We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“order oysters and chowder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Oyster Bar and Seafood Restaurant

Harry's Oyster Bar and Seafood Restaurant
1900 Pacific Ave, Park Place & The Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
+1 609-431-0092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 351 Restaurants in Atlantic City
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Oyster Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Harry's Oyster Bar & Seafood is the perfect fusion of oyster bar, sports bar and seafood house serving up the ocean's freshest fare (as well some select land-locked dishes) in a fun and completely relaxed atmosphere. Indoor and outdoor seating (weather permitting) and a spectacular view of Atlantic City's famed boardwalk
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“order oysters and chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

food was great; sat outside; airconditioning inside was too cold.
great oysters; had lunch

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    176
    72
    36
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal/Great Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The seafood was outstanding!! We almost left this establishment because we didn't care for the attitudes of a few staff members. Glad we stayed. Our server was outstanding, and another staff member made up for the ugly first impression.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Harrys is outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Outdoor dining at its best. The food was out of this world. The NE clam chowder and the clams in white sauce app were outstanding. The salmon was cooked to perfection.
The Maitre'd was name Tydis and he was excellent.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Never again!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I visit AC often and I had read a review about the new restaurant in the AC weekly. It looked nice and we thought we would give it a try.

There is indoor and outdoor seating offered and we thought we would opt for indoor seating due to the storm brewing outside. It was 5:30 on a Monday night and we did not have a reservation......this is AC, you do not need a reservation for a casual restaurant you can wear flip flops to. We were told by the host that there would be a 15 minute wait and to sit at the bar.

I decided to look around because it really is a nice looking establishment. I found a surprise....half the tables were empty and there were tables not cleaned after people had enjoyed their meal. My husband went to inquire about sitting at an empty table and the response was " restaurant policy is not to sit 2 people at a 4 top and you will have to wait".
My thought was maybe the empty 2 top tables need to be cleaned. We decided to leave without a meal. Another customer just left the restaurant and heard our conversation. His response was "I cannot believe they would rather you leave instead of letting you sit at a clean larger table, it is a Monday...not a Saturday night"

Just a note..this is AC and there are plenty of restaurants in town....we enjoyed a lovely meal at another restaurant. This restaurant needs to get the kinks out.....and review their policy accordingly.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“This is the place to go in Atlantic City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Once you go, you'll know! This restaurant only just opened in June. The food is fresh and served with a smile. the menu is well priced as are the drinks. for example- I had Tuna Tartare- served in a martini glass on a bed of shredded cucumber the tuna was marinated in a sesame based sauce and topped with slivered fried wontons, $8.00, My husband was served a Crabcake sandwich, mostly lumpcrabmeat with just the right amount of seasoning. Fries and slaw accompanied this dish for 12.00. We chose the outdoor venue sitting at the bar and thoroughly enjoyed it. The raw bar menu was priced at 1.75 for several different oysters from around the eastern seaboard with several non oyster choices as well.
The menu also offers various meats for the non seafood eater.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Oyster Bar and Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
Atlantic City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Harry's Oyster Bar and Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Oyster Bar and Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.