloves or seven people serving you, it is all about one good server and excellent food. Robert's Steakhouse is the place for fine dining in Atlantic City.

To make a reservation, call 1-855-500-ROBERTS. For more information, visit www.robertsatlanticcity.com

Visit www.Kris10.us for additional pictures from this review.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    12
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Safari improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a new place at Taj replacing an old and outdated Safari steakhouse on the convention floor. Is it an improvement? Definitely! Excellent? They are still working on this :). Nice, modern décor, comfortable chairs (we set at the same table for two nights, so cannot comment on the booth). Small both for two seems uncomfortable and you are facing people going by your table all the time. Service was very good the first night (although I was given a check at the end without being asked). When we came the following night, we had to wait for someone to come by the table for about ten minutes. When I asked, the girl showed up and the rest of the service was great. On the first night we had waiter and "assistant", but on the second she seemed to be alone. What is the standard? So there are few things to work out in this department. Food was great starting from the crab meat, lamb chops, etc. Had lobsters - probably one of the best ever! They are four pounds each, so limit what you eat before. Presentation is also the best! It is 20 bucks to share the dish if you want, but 4 pounder or 6 lamb chops in the serving may be enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Evening in Atlantic City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Reserved a booth for our 25th Anniversary the service was great the Steak and Tuna were purrfect and we had a wonderful experience from the Grey Goose Martini to the desert and Coffee. We dined in several restaurants during a week in Atlantic City at various Casino locations, Robert's was the best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a Great Experience :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Not our first time at Roberts and it wont be our last. BY FAR the best up scaled Steakhouse in Atlantic City. The prime dry aged steaks are with out a doubt the best we've ever had. We all agree, the only steaks that we have had that compare, are in Brooklyn at Peter Luger. Roberts has a more modern decor. No exposed brick walls.But when in Rome or in this case Brooklyn, Luger steaks cant be beaten. We all feel the same way about Roberts. When in A.C. Roberts cant be beaten, and the competition in that town is tough. We prefer Roberts to The Old Homestead, American Cut and the Palm. At Roberts we request Al as our server because his recommendations are always spot on and the service is always outstanding. He went over the wine list with us again this last trip and explained the new additions. Roberts wine list is as exquisite as the food and the service.There was also live entertainment in the lounge this trip. We enjoyed having cocktails at the bar after dinner. Reading through some reviews,,yes, we agree that Roberts is pricey, but quality costs. A Benz is more expensive than a Ford for a reason. So Roberts, Keep doing exactly what your doing. When were in A.C. we fly first class all the way, and dining in your establishment has now become part of our Atlantic City ritual.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henryville, PA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Expensive but average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The place is truly expensive. The decor is nice but no wow factor.
Shrimp cocktail was priced high and a bit tasteless.
We both ordered filet mignon medium. Both came well done. You would think an expensive steak house could get it right. (even Longhorn gets it right!) The sides were $12.00 each

Dessert was good. i had homemade Chocolate Malt ice cream and my wife had pudding. Both were very tasty.

Overall I expected more and wasn't impressed. I don't mind paying money for a great experience. This was average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert's Steakhouse also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Robert's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robert's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.