We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto

Grotto
Golden Nugget Atlantic City, Golden Nugget Huron & Brigantine Blvd., Atlantic City, NJ 08401
+1 609-441-8475
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grotto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 356 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Huron Ave. & Brigantine Blvd.
Description: Inspired by classic Southern Italian cooking, Grotto features delicious veal, chicken, seafood and pastas. The breathtaking decor features spectacular hand-blown glass chandeliers, whimsical murals and custom made polished iron scrollwork. Wine connoisseurs will be impressed with the extensive collection of Italian and domestic selections. With our winning combination of impeccable service, superb cuisine and passion for detail, Grotto is the perfect Atlantic City location for Italian dining.
Phoenixville, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at the Grotto. Service was great. Food was well prepared and served quickly.

We had canniloni (excellent)
parmesan chicken (excellent)
lasagna (ok, but no one makes it like Mama does)
Tiramisu (excellent)

The only draw back for me was the atmosphere. You are stuck right in the middle surrounded by slot machines.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restaurant in the casino”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This Italian restaurant is part of the Landry chain. It is physically inside of the casino a few feet higher than the surrounding casino. It is an enjoyable place to eat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Calamari was so tender. They serve crispy bread with seasoned oil. I had The Pollo Estate which was so tasty, my boyfriend got a shrimp special of the night, also very good. Our server then brought the dessert cart. OMG. We were stuffed but couldn't turn down dessert. I got tiramisu and my b/f got the strawberry cheesecake, both were one of the best we've had. Service was very good, we were checked on just enough. If you're in A.C. Go check this place out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We choose the Grotto, not wanting a large meal. We had friend calamari, which was excellent, and ordered the Margrita Pizza. The staff was great, again, very friendly. The Pizza was perfect for us. Highly recommnend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Grotto Surprise- Put this one on your GO-TO list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Surprising on so many levels, this casino restaurant is worth the visit. It is not your typical setting, being open to the casino floor and close to the slot machine area, don't expect a intimate or romantic dinner. The surprise starts with the capable, well-trained staff, friendly hostess- then continues into great selection of appetizers and salads (appetizers are LARGE, be careful). Good, but not large selection of Entrees and pizza, but all six in our party found dishes that were perfect for their tastes. Every dish that arrived was well-presented, hot and timely fresh as expected. Awesome every one! there was a lot of picking and sharing (stealing) going on at our table... you'll have to protect your plate.... We managed to order desert, again surpriingly good.
The tab was surprising also -- easy on the wallet. What a great experience we can't wait for an excuse to go back.
ps.. We didn't know this was a Landry's chain restaurant (that was our last pleasant surprise)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.