We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place is okay, not as bad as the reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace

Save Saved
You added Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   New York Ave. & Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The place is okay, not as bad as the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was really cheap and convenient.
Be wary of the huge rules and regulations, the one that almost caught me out was that they charge your card 48 hours before you arrive. So if it declines, your booking is cancelled and that's final... I had lost my credit card, therefore getting a new one and was travelling from Australia and was pretty much travelling without any internet for 48 hours before i got there..
The lady told me what happened and told me the new rates for if i want to rebook which was triple the price (it was memorial day weekend, everything was booked)
I couldn't afford that and was on the verge of calling home for help when the lady could see how distraught i was and contacted the CEO of the company who was kind enough to let me have the room for the cheap rate again..
The lady even gave me an ocean view room on level 23 (which they usually charge an extra $75 a night for), the view was amazing. The room was clean and neat and tidy, the bedding was pretty dated and really motel styled..
There was like 10 towels replaced in my room every day (god knows why, but there wasnt any harm)
The only real off putting thing is all the warning signs everywhere for how much itd cost if you broke something.. literally, about 4 signs around the room... One being about if you unplug your tv, then its too bad, ur tv won't work for your whole stay..
I did accidentally knock the socket out because it had some cheap double adapter, but i plugged it back in and it worked...

They also even have a laundry room every few floors and vending machines every few floors which was different for a hotel and handy.

The place is average and okay for the pricing (the more in advance you book, the cheaper it is)

Room Tip: Book in advance for cheaper rates and ask for a higher floor with view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    26
    19
    17
    14
See reviews for
7
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The only thing 'Royal' is the shaft you get from staying there! Where to start??? First of all, I booked my room online at $179 for 2 nights, but when my confirmation was sent to me the second night was at $279, still fighting with them over that...Second its a 72 hour cancellation, also, you get a 6-page dos/don't - and there are a million things you can't do and additional charges for everything under the sun, including 'unplugging tv', $10 fee for losing the room key, $100 security deposit. Not to mention how uncomfortable the beds/pillows are - oh, the pillows have a nice crunchy plastic cover on them too! They say the hotel was just remodeled - but I think they used crap from another motel - it hasn't been updated for 30 years!!! And be sure to bring the credit card you used to make the reservation - that's another 20% charge if you don't have it!!! Below is the email from my reservation...

