We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto

Grotto
Golden Nugget Atlantic City, Golden Nugget Huron & Brigantine Blvd., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
+1 609-441-8475
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 326 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Huron Ave. & Brigantine Blvd.
Description: Inspired by classic Southern Italian cooking, Grotto features delicious veal, chicken, seafood and pastas. The breathtaking decor features spectacular hand-blown glass chandeliers, whimsical murals and custom made polished iron scrollwork. Wine connoisseurs will be impressed with the extensive collection of Italian and domestic selections. With our winning combination of impeccable service, superb cuisine and passion for detail, Grotto is the perfect Atlantic City location for Italian dining.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The food at Grotto is outstanding. I had the Chicken Rotisserie Salad. To say its the best tasting salad I've ever had doesn't do it justice. The service here, just like in the rest of the hotel, was 5 stars.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    23
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brigantine, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Happy Hour at the Bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I were at the Golden Nugget for some slot machine action. Situated just off the casino floor is the Grotto. We stopped during the Happy Hour at the bar. There is special pricing for beer, wine, cocktails and martinis. The bartender seem more occupied in getting his bar condiments set up than taking our order. Finally, my husband had to call him over. I noticed a House Bellini, but the bartender told me it was a frozen drink. Since I do not like frozen drinks, I asked what was on the Happy Hour Menu that was not frozen. He said they were all frozen. I ordered a glass of wine. We happened to notice a couple sit a few seats from us at the bar with nice looking Martinis. My husband inquired as to what they were drinking. They said Appletinis. They were not frozen. My husband asked if they were a Happy Hour Price special and they said yes.
Our bartender did not deserve the tip we left. Next time I am at the Golden Nugget I will choose the
Chart House Bar for their Happy Hour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
217 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I visit the Golden Nugget monthly and each time I ate at Grotto, which is located on the casino floor, my meal and the service have been wonderful. The bread, the pasta, the salads.....everything is delicious. The only thing they need is better signage!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“cute spot tucked in the Golden Nugget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Was able to get a reservation here last minute. Cute restaurant. Food was great ... tiramisu was awesome! Specialty drinks were ok, average. Dave our waiter was awesome and really friendly!!! Would definitely go back!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Happy Happy Hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Was staying at the Golden Nugget and decided to try Grotto for happy hour. I didn't have food, but did have one of their specialty drinks - Chambord bellini. I'm not one for fruity drinks, but that Chambord bellini was awesome! All three of them... My sisters were with me and food as well as drinks - they both enjoyed their food and drinks as well. I'm looking forward to paying a return visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.