We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mussels and shrimp are a winner here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Oyster Bar and Seafood Restaurant

Harry's Oyster Bar and Seafood Restaurant
1900 Pacific Ave, Park Place & The Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
+1 609-431-0092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 351 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Oyster Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Harry's Oyster Bar & Seafood is the perfect fusion of oyster bar, sports bar and seafood house serving up the ocean's freshest fare (as well some select land-locked dishes) in a fun and completely relaxed atmosphere. Indoor and outdoor seating (weather permitting) and a spectacular view of Atlantic City's famed boardwalk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mussels and shrimp are a winner here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It was a nice surprise to eat large, tasty fried shrimp since I eat a great deal of fresh seafood living on the Texas coast.

We started our dinner with steamed mussels in a red sauce. One mussel had a gritty taste to it but that was the only one. The red sauce was really good as a bread dip :) The fried seafood platter arrived with shrimp, oysters, clams and a crab cake over a bed of fries with a side of cole slaw and tartar sauce. The oysters were very good but the crab cake was almost all white crabmeat! Cole slaw presentation was a small portion and the cabbage was wilted but the rest of the meal was very good. I would certainly come back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    176
    72
    36
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good food, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Dined outside and was dive bombed by gulls. No help cleaning up, thank you very much. Bartender was more helpfful than waitress, who kept disappearing. Food was pretty good, sttandard bar food. Loved the arugula salad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Don't Bother!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I had dinner there on a Monday night. We entered thru the indoor seating and asked if we woul like to dine outside in the courtyard, which we said yes. The hostess then told us to go outside and see the hostess outside for seating. We had a hard time finding her, but then saw the podium, and asked for a table for two. We waited around 10 minutes, and were finally seated. We did however see other people go outside and sit at empty tables, without seeing a hostess! After we sat down, the server brought over main courses for people who had been at this table, but left due to the poor service. We also noticed other people leave too, for basically the same reason. When I mentioned this to our waitress, she said that the kitchen was backed up, but getting better. She was very nice and attentive. We ordered drinks which were good, and the food was so so. My wife got the fried oysters, which she said the breading was bland, and I ordered the lobster tail which was just okay. The music by the duo outside was okay also. They really need to get their act together here...management should look at this reviews and others that I've seen here. I gave the service a poor rating not because of our waitress, but because of the other thhings I noted above. Oh I forgot to mention that when we ordered soup, when they brought it, we didn't have any spoons to eat it with!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“It was so off putting we didn't stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were looking for a casual evening and heard Harrys was a decent place. We went in and were seated at a tiny table for 2 (in a half empty restaurant),which I hate, and it was right beside the door the wait staff use to serve the patio. The place smelled like fried seafood-and not in an appetizing way. We left after a few minutes, realizing that this was not the place for us.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Boardwalk Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Atlantic City boardwalk is improving, except in the culinary aspects. Your choice as you walk the boards are overpriced casino establishments ($12+ burgers) or overpriced and sanitary questionable burger and pizza joints. However, then there is Harry's. It is tucked into the courtyard of the old Dennis Hotel at Ballys. There is a great outdoor patio for summer dining and a tasteful indoor restaurant. The weird thing is that the prices for this gem are even lower than you would pay for comparable items at those of questionable quality.
So next time you are strolling the boards and the hunger bug strikes, head to Harry's. Ther menu ranges from apetizers and soups to sandwiches, full dinner and a super raw bar.
You will not regret the choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Oyster Bar and Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Harry's Oyster Bar and Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Oyster Bar and Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.