IN ORDER TO ENSURE YOUR ACCOMMODATION IS WHAT YOU NEED FOR YOUR STAY PLEASE DO NOT ARRIVE WITH MORE PEOPLE THAN WHAT YOU RESERVED FOR. MOST STUDIOS ARE ONE QUEEN SIZE BED. IF YOU REQUIRE MORE THAN ONE BED, PLEASE INFORM THE DESK IMMEDIATELY UPON RECEIVING THIS CONFIRMATION. DO NOT WAIT UNTIL YOU ARE AT CHECK IN, AS LARGER ACCOMMODATION MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE AT THAT TIME!!!!!!MISREPRESENTATION VOIDS A RESERVATION AND ALL CHARGES WILL APPLY.
PLEASE DO NOT HAVE YOUR GUESTS ARRIVE AHEAD OF YOU, CREDIT CARD RECEIPTS MUST BE SIGNED BY THE CARDHOLDER BEFORE ENTRY TO A ROOM IS PERMITTED, NO EXCEPTIONS
PLEASE DO NOT RUIN YOUR STAY, WE ONLY ACCEPT MAJOR CREDIT CARDS
NO PREPAID, ALL ACCESS OR GIFT CARDS, GREEN DOT CARDS PLEASE!! WE DO NOT ACCEPT THEM!
A MAJOR CREDIT CARD IS NEEDED TO RESERVE AND CHECK IN TO THIS FACILITY, CARDHOLDER MUST BE PRESENT AT CHECK IN. PLEASE VERIFY YOUR AVAILABLE CREDIT, Pre-registration will occur up to 72hrs prior to your reservation date. A $100.00 SECURITY DEPOSIT IS REQUIRED ON ALL RESERVATIONS AND MUST BE PUT ON A MAJOR CREDIT CARD, AT THE TIME OF YOUR CHECK IN - NO CASH WILL BE ACCEPTED FOR SECURITY DEPOSITS. IF YOUR CARD IS DECLINED DURING PRE-REGISTRATION, YOUR RESERVATION WILL BE CANCELLED. A NEW RESERVATION WILL BE SUBJECT TO RATE CHANGE, AVAILABILITY and RESTRICTIONS.
Unfortunately we cannot accommodate requests for early check-ins, so we ask that you refrain from arriving before 3PM. Parking and hotel facilities cannot be used until check in is completed.
BELOW IS INFORMATION YOU WILL NEED
NO PRE-PAID CARDS,NO GIFT CARDS, NO CHECKS,NO CASH, NO MONEY, ORDERS,MAJOR CREDIT CARDS ONLY,(Visa,Master,Discover) CARDHOLDER and CREDIT CARD MUST BE PRESENT AT CHECK IN. If you plan on using a different card at check in then the one used to reserve the room, there will be a 20% service charge to refund the credit card that was used for pre-registration.
NAME ON THE RESERVATION, CREDIT CARD AND YOUR IDENTIFICATION MUST BE THE SAME NAME.
There is a 72 hr.(prior to due in date) cancellation policy,for reservations from September through June, if you cancel beyond 72hrs. a one night charge will apply. Re-instatement is subject to rate change as it may apply.
Pick up your parking pass at the security desk in the main lobby before entering the parking garage (Garage Height 6’5”)
Check in desk is located at the top of the ramp on the right side, directly in front of you as you enter the building.
Only ONE vehicle per room/RESERVATION permitted for free indoor parking. Additional vehicles cannot be accommodated.
Rooms are equipped with two burner stove, refrigerator, coffee pot .microwave. Guest must provide cooking utensils (ie: large pots & pans, coffee, sugar, milk, filters)
Check in begins at 4:00 pm daily
Reservations made for same day or beyond the cancellation period for the desired dates, CANNOT be cancelled and are subject to the one night room rate charge. Credit Card will be charged at the time this reservation is made. Please know your available credit.
Your reservation will be held until 10:00pm, after 10pm, without calling our desk to confirm a late arrival, your reservation is cancelled and a “NO SHOW” charge of one night will be applied to your credit card. Reinstated reservations are subject to rate changes. All arrivals must be in by 11:30pm.
In order to avoid a “NO SHOW” charge, if you need to cancel your reservation, please do so within the time periods noted above and you must cancel your reservation via the service you booked your reservation with.
Check out is promptly at 11:00am, after 11:00am there is a $75.00 charge, after 2:00pm a full day is charged.
Check-in requests prior to 11:00am is an additional day rate, and is based on availability.
NO REFUNDS FOR EARLY DEPARTURES –
AUTHORIZED REFUNDS ARE SUBJECT TO A 25% SERVICE CHARGE.
WE ARE A SMOKE FREE FACILITY. Evidence of smoking will result in additional charge of $350.00 to the registered guest.
A $10.00(exact change please) refundable Cash key deposit is required at check in.
DUE TO INSURANCE REGULATIONS, BALCONIES ARE NOT ACCESSIBLE
SECURITY DEPOSITS WILL BE RELEASED AFTER ROOM IS INSPECTED AFTER YOUR CHECK OUT.
Thank you and we hope you enjoy your stay.
Misrepresentation voids reservation. Hotel is not responsible for typographical errors.
Please be aware of your bank policies regarding debit card authorization transactions.(Security deposits) If you cannot wait for your bank to release a hold on your debit card, PLEASE DO NOT USE A DEBIT CARD FOR YOUR SECURITY DEPOSIT.
NO PARTY POLICY
FOR THE COMFORT & SAFETY OF ALL OUR GUESTS, FOR THE DURATION OF YOUR STAY, ALL REGISTERED GUESTS AND THEIR GUESTS ARE EXPECTED TO ADHERE TO THE POLICIES OF OUR PRIVATELY OWNED FACILITY.
Misconduct & Misuse of the suites and facilities is not permitted. Excessive noise & overcrowding or that which is deemed an annoyance by management or security, to other guests, will result in eviction with no refund. One warning will be given!
OCCUPANCY MAY NOT EXCEED
Studio Suite - 2 people
One Bedroom - 4 people
Two Bedroom - 4 people
Penthouse - 4 people
Registered guest agrees that the rental of a suite is for the use of the registered guest and their guests listed at the front desk registry. Guest rooms may not contain more than the number of guests registered to that room at any time.
Alcohol use by minors is prohibited
Must be 21 or accompanied by parent or legal guardian
No open alcohol in common areas
On the day you are due to check out, please be certain to take all of your belongings with you and check out at the front desk. Any items found in the room on a check out day, after 11:00am, will be packed up and turned over to lost and found department, with the exception of a paid late check out or paid extended stay.
Sorry, no pets of any type are permitted in the units or any common areas of the building.
CHECKOUT IS PROMPTLY 11:00 AM
Late check out requests are based on availability, must be authorized by front desk and pre-paid by the guest, prior to 11AM. $75.00 until 2pm, beyond 2pm is another day charge. Unauthorized late check outs, will result in the above charges. Your late check out is not confirmed until credit card receipt is signed by you.
SECURITY DEPOSITS & DEBIT CARDS
There is a $100.00 security deposit per room. This security deposit is released within 48hrs of your stay after your check out and room is inspected by a housekeeping supervisor. CASH OR PREPAID CARDS ARE NOT ACCEPTED FOR SECURITY DEPOSITS. Please know your banks debit card policy for authorizations and pending transactions. It can take up to 30 days for YOUR bank to release the hold. This has nothing to do with the hotel.
NO SMOKING POLICY
All rooms are non smoking, evidence of smoking, either by the registered guest, or a guest of the registered guest will result in a $350.00 charge to your credit card.
STAY OVER SERVICE
We will make every effort to accommodate your stay. Housekeeping are on premises from 9 AM-4PM daily. If you wish to have stay over service in your room, please make your room available when housekeeping staff arrive. If there is a DO NOT DISTURB on the door, the housekeeper will make one more attempt to service the room before they leave for the day. If access is denied, service cannot be done until the next day.
SAME DAY RESERVATIONS MADE THROUGH ANY BOOKING ENGINE OR WALK IN RESERVATIONS ARE NON-REFUNDABLE/NON-CANCELLABLE
ATLANTIC PALACE SUITES EMAIL CONFIRMATION PLEASE READ AND PRESENT AT CHECK IN

