We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the ugly...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Revel

Save Saved
You added Revel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Revel
500 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
near DC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the ugly...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First things first - we got a package deal that included $100 in food credit per day, for 2 days. As is usual, the credit could only be used at certain locations, which is fine. The buffet, and drinks at one of the lounges should have used that up, easily. Unfortunately for dinner EVERYTHING was closed except the sandwich shop - Relish. The buffet was closed completely, but the Sky Cafe did offer breakfast, and all the bars were closed except one, which we finally figured out was this tiny place out in the open in the lobby. Even with the $24 for TWO drinks there - we only managed to use $60 of our credit over 2 days! In other words, $140 of credit was wasted.

Also, they INSISTED that we have a paper copy of our reservation confirmation. I had to walk behind the counter at check-in and figure out how to find and print it online. Luckily, I had mailed it to myself, but that could have been a real headache. They should TELL you these things in advance. Or better yet, have a method of assisting their clients that does not involve the customer having to go out of their way.

Additionally, we felt really nickle-and-dimed for everything. The package included free parking, but we found out that it was self parking. We were not credited the $5 difference between that and valet. It's little things like that that are annoying and seem sneaky to me. It's not the MONEY, it's the sneakiness and the feeling that the place just kept sticking their fingers into our pockets.

The slots are really boring, and super-tight. My husband and I lost more money there than at any other casino we have ever stayed at, and it was unsatisfying. It was like we kept putting money in, and losing it so fast. We walked around the casino like 20 times in an evening, and kept trying another machine, only to lose $20 in like 3 minutes. Really sad! I mean, we expect to lose, but we need small wins to keep our interest. Plus most of the small coin machines had minimums of 30 or 50 credits. Why bother calling them penny slots?

Now - the good: The room was lovely and the view was amazing. Even though it was grey and raining, we sat in the swivel chairs facing the ocean and just spaced out. Totally relaxing! The bathroom was also lovely (although the housekeeping forgot to empty the (inexplicably miniature) trashcan in there). Bed was comfy and the layout was nice. Other than the trashcan, the room was pretty clean.

There is a tablet connected to the phone system, which is a gimmick, but kind of fun. Except ours broke as soon as started to use it, lol!

The hotel itself is beautiful. But do expect to do a LOT of walking. The pool was amazing! It was getting chilly and was rainy, but swimming in the heated in/out pool was a treat. And the outside hot tub in that weather was perfect! The spa left something to be desired. They demanded to see my picture ID, which I had left locked in the in-room safe. My husband had his (he had pockets) but I didn't want to carry mine around. They insisted that they could not let me in without ID. (Note: I am well over 40, so it was not age-related). Considering that it cost $55 just to step in the doors, and I was planning to spend $400 minimum, it seemed rather ridiculous for them to argue with me over it. I just said, never mind, we will do the free pool, instead.

Anyway, we would probably return, but I think Borgata will stay our favorite AC destination for now.

Room Tip: The higher the better. I believe all rooms have an ocean view, but if not, get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    964
    759
    387
    216
    193
See reviews for
331
1116
96
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Revel has its own private beach area that the hotel maintains. Very nice for AC. The casino along with Borgata are the two best casinos in AC. Thurs-Sat Revel has girls dancing on the bar in thongs. Very modern style hotel, think phillipe starck inspired. Has a good dim sum restaurant and a few stylish bars. Casino is 5 minute walk from Showboat. Rooms are very chic with a cool tablet to control everything. Table minimums have come down during the week. Plenty of 10 table games. Upscale clientelle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel was by far the nicest in Atlantic City. It is very modern and has several dining options from casual to more upscale. There are also a couple of club options. We went to Burlesque which was alot of fun. The rooms all have ocean views and are very modern and sleak. Beds are comfortable. You really have no need to leave this hotel/casino which was great because we were there in the winter when it was cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, md
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

first time in Atlantic City, and stayed at Revel Hotel and Casino, went there to see a show at the House of Blues, which is next door. Revel is very nice considering other places we walked by, the only downside for me was that it is at the end of the boardwalk next to the inlet, so we had to walk south to get somewhere outside of the hotel to eat or sightsee. Revel is big, there are several restaurants and bars, i reccomend Amada to eat, make reservations! The rooms are above average size, very quiet and clean, we stayed on the 21st floor so the view was awesome of the ocean and the inlet. if ever in Atlantic City again, we would definately stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great hotel with fantastic pool, shops and restaurants. I don't recommend Yabuka if you want authentic Asian noodles though, service was slow and the mediocre food was overpriced. Relish is a good bang for the buck. Sheets had a little dirt and hooked, but not horribly dirty. Overall a great place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at revel four times. I like the location, clean large rooms, nice,not smokey casino. It is a modern hotel very different to the others. We arrived on a weekend was crowded and lots of partying going on. A little loader than normal. Better during the week. No problem with check in or customer service, everyone was very nice. We like the Spanish tapas restaurant and the new noodle bar, was very good. The changes are less amenities and trying to get cheaper choices of dining. We still like it and would return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very modern hotel. Rooms were nicely appointed a lot of common areas to enjoy. Each room has a tablet and the TV remote controls the lights, temperature and TV. The only downfall is that the place is huge. You have to check in on what is the 11th floor accessible by elevator or 3 escalators which riding them gives a view of hotel. to or to the casino or restaurants you have to take the elevator to the lobby then walk a distance to the escalator or other elevator to take you to the casino level. You do walk thought open space so it is enjoyable. Our room had a mini bar but is was not stocked. Overall a nice place to stay. Self park is $5 and Valet is $10 regardless how many nights you stay.

Room Tip: One side is Ocean View of the inlet the other side is ocean and city view. Both are decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Revel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revel

Address: 500 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel offers casino players the newest and most expansive casino resort in the history of Atlantic City. Located along the city’s world-famous boardwalk, and designed to offer endless views of the Atlantic Ocean, the casino offers 130,000 square feet of gaming space, the largest contiguous smoking casino in Atlantic City, 2,400 slots, 130 table games, the high-limit Pearl Slot Lounge and high-limit table game Ultra Lounge. Revel features 1,399 ocean view rooms, indoor and outdoor pools, gardens, lounges, a 32,000-square-foot spa, 14 restaurants serving world-class cuisine and down-home favorites, a collection of boutiques, nightclubs, a dayclub and live entertainment on its stages at The Social and Ovation Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Amex, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Revel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.