We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and ok...but still the best in AC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Revel

Save Saved
You added Revel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Revel
500 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good and ok...but still the best in AC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at Revel for 1 night in the last week of December...Rooms are excellent, everything is extremely mondern. Only knock on the rooms are the fact that you can hear people in the hallway. In and Out pool area is very nice, has games for people to play as well (pool, foosbal, Wii) only wich that they had a hot tub indoors for those cold and windy days(was sustained 30mph, gusts to 60mph when we were there). The hotel itself is very nice overall, even if it is very spread out, but I didn't think it was any more spread out then any of the hotels of similar size in vegas. Every restaurant I have tired has been great, with Mussel Bar probably being my favorite and American cut a close second. Also like the fact that the Social is close to table games(some of them) and you can hear bands playing while on the tables. The ultralounge area is a big plus, just wich they would put a craps table in there. Biggest knock on the casino setup is the distance to the bathrooms. Biggest advantage is the non-smoking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    920
    730
    378
    210
    190
See reviews for
307
1084
90
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Spent last weekend here with another couple and had an amazing time! We stayed in the Ocean Suite and our room was amazing!! Incredible view. Hotel is all new clean and modern. Crowd ranged from 20 somethings to 40 somethings. We were a 40s something group and we fit right in. Arrived in the afternoon and spent time at Bask Spa. Place was packed in January to my surprise. I recommend booking your spa appt early in advance as they were pretty booked up. Dinner at American Cut - reminded me of a typical NY style steak house- with the prices, scene and all. Loved that everyone got dressed up at night and there weren't people hanging around in sweats and sneakers on a Saturday night. After dinner we hit the Burlesque club where we danced the night away. Perfect for the bachelor & bachelorette crowds. If you like the club will reserve a table for you in advance so long as you're willing to buy a bottle. We reserved a table in this VIP area and were able to see the show up close and able to avoid the crowd. The bouncers even walked us to the restrooms. Felt like a movie star. Had a great, great time. We're already talking about coming back!!!

Room Tip: Go for the corner suite. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We came for a company trip. Loved the place so much, we stayed another 2 nights. Revel doesn't leave any details out. Their service is excellent and every staff member we encountered was friendly and eager to help. The rooms are clean/fresh/updated.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed on a January Saturday night and was truly amazed by the size and decor of the property. Yes, there are kinks. Yes, you can get lost. However, the attractiveness, luxury, quality, and service made up for any small shortcomings, and I was really impressed. We ate at American Cut which definately hurt the pocketbook--but every bite was succulent and satisfying. It was loud and bustling, but we are not bothered by that--we like the action and people watching. It didn't seem very busy anywhere but the place is so darn big I'm not sure how to judge that... I can't hate the fact that we were able to grab a table at The Social with some friends and enjoy a great cover band and some drinks. Everything was so new,perfect, and clean with no smoke which I really appreciated. Breakfast at the Alcove was good (again--ouch on the wallet). I am rooting for this place because it is the first time I've been to Atlantic City in a while and not left depressed due to *ahem* hundreds of seniors tugging at penny slots hooked up to oxygen. Lots of pretty people, beautiful/comfortable hotel room, sights/sounds and things to do. Good luck Revel..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Came for a night away with hubby here picked revel because it is a new hotel , it is beautiful but a little boring i guess bc its a off time but still hotel was empty of ppl. The casino was lame the night club was closed(tues) also the carpet when ur walking to elevetor was filthy! But rooms were clean the shower was amazing went down to pool in the morning was cool it connected to outside so u can swim in&outdoors cute game room with pool table nock hockey& other games next to pool the tiles in the pool were browning already & showers in the ladies room didnt have shampoo soap nothing (even the embassy had this stuff they need to give a little more) they did offer free morning coffee/tea in lobby overall this hotel is ascetically nice need to come back in summer to see if it gets anymore exciting here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked a weekend stay at the Revel to take advantage of the benefits of being in a new hotel and with modern amenities and great restaurant options.

Revel is definitely part of the "new" Atlantic City, with lots of flashy spots to dance, eat and drink. It attracts a younger crowd than some of the older venues and that can be a drawback if you want a good night's sleep.

While we enjoyed the entire hotel and our room was a lovely layout with great modern amenities it was designed with a poor ventilation system that allows you to hear any noise from the room adjoining your room's ventilation system. In addition the gap between the bottom of the door and the hallway carpet is wide enough that you will also hear anyone talking as they walk down the hallway. That makes getting a good night's sleep a challenge if your floor is filled with party-goers. That was our experience and we had to call security 3 times on the room next to us, the last time being at 5am when the group came back and piled 15+ people into one room.

We couldn't get a room relocation that night but security did come and shut down the party. While that was great, it still meant we lost sleep for about an hour. The next night the room was empty, but the party-goers loudly talking and laughing at 4am clearly came through the gap under the bottom of our door as they returned to their rooms.

We took advantage of the spa and had a great, relaxing experience there. We ate at two great restaurants there - Village Whiskey and American Cut. The burgers at Village Whiskey are great, and you cannot go wrong with any steak choice at American Cut.

I would definitely go back to the Revel for everything it offers - except for a good night's sleep. That I'll have to find elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at the Revel and are looking forward to coming back. The entire resort is gorgeous with lots of artwork and interesting things to hold your attention. Yes, there are vast open spaces, but they are beautiful, airy, and modern. When we arrived, we tried the check-in kiosks, but they didn't work. Thankfully, check-in at the front desk was quick and friendly. I can't emphasize enough how much we enjoyed the non-smoking atmosphere of the entire resort!

Our King Ocean room was gorgeous and spotless, and we loved being able to control lights, TV, and temp in the room, all via the TV remote control. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was large with nice amenities. The only downside of the room was the poor soundproofing. We could hear everything in the hallways, and conversations were easily heard through the air vents. This could definitely be a problem for light sleepers or for anyone who wants peace and quiet.

During our stay we ate at Mussel Bar, Alcove, and Lugo, and would recommend them all. All of the employees and food servers we came across were genuinely friendly and seemed interested in our opinions of the resort.

Overall, we loved Revel! It's huge, and I think they really need to re-think some of the usage of space, or at least better direct people to the different areas. We are typically Vegas people and are no strangers to huge properties, but we had some trouble navigating Revel. There are lovely sitting areas, high-end shops, and a really nice poker room that we could see many people missing, simply because there really is nothing to direct them there.

We are typically Vegas people, but revel will keep us coming back to Atlantic City!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Revel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revel

Address: 500 Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Atlantic City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 hotels in Atlantic City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel offers casino players the newest and most expansive casino resort in the history of Atlantic City. Located along the city’s world-famous boardwalk, and designed to offer endless views of the Atlantic Ocean, the casino offers 130,000 square feet of gaming space, the largest contiguous smoking casino in Atlantic City, 2,400 slots, 130 table games, the high-limit Pearl Slot Lounge and high-limit table game Ultra Lounge. Revel features 1,399 ocean view rooms, indoor and outdoor pools, gardens, lounges, a 32,000-square-foot spa, 14 restaurants serving world-class cuisine and down-home favorites, a collection of boutiques, nightclubs, a dayclub and live entertainment on its stages at The Social and Ovation Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Amex, HotelsClick, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Revel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Revel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.