Atlantic Palace Suites

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Basically, the hotel itself is in an excellent location, and the view that we had from our studio was excellent and we were lucky enough to be on a high floor. Having said that, the problem with a high floor is that the lifts at this place are the slowest ive ever come across.. you literally wait 10 mins sometimes for a lift!! I also had problems everyday with my access cards, for which can i add that you have to pay a key deposit for?!! They are old bent and dont even work! Having worked in the hotel industry I am aware that these cards cost next to nothing to replace so the key deposit is unjustified, As well, you have to pay for internet, which is ridiculous, considering that the hotel that we stayed at prior to checkin was a third of the price and had internet complimentary. The bed was rockhard and the pool was dirty and overused, and the rooms were in need of maintenance. You have to pay a significant security deposit upon arrival, which appeared reasonable until i went upstairs to me room and found the bathroom door literally hanging from only one hinge. They also charge you if you leave dirty dishes upon check out. Seriously?!! On a positive note, staff were good, maintenance were prompt.. i feel sorry for them, they must be busy!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is high and have a boardwalk view. Beware though that you will probably have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Was going to Atlantic City for a short weekend getaway, and concert. Found the Atlantic Palace online, and like that it was close to the House of Blues for the concert we were attending and the restaurant I reserved for dinner. Walked into the room and was very happy with the size and ocean views. The entier one wall was windows overlooking the ocean and boardwalk. Did not use kitchenette, but was very nice. The bed and pillows were awful, defintiely could use an upgrade there. Also there was a whistling from the wind coming from the one window that could be opened. Other than those two things, I was very pleased with the hotel and staff. Could possible find something nicer for the $$, but view made up for anyhting that we did not like.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was not the first time I stayed at this hotel but I had more issues this time around than ever. The rooms were wonderful but there is too much that is unsaid at time of booking and even at check in. The total amount is never detailed, not including security deposits, room key fees etc. If you need more info you will NEVER be able to speak w/ anyone only via email. Customer service non existant. If you intend to stay here you better have $1000 to blow on holds, me personally I'd rather stay in Harrah's...they think they're Vegas and even in Vegas you would never deal with this many issues.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

My Fianance and I stayed a week at the Atlantic Palace 1bedroom suite and we had an amazing time!!! the suite was very spacious had an extra bed, extra television, full kitchen, dining area, living room area, jacuzzi and a nice size bathroom! the staff were very kind and helpful and made our stay extremely warm.On top of our relaxation we were also able to get our workout on in the gym area, as well as tap into our kiddie side in the gameroom!lol< I absolutely adored my stay, so much so, we have booked a second stay there in a couple months, and we cannot wait to return!!!< Atlantic Palace gets a true 5*****

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Really enjoyed the stay. Rooms are neat and the Jacuzzi was real nice. They must upgrade the rooms, the furniture and carpets over all... I think that;s what is preventing me from giving it a 5 star rating. Also they must make the rear entrance from the boardwalk accessible. Over all a good place to stay if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. you get a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace

Also Known As:
Royal Suites At Atlantic Palace Hotel Atlantic City
Royal Suites At Atlantic Palace Hotel
Royal Hotel Atlantic City
Royal Hotel Atlantic City Palace
Address: New York Ave. & Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Suites at Atlantic Